PDA

View Full Version : Mini Mods - STEAM Profile/Status Display


drpeppper
04-13-2009, 10:00 PM
This is something that will give your users an ability to view member's status for their STEAM account. Offline/online/games playing/etc.

You can find an example here:

http://forums.tf2maps.net/

Just look at any thread and find a post. The widget should be in the upper right hand corner of the post.

Nothing has to be installed on your server.

Step 1
Create a custom user profile field. Name it Steam ID.
Single-Line Text Box Editable, Searchable, Members List

Find what your field id is. It should look something like fieldx where x is the number.

Step 2
Plug your field id in to the following code
<if condition="$post['fieldx']"><iframe src="http://steamprofile.com/profile/default/sphtml.php?id=$post[fieldx]" align="right" width="254" height="48" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" frameborder="0"></iframe></if>

Make sure to change x to your id.

Step 3
Place the code in step 2 that has been changed to reflect your profile field after

$template_hook[postbit_messagearea_start]
<if condition="$show['messageicon'] OR $post['title']">
<!-- icon and title -->
<div class="smallfont">

in your postbit or postbit_legacy (depending on what you use) template

If you would just like to have the options of having the status as sigs, visit http://steamprofile.com

updated instructions for vbulletin 3.8

http://steamprofile.com/forums/showthread.php?tid=3

ahmadatom
04-14-2009, 03:50 PM
This is very good :)

P.Jackson
04-14-2009, 04:21 PM
anychance of this being in a profile block ?

drpeppper
04-14-2009, 05:04 PM
anychance of this being in a profile block ?

You would just need to edit your MEMBERINFO template IIRC.

Jasem
04-14-2009, 05:06 PM
it's nice work :)

P.Jackson
04-14-2009, 07:00 PM
You would just need to edit your MEMBERINFO template IIRC.

What would the code be?

ZiG
04-14-2009, 08:08 PM
i have this working on my site nicely, but it doesn't seem to be showing my status as online even though I am. why is that? i've only been able to test this with one steam id so far though...could just be my id?

nevermind works

DontWannaName
04-14-2009, 10:28 PM
The image doesnt work very well on dark backgrounds because of the white corners, although its better than other images. Does it require the numerical steam id or does it work with links?

cdnbacon
04-15-2009, 12:16 AM
Oh wow, this is sexy! VERY nice release. I'm about to install and will consider donating. We're a source oriented community.

drpeppper
04-15-2009, 01:14 AM
i have this working on my site nicely, but it doesn't seem to be showing my status as online even though I am. why is that? i've only been able to test this with one steam id so far though...could just be my id?

nevermind works

there is a delay of about 5min on your status.

drpeppper
04-15-2009, 01:16 AM
The image doesnt work very well on dark backgrounds because of the white corners, although its better than other images. Does it require the numerical steam id or does it work with links?
we will be adding different styles to the widget for better integration in to a dark style. please check back soon for this.

DontWannaName
04-15-2009, 04:30 AM
It doesnt seem to attach to every post I have. It is on some of my old posts but not all, its really random. It would be nice if it could fit on the left side in postbit legacy but its max width would need to be changed.

P.Jackson
04-15-2009, 07:29 AM
<a href="http://steamcard.com/designs" target="_blank">http://steamcard.com/designs</a>

Something like that for profiles would be a great addition!

Morsolo
04-15-2009, 10:44 AM
Is it possible to make the style of the widget customisable?

Mainly the colours, as the default gray looks very out of place on light backgrounds. On tf2maps it is their colour, how can we change this? (Or have I just missed something simple)

drpeppper
04-15-2009, 03:38 PM
Is it possible to make the style of the widget customisable?

Mainly the colours, as the default gray looks very out of place on light backgrounds. On tf2maps it is their colour, how can we change this? (Or have I just missed something simple)

hi,

we are currently working on makeing the colors customizable for choosing in the submission form. right now its just a basic 'steam-style' widget.

thecore762
05-01-2009, 02:23 AM
Ok, I finally got it working, however its hard to place it like the way you guys did it on the forums...oh my!

JVSacco
05-27-2009, 01:40 AM
Very nice. Installed.

