View Full Version : File System on Seperate Server?
BornMunson
03-27-2009, 12:50 AM
I am wondering if it is possible to have my database and file system on a different server then the rest of the forum? I was looking at the config.php file and it looks pretty easy to have the just the database on a different server, but didn't see the option for the file system (uploaded files). If anyone knows if this is possible, please post here.
ssslippy
03-27-2009, 02:08 AM
Its not possible without modification of the core code.
TigerC10
03-27-2009, 02:12 AM
Its not possible without modification of the core code.
Of course it's possible. In fact, commercial environments should operate that way.
In your config.php file, you need to change the following variables:
$config['MasterServer']['servername'] = 'localhost';
$config['MasterServer']['port'] = 3306;
Change "localhost" to "whatever.com" where your database is held. That will let you have your files and database on different servers.
Likewise you can do the forum path like:
$config['Misc']['forumpath'] = 'http://www.whatever.com/forum';
However this is not recommended since you will have some serious issues surrounding file permissions. You'll still have to put the files on your server - but when they include the other files it'll pull from the other file server.
Lynne
03-27-2009, 02:15 AM
I believe the OP is talking about files, as in attachments, and the database on one server, and then the php files on the other server which isn't possible without doing quite a bit of modifying of the vb code.
TigerC10
03-27-2009, 02:17 AM
Well, attachments, avatars, etc. - all that stuff can be stored in the DB. But with some tricky .htaccess code one could put the files on a different server entirely.
Lynne
03-27-2009, 02:21 AM
Sure, you can do that, but then they aren't call 'files'. :) And, if you are talking about having a two server configuration for your forum, then you shouldn't be storing your attachments/avatars/etc in the database anyway.
TigerC10
03-27-2009, 02:26 AM
Well, I think it's far more advantageous to put the database on a different server than to try and put the files on a different server. I agree with you that it's a silly thing to do - but it is possible.
zzzru
03-29-2009, 08:05 PM
Why not to mount all upload-directories using NFS?
Farstate
04-07-2009, 09:45 AM
We have a two server set-up - all the files (including attachments, avatars, etc) are on one server and the database is on another server. You could take this one step further and introduce a third server and mount the attachment, etc directories on the first server, to locations on the third server. A complex alternative though...
If your forum is really big enough to warrant multiple servers, then either looking at a single very highly spec'd server (e.g. twin quad-core, lots of memory), or load balanced solution which appears to you as a single server but has the benefits of actually being multiple servers.
mac-warez
04-17-2009, 12:15 AM
Just get the new server. Then in Config.php change localhost to the new server IP. Simple as that
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=185705
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.