PDA

View Full Version : Mini Mods - New Ad Location - Below Postbit Signature


TalkVirginia
03-27-2009, 10:00 PM
What it does?
Have you wanted to add a new Ad Location below the signature in each Postbit where you can place text ads or banner ads?

File Edits: 2
Template Edits: 2
New Templates: 1


*** This has only been tested with vBulletin 3.8.1. ***

Instructions

1. Make a backup of your Class_Postbit.php and your Showthread.php.

2. Open the Class_Postbit.php in your forum includes folder and look for:



if ($post['isfirstshown'])
{
eval('$ad_location[\'ad_showthread_firstpost_start\'] = "' . fetch_template('ad_showthread_firstpost_start') . '";');
eval('$ad_location[\'ad_showthread_firstpost_sig\'] = "' . fetch_template('ad_showthread_firstpost_sig') . '";');
}






(Note: The ending "}" should be on or around line 300.)

2. Add the following code below it:



eval('$ad_location[\'ad_showthread_below_sig\'] = "' . fetch_template('ad_showthread_below_sig') . '";');







3. Save the file.

4. Log into your AdminCP, and go to:
Styles & Templates => Styles Manager => Master Style => Add New Template

Product: vbulletin

Title: ad_showthread_below_sig

Template:



<br />
<div align="center" class="smallfont">
This is a test ad below everyone's signature<br />
<a href="http://www.mydomain.com/register.php" target="_self">Sign Up Now To Remove These Ads</a>
</div>






Note: I had to add the new template to the Master Style in order to get it to show up under existing "Ad Locations Template" group.

5. Save your new template.


6. Now, make the following edit to your Postbit and Postbit Legacy templates:

Find:



$template_hook[postbit_signature_end]




7. Add the following below:



$ad_location[ad_showthread_below_sig]




8. Save template and do the same in Postbit_legacy.

9. Open showthread.php in the forum root folder and look for:


// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
'ad_showthread_beforeqr',
'ad_showthread_firstpost',
'ad_showthread_firstpost_start',
'forumdisplay_loggedinuser',
'forumrules',
'im_aim',
'im_icq',






9. Insert "'ad_showthread_below_sig', in between
"'ad_showthread_firstpost_start'," and "'forumdisplay_loggedinuser',"

which should look like this when done:


// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
'ad_showthread_beforeqr',
'ad_showthread_firstpost',
'ad_showthread_firstpost_start',
'ad_showthread_firstpost_sig',
'ad_showthread_below_sig',
'forumdisplay_loggedinuser',
'forumrules',
'im_aim',
'im_icq',





10. Save the file.

11. Upload your edited showthread.php to your forum's root folder, and
class_postbit.php file to your forum's includes folder overwriting the existing file.

Optional: If you use an ad rotation system such as OpenX, you may need to create a new plugin using the "postbit_display_start" hook for the ad to show up.

If you have questions, let me know and I'll try to help as much as I can.

Make sure you Click Install if you use this!!!

TalkVirginia
03-28-2009, 07:30 AM
*** Reserved ***

ahmed-samara
03-28-2009, 12:11 PM
*** Reserved ***

but nothing happen !

TalkVirginia
03-28-2009, 01:45 PM
*** Reserved ***

but nothing happen !

What version of vBulletin do you have installed? Also, what type of ad did you put in the ad location?

masterweb
03-29-2009, 02:09 PM
Same here...nothing happend (i'm unning a vB 3.8.1 board)

What version of vBulletin do you have installed? Also, what type of ad did you put in the ad location?

TalkVirginia
03-29-2009, 02:40 PM
Same here...nothing happend (i'm unning a vB 3.8.1 board)

Are you using the sample template content I posted in the hack or something else? if you put in some plain text it should show up. It didn't show up for me at first until the template was recached.

TalkVirginia
03-29-2009, 02:58 PM
Ok.. I've been able to replicate the issue and will post a fix shortly.

Edit: I left out the step where you need to add the $ad_location[ad_showthread_below_sig] to the Postbit and Postbit Legacy templates.

1. Open your Admincp and go to :
Styles & Templates => Style Manager => Master Style => Edit Templates

2. Find the following hook location in your Postbit and Postbit Legacy templates:


$template_hook[postbit_signature_end]




3. Add the following ad location below it:
Note: I did this with the thought that maybe you might want to do some calculation in the signature end hook to be included in your site signature. Just a thought. :)




$ad_location[ad_showthread_below_sig]




4. Save your templates

Now it should show up. My apologies for missing this.

Jasem
03-29-2009, 06:23 PM
good work, thank you!

Installed

TalkVirginia
03-29-2009, 06:35 PM
good work, thank you!

Installed

You're very welcome! :D

Brandon Sheley
03-29-2009, 07:54 PM
It would be nice if it was default, but seems like a lot of work when you could just add the banner code in the postbit template, or openX


Keep up the good work :)

TalkVirginia
03-29-2009, 09:50 PM
It would be nice if it was default, but seems like a lot of work when you could just add the banner code in the postbit template, or openX


Keep up the good work :)

I guess if it seems like a lot of work, then you probably don't need it. :D

but thank you! :)

ahmed-samara
03-30-2009, 12:05 PM
now is working great :) thanks too much
installed

KevinGupta
04-16-2009, 10:48 AM
Sorry.. how do I exactly put in a banner/text ad.. could you please give me step by step guide to it?

and what type of banner links can I put in... Can I just put in a URL e.g. www.domain.com/pic.gif ?

TalkVirginia
04-16-2009, 12:56 PM
Sorry.. how do I exactly put in a banner/text ad.. could you please give me step by step guide to it?

and what type of banner links can I put in... Can I just put in a URL e.g. www.domain.com/pic.gif ?

Once you make the edits as instructed above, you should be able to put any html code including image or text banners, and template conditionals in the new template as you would the other ad locations.

TheLastSuperman
04-16-2009, 12:58 PM
Tagged, will check out later & Thanks :D