Log in

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - UKBL ~ Newsticker IFrame in Navbar


UKBusinessLive
03-13-2009, 10:00 PM
UKBL ~ Newsticker IFrame in Navbar

Working Demo: http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum With Border

Working Demo: http://www.waltdisneyboards.com/forums.php Without Border


As a request for a friend, i made this simple to add news ticker using a simple html script from Dynamic Drive and added it to the navbar, left of the login box, Now your members will be able to see up to date news everytime they login ;)


https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/03/21.png

So Easy to Install

First Download the zip file and open the ticker.txt file in a text editor like notepad

To legally use the code from Dynamic Drive please retain their credits within the code

<!--<UKBL Iframe Ticker Start>----------------------------------------------------------------------->

<td class="alt2">
<DIV ALIGN=RIGHT>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<!--For full source code and more DHTML scripts, visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com-->
<!--This credit MUST stay intact for use-->
<iframe id="tickermain" src="http://yourforum.com/exfile.htm" width=200 height=80 marginwidth=0 marginheight=0 hspace=0 vspace=0 frameborder=1 scrolling=no></iframe>
</DIV>
</td>
</if>
<!--<UKBL Iframe Ticker End>----------------------------------------------------------------------->

Find

src="http://yourforum.com/exfile.htm"

and replace it with yoursite and keep the file exfile.htm at root level (We'll need to edit that file later ;) )

Find

width=200 height=80

and change this for the size you want, I've kept mine small 200 x 80 pixels but you can edit this for whatever size you want to make the Iframe :up:

Find this

scrolling=no

and change it to yes if you want the iframe to scroll as opossed to just changing. if no then the content will change ever XX seconds which is adjustable ;)

Now we save that file and we need to copy and paste the entire contents of that file to our Navbar, so...

AdminCP > Styles & Templates> Style Manager> Your Chosen Style> All style options> Edit templates> Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates> navbar

Find the following

<div class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="1"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> <strong>$vboptions</strong></div>

and directly below it add your code

<!--<UKBL Iframe Ticker Start>----------------------------------------------------------------------->

<td class="alt2">
<!--For full source code and more DHTML scripts, visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com-->
<!--This credit MUST stay intact for use-->
<DIV ALIGN=RIGHT>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<iframe id="tickermain" src="C:\Users\Gerry\Desktop\exfile.htm" width=200 height=80 marginwidth=0 marginheight=0 hspace=0 vspace=0 frameborder=1 scrolling=no></iframe>
</DIV>
</td>
</if>
<!--<UKBL Iframe Ticker End>----------------------------------------------------------------------->

Ok Guys thats the first bit done,
Grab yourselves a beer, Here comes part two :D

In Notpad again open the "exfile.htm" file, as we need to edit and add our content :up:

When you open the file in Notepad we see this, remember to keep the Dynamic drive url and copyright in place ;)

<script language="JavaScript1.2">

//IFRAME TICKER- By Dynamic Drive (http://www.dynamicdrive.com)

//configure delay between changing messages (3000=3 seconds)
var delay=3000

var ie4=document.all

var curindex=0
var totalcontent=0

function get_total(){
if (ie4){
while (eval("document.all.content"+totalcontent))
totalcontent++
}
else{
while (document.getElementById("content"+totalcontent))
totalcontent++
}
}

function contract_all(){
for (y=0;y<totalcontent;y++){
if (ie4)
eval("document.all.content"+y).style.display="none"
else
document.getElementById("content"+y).style.display="none"
}
}

function expand_one(which){
contract_all()
if (ie4)
eval("document.all.content"+which).style.display=""
else
document.getElementById("content"+which).style.display=""
}

function rotate_content(){
get_total()
contract_all()
expand_one(curindex)
curindex=(curindex<totalcontent-1)? curindex+1: 0
setTimeout("rotate_content()",delay)
}

window.onload=rotate_content

</script>

<BODY bgColor=#FFFFE1>

<!--ADD YOUR TICKER CONTENT BELOW, by wrapping each one inside a <DIV> as shown below.-->
<!--For each DIV, increment its ID attribute for each additional content (ie: "content1", "content2" etc)-->


<div id="content0" style="display:''">

<!-- ADD TICKER's CONTENT #1 HERE--------------------->

<p align="left"><strong><font face="Verdana"><small><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex9/encrypter.htm" target="_top">Source
code encrypter</a>&nbsp;</small></font></strong><br>
<font face="Verdana" size="2">Scramble the source of any chunk of code using
this unique script.</font></p>

