PDA

View Full Version : Vbulletin Header


brian41527
04-05-2009, 06:42 PM
Ok, when on the computer at my house my header image is fine. It is lined up perfectly with my forum. But I came to visit my dad today and I was viewing it from his computer and it is too wide for the forum. Can someone tell me what is going on? My site is buckipreps.com, how does it look to you?

as7apcool
04-05-2009, 06:49 PM
<a href="http://buckipreps.com/images/header1.jpg" target="_blank">http://buckipreps.com/images/header1.jpg</a>

this photo

1350/233

Dimensions

i will be big at

reslution 1024/768

brian41527
04-05-2009, 06:54 PM
SO what do I need to do, shrink it to 1024x768?

Lynne
04-05-2009, 06:55 PM
Your header is very wide. Not everyone opens their browser window that wide (I don't and I have a 24" monitor). You should design a site that will work on most browsers or that will fit most browser window sizes.

brian41527
04-05-2009, 06:57 PM
Well my monitor at home is 17inches and it looks fine. So what exactly do I need to do, Im a newbie..

Lynne
04-05-2009, 07:07 PM
You should make your header smaller. There are sites out there that talk about good design practices - google "web design practices". You might want to take a look at some of those sites and read what they have to say.

brian41527
04-05-2009, 08:28 PM
Is 1024x768 the most used screen resolution??

tipoboy
04-05-2009, 08:29 PM
Is 1024x768 the most used screen resolution??

i design for 800x600 that way its compliant for the majority or screen resolutions

brian41527
04-05-2009, 08:35 PM
Yes but if I do that, my header image dosent fit my board right on my computer..

tipoboy
04-05-2009, 08:37 PM
Yes but if I do that, my header image dosent fit my board right on my computer..

you do it by making 3 table cells and make a header_left image a header_right image and use CSS to define a background color

Lynne
04-05-2009, 08:37 PM
My header is 800 wide but according to google analytics, 95% of our traffic has a screen resolution of 1024 or greater. But, just because that is your screen resolution doesn't mean you have the browser window filling up the screen (mine certainly doesn't).

brian41527
04-05-2009, 08:42 PM
I just tried resizing my header, when I make it smaller it is too small for my board on my computer... But on my dads it looks fine, how do I make it fit right on both? Scalable?

Sweeks
04-05-2009, 09:17 PM
I would do what Tipoboy has said, either that or make a different header or learn some HTML and CSS.
________
INTERRACIAL WIFE (http://www.++++tube.com/categories/717/wife/videos/1)

RTWAP
04-14-2009, 04:27 AM
Does anyone have any samples of a three column table or CSS or whatever?

I've got a banner (http://hockeybroads.com) and I'd like it to be centred with images left and right being simple colour gradients that match the background of the image. This seems to be working fine in FireFox, but I get no header images at all when I open it in IE.

If I had to guess, I think I'm experiencing a clash between the header and the CSS and it's handled differently in IE versus FF. This is well beyond my meager web abilities.

--------------- Added 1239743669 at 1239743669 ---------------

Got it.

...
<table border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center" style="background-image:url(http://hockeybroads.com/images/misc/hockey_board_forum_background.jpg)">
<tr>

<td align="center"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="http://hockeybroads.com/images/misc/hockey_board_forum_banner_v1.2.jpg" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>


<td align="$stylevar[right]" id="header_right_cell">
<if condition="$ad_location['ad_header_logo']">$ad_location[ad_header_logo]<else />&nbsp;</if>
</td>

</tr>
</table>

...

Furcal15
04-23-2009, 04:11 AM
I did the tutorial in the article section about making a custom header to fit all screens. I did it and still get the resolution problem. my table with all the forums are longer than everything

setishock
04-23-2009, 06:09 AM
Try this:


<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<center>
<table border="0" width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/headbg.gif)">
<tr>

<td align="left" valign="top"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/head_left.gif" border="0" alt=""/></a></td>
<td align="right" valign="bottom"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/head_right.gif" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
</center>

<!-- /logo -->
<!-- content table -->
$spacer_open

$_phpinclude_output


You have to split your header into three sections.
head_left.gif - the left most portion of your header
head_right.gif - the right most portion of your header
headbg.gif - a one or two pixel "filler" that will keep the header looking full no matter what the width. It should be solid for best effect.
Upload the three files to your /images/misc folder for the theme and you're ready!

That replaces the header code.

I didn't write that. Some one gave it to me. It really works. Make the left and right panels a size so when it's viewed at a real low resolution they come together. When viewed at higher resolutions the filler does just that. It fills in.
Get creative with a gradient or a pattern.

Furcal15
04-23-2009, 06:31 AM
That still didn't work...My whole skin is still out of wack except for in my resolution which is 1200x800 or something like that.

tipoboy
04-23-2009, 06:33 AM
could you provide a link to your site?

Furcal15
04-23-2009, 06:57 AM
I have it all right now. I got it almost working. It streches out my image though. its repeating itself. And you'd have to register to view the skin because i'm keeping it away from everyone.

tipoboy
04-23-2009, 08:50 PM
I have it all right now. I got it almost working. It streches out my image though. its repeating itself. And you'd have to register to view the skin because i'm keeping it away from everyone.

if you want me to have a look pm me the details :D

gsmph
04-23-2009, 11:28 PM
try this code on your header..





<td align="$stylevar[center]">
<a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]">
<img src="linktoyourimage" border="0" width="100%" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" />
</a>
</td>



br
gsmph