THE__DRIFTER
06-01-2009, 03:01 AM
I appear to be clueless on this. Is x my Steam community ID? Where do I make these edits? I see nothing on where or how to make the adjustments. Will I have to do this for all members or does this setup the ability for forum members to add themselves? I am a bit green making tweaks like this so I apologize in advance. I do like that in your forums though. :)


Finally got the point and installed. It doesn't look as good on my theme as yours but since the whole site is due for renovation this summer this will be an important addition.

GrossKopf
06-15-2009, 11:23 AM
Excellent mod. Looks great in my forums: http://flotgaming.net/forums/showthread.php?p=311

P.Jackson
06-15-2009, 08:29 PM
been using this for awhile :) would be nice to see extra options on there different backrounds etc :)

http://www.clan-killers.com/forum/announcements/95826-team1-fusion-progress.html

GrossKopf
06-18-2009, 01:16 AM
I love this, but it had problems on my forums. It didn't display right and cluttered up the thread headers. Any chance someone with the right know-how can make this a block in the profile instead, like this X-Fire status hack:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=184325

cdnbacon
06-27-2009, 04:20 AM
Well, this was working wonderfully until the pathetic steamprofiles.com link began showing up at the bottom of the images. Uninstalling right now.

Pathetic.

anuanu
06-28-2009, 03:16 AM
Not sure where the coder for this actually thought about this but me and a few friends actually coded this years ago...

Check it out on my forums and if you like it let me know and I may release it. I have some of the forums blocked off to guests but there are some sections that should be viewable to the public. Just like this one goto any post and you will see it.


www.oonclan.com

THE__DRIFTER
07-14-2009, 11:18 PM
Not sure where the coder for this actually thought about this but me and a few friends actually coded this years ago...

Check it out on my forums and if you like it let me know and I may release it. I have some of the forums blocked off to guests but there are some sections that should be viewable to the public. Just like this one goto any post and you will see it.


www.oonclan.com


That is really quite interesting... What is even more interesting is that your using the same theme as we are but have no credits listed; why is that. Please, be careful as I was born at night but it was NOT last night.

drpeppper
07-15-2009, 12:59 PM
hey anuanu,

this was a script given to the community TF2Maps.net
the script included a GNU General Public License.

drpeppper
07-15-2009, 01:00 PM
Well, this was working wonderfully until the pathetic steamprofiles.com link began showing up at the bottom of the images. Uninstalling right now.

Pathetic.
im sorry. please contact me for a refund.

anuanu
07-15-2009, 08:12 PM
That is really quite interesting... What is even more interesting is that your using the same theme as we are but have no credits listed; why is that. Please, be careful as I was born at night but it was NOT last night.

Yea I know thats an issue I was working...The code is in the footer but for some reason its not showing up. I had an arguement with the creator about it and I eventually found out that its not showing up for some reason. I wont be able to work on this for another 4 months or so.


hey anuanu,

this was a script given to the community TF2Maps.net
the script included a GNU General Public License.

Maybe your not understanding. Your code links to steamprofiles.com and thats it. On my site the code does not link to steamprofiles.com. Also I searched on TF2Maps.net and they dont have that code or file listed anywhere...but maybe im blind... This is what I have in my postbit:


<iframe src="steam/sp.php?id=$post[field5]" width="254" height="48" scrolling="no" frameborder="0"> </iframe>

Mine are actual files located on my website. I can't remember or not if I CHMOD the folder or not but take a look here:

www.oonclan.com/steam/sp.php?id=ENTER A STEAMID

anuanu
07-15-2009, 08:25 PM
Ok I looked harder on there site and there file is located on there website also but named as sphtml.php...

I'm wondering if john released it when I told him not to...

My apologizes for any irritation I caused. Myself and 3 friends (John, Dan, and Pete) actually created this code back in 2003 or 2004. Oh well though. Sorry again.

DJ29Joesph
07-23-2009, 02:19 AM
Can not get it to work on my site, can I piggy back off someone or could someone tell me how to fix it. I keep getting no steam id or community id. If I chmod that directory I get Internal server error.

heres a link:


<iframe src="http://laptop/Forums/steam/sphtml.php?id=STEAM_0:1:10081860" align="right" width="254" height="48" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" frameborder="0"></iframe>


link (http://spiralgaming.net/Forums/steam/sphtml.php?id=STEAM_0:1:10081860)

Zizagg
07-27-2009, 11:57 AM
Greeting, I love this Mod and would like to get it on my site... although I'm brand new to vBull and have never loaded a mod before.