<!-- END CONTENT #1----------------->

</div>

<div id="content1" style="display:none">

<!-- ADD TICKER's CONTENT #2 HERE--------------------->

<p align="left"><strong><font face="Verdana"><small><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex5/flashlink.htm" target="_top">Flashing
links</a>&nbsp;</small></font></strong><br>
<font face="Verdana"><small>Bring attention to special links, by making them
flash!</small></font></p>

<!-- END CONTENT #2----------------->

</div>

<div id="content2" style="display:none">

<!-- ADD TICKER's CONTENT #3 HERE--------------------->

<p align="left"><small><strong><font face="Verdana"><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex13/roamcursor.htm" target="_top">Roaming
Cursor</a>&nbsp;</font></strong></small><br>
<small><font face="Verdana">Display a second, &quot;roaming&quot; cursor on your
page with this fun animation script.</font></small></p>

<!-- END CONTENT #3----------------->

</div>

<div id="content3" style="display:none">

<!-- ADD TICKER's CONTENT #4 HERE--------------------->

<p align="left"><font face="Verdana"><strong><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex11/animatedtitle.htm" target="_top"><small>Animated
Document title</small></a><br>
</strong><small>Animate into view your document's title!</small></font></p>

<!-- END CONTENT #4----------------->

</div>

Find this

var delay=3000

and change it for whatever delay you want, remember its in milliseconds so 3 seconds = 3000

next Find this

<BODY bgColor=#FFFFE1>

This changes the color of the iframe background, Use a hex color generator to chose a color which suits your site, I use this http://www.2createawebsite.com/build/hex-colors.html

Find this

<!-- ADD TICKER's CONTENT #1 HERE--------------------->

<p align="left"><strong><font face="Verdana"><small><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex9/encrypter.htm" target="_top">Source
code encrypter</a>&nbsp;</small></font></strong><br>
<font face="Verdana" size="2">Scramble the source of any chunk of code using
this unique script.</font></p>

<!-- END CONTENT #1----------------->

these are the text blocks, Just edit them to suit your content

You'll see how easy it is, The first part is the url of your link, Then the text after it, once you've done a couple you'll get the knack ;)

if you want to add more, make sure you......

<!--ADD YOUR TICKER CONTENT BELOW, by wrapping each one inside a <DIV> as shown below.-->
<!--For each DIV, increment its ID attribute for each additional content (ie: "content1", "content2" etc)-->

Thats it, so now we need to save the file, and upload the file (exfile.htm) to our forums root directory.

Thats it, Now click onto your homepage and suprise your members with your New feature

[B]Please click Install if you use and i'll support you 100%

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 03:16 PM
:D reserved :rolleyes:

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 03:36 PM
Thanks Gerry! :up:

Another useful option for those folks looking to do little touches on their sites! Thanks for participating so much and contributing to the community my friend!

I'll be installing it shortly! :D

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 04:00 PM
Thanks Gerry! :up:

Another useful option for those folks looking to do little touches on their sites! Thanks for participating so much and contributing to the community my friend!

I'll be installing it shortly! :D

OK Buddy Glad to help, perhaps a link for a demo, kind sir ;)

erel34
03-14-2009, 04:05 PM
Thanks

hoopsta
03-14-2009, 05:13 PM
is there a demo site with this working?

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 05:16 PM
is there a demo site with this working?

will be shortly Bear with me

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 05:28 PM
I've got it started (still testing), but you can use my site for the demo http://www.waltdisneyboards.com/forums.php

Gerry, I'd like to ask a question. I noticed that the text wasn't aligned towards the top. Where do I put the valign="top" piece?

Also, what do I do to change the color (or eliminate, rather) the borders on the iFrame?

hoopsta
03-14-2009, 05:31 PM
I've got it started (still testing), but you can use my site for the demo http://www.waltdisneyboards.com/forums.php

Gerry, I'd like to ask a question. I noticed that the text wasn't aligned towards the top. Where do I put the valign="top" piece?

Also, what do I do to change the color (or eliminate, rather) the borders on the iFrame?

thanks. You have a lot of cool hacks on your wite. But I don't see that one working yet. I'll check back.

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 05:33 PM
thanks. You have a lot of cool hacks on your wite. But I don't see that one working yet. I'll check back.

I'll add the demo to the first post when its installed

hoopsta
03-14-2009, 05:33 PM
I've got it started (still testing), but you can use my site for the demo http://www.waltdisneyboards.com/forums.php

Gerry, I'd like to ask a question. I noticed that the text wasn't aligned towards the top. Where do I put the valign="top" piece?

Also, what do I do to change the color (or eliminate, rather) the borders on the iFrame?

would you mind telling me which hack you use for the Top 5 Stats ?

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 05:43 PM
I've got it started (still testing), but you can use my site for the demo http://www.waltdisneyboards.com/forums.php

Gerry, I'd like to ask a question. I noticed that the text wasn't aligned towards the top. Where do I put the valign="top" piece?

Also, what do I do to change the color (or eliminate, rather) the borders on the iFrame?


Hi Arny,

Not sure what you mean about the align= top?? It works OK on my Test Site?? Post me a link when you get it up?

To make the Border disappear in the ticker.txt file find

frameborder=1

and change to

frameborder=0

Just going to get my demo done on my site ;) bear with me for a sec....

Jon Tolzien
03-14-2009, 05:46 PM
Alright i loaded it and everything but a couple of small problems.
1. Can this scroll right to left, like a stock ticker..... Does this automatically scroll?
2. Can this be centered in the navbar
3. I cannot get it to scroll at all, i probably screwed something up:D

I love this idea, i have been looking for one that is quality for a long time.

Thanks for the help

<script language="JavaScript1.2">

//IFRAME TICKER- By Dynamic Drive (http://www.dynamicdrive.com)

//configure delay between changing messages (3000=3 seconds)
var delay=3000

var ie4=document.all

var curindex=0
var totalcontent=0

function get_total(){
if (ie4){
while (eval("document.all.content"+totalcontent))
totalcontent++
}
else{
while (document.getElementById("content"+totalcontent))
totalcontent++
}
}

function contract_all(){
for (y=0;y<totalcontent;y++){
if (ie4)
eval("document.all.content"+y).style.display="none"
else
document.getElementById("content"+y).style.display="none"
}
}

function expand_one(which){
contract_all()
if (ie4)
eval("document.all.content"+which).style.display=""
else
document.getElementById("content"+which).style.display=""
}

function rotate_content(){
get_total()
contract_all()
expand_one(curindex)
curindex=(curindex<totalcontent-1)? curindex+1: 0
setTimeout("rotate_content()",delay)
}

window.onload=rotate_content

</script>

<BODY bgColor=#333333>

<div align="center">
<!--ADD YOUR TICKER CONTENT BELOW, by wrapping each one inside a <DIV> as shown below.-->
<!--For each DIV, increment its ID attribute for each additional content (ie: "content1", "content2" etc)-->
<strong><font color="#FFFFFF" face="Verdana">Welcome to Diversified Online Gamers!!!</font></strong>
</div>
<div id="content1" style="display:none">

<div align="center"><font color="#FFFFFF">
<!-- ADD TICKER's CONTENT #2 HERE--------------------->

<strong> <<strong><font face="Verdana">Welcome to Diversified Online Gamers!!!</font></strong></small></font>
</p></strong>

<!-- END CONTENT #2----------------->
</font></div>
</div>

<div id="content2" style="display:none">

<div align="center"><font color="#FFFFFF">
<!-- ADD TICKER's CONTENT #3 HERE--------------------->

<strong><font color="#FFFFFF" face="Verdana">Welcome to Diversified Online Gamers!!!</font></strong>
</div>
<!-- END CONTENT #3----------------->
</font></div>
</div>
<div id="content3" style="display:none">

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 05:48 PM
Gerry, it's working now. :up:

I forgot that you had the "show 'member'" in there. So, I removed that (and noticed where to put the "0" for the frameborder too ;) ) and it should be good.

Now, just working on aligning the text to the top to make it look nicer. :)

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 05:53 PM
would you mind telling me which hack you use for the Top 5 Stats ?

No problem sir! :)

I use the Cyb-Advanced Forum Stats. If you're using vB 3.8, go here https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=201274 ... if you're using vB 3.7, go here https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=177778

Thanks for comments, by the way! :up:

The demo on my site is working other than the text being down a bit (almost as