I was really hoping that we could get some directions that can walk us through the process, as it does seem straight forward, but I'm not even familiar with how to make a custom profile or where to look for the code, and then where to place the code when finished. Also, how do you know if you're using Postbit or Postbit_legacy.

Thanks!

stuky4ever
09-08-2009, 02:31 AM
Can you guys do something like this? http://www.noobsticks.com/members/8088/

Alucard^
11-09-2009, 09:15 PM
Hi, emm i post to tell that steamprofile updated, so now this modification doesn't work...

This is what steamprofile give to you:

<a href='http://steamprofile.com'><img src='http://steamprofile.com/steam/profile/steamprofile/alucard_nv.png' border='0' /></a>

Someone know what is the new code?

I tried with:

<if condition="$post['field9']">
<iframe src="http://steamprofile.com/steam/profile/steamprofile/$post[field9].png' align="right" width="254" height="48" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" frameborder="0"></iframe>
</if>

But not work.

soulnothing
11-10-2009, 11:49 AM
i believe they quit doing it and everyone is making their own now or quit using them

plR
11-11-2009, 06:59 PM
<if condition="$post['fieldx']"><iframe src="http://steamprofile.com/steam/profile/steamprofile/$post[fieldx].png" align="right" width="254" height="48" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" frameborder="0"></iframe></if>

Same as before, change X for field ID.

Worked for me.

Llandy
11-30-2009, 02:37 AM
I've tried to many times getting this to work, but no luck. Can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.

CptHans
12-07-2009, 10:47 AM
I?m using VB4 beta 5 and the following code works.

<vb:if condition="$post['fieldX']"><iframe src="http://steamprofile.com/steam/profile/default/{vb:raw post.fieldX}.png" align="right" width="254" height="48" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" frameborder="0"></iframe></vb:if>

Bestrafung
01-24-2010, 04:27 AM
Thanks pIR, worked for me as well on 3.8.4 patch 2. Good luck guys.

LuBi
03-28-2010, 02:41 PM
My members are having trouble with the Steam ID aspect but other than that it's working great on 3.8.5

gimlot79
03-29-2010, 01:04 AM
works even perfect on my 3.7.2 vB
Really Good Work !

Kurel
05-08-2010, 06:07 PM
Here's a snippet of code that doesn't use an iframe and is resizable for those of you who want to put it on the left side in Postbit_Legacy

<if condition="$post['fieldX']"><div style="background:#000 url(http://steamprofile.com/steam/profile/default/$post[fieldX].png) no-repeat scroll 0 0;width:140px;height:48px;"></if></div>

Adjust the width values to make it wider or thinner.

Here's an example of it in action. (http://www.novagamers.net/forum/steam-profiles-t2357.html)

MjrNuT
06-03-2010, 07:22 PM
<if condition="$post['fieldx']"><iframe src="http://steamprofile.com/steam/profile/steamprofile/$post[fieldx].png" align="right" width="254" height="48" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" frameborder="0"></iframe></if>Same as before, change X for field ID.

Worked for me.


Using this makes it work properly.

Here are some extra tidbits of the profile field that might be useful that I already had. All I needed to do was implement this template change to the posbit.

MjrNuT
07-01-2010, 10:38 PM
Hello drpepper,

It appears that steamprofile.com site is no longer online or has only certain sites "whitelisted" for use. I say that b/c my site will not show any info status, but I see it working for sites like tf2maps.net.

Thanks

xjuliox
07-06-2010, 02:41 AM
The first post needs to be updated with the code that works.

drpeppper
07-07-2010, 06:36 PM
i will revamp the instructions in the next day or so. sorry about the gap in my postings.

nickmudry
08-17-2010, 01:54 AM
Do you think you could get this working with PSN and Xbox LIVE? It would be cool to have it all integrated into one plugin!

Kriskof
08-22-2010, 05:00 PM
Can't get this to work with 3.8.6, followed every step.

MtEden
09-14-2010, 05:05 PM
Same Kriskof, I tried every variation in this thread as well. 3.8.6 does not work with this.

LuBi
10-06-2010, 12:57 AM
This hack just magically stopped working one day. My gaming community really fell in love with this modification. I urge the developer to reconsider supporting it and re-releasing this modification. I personally got it working again (do not message me asking how) but I'm not sure what the developers wishes are..

xorex
04-17-2012, 10:40 PM
steamprofile.com dead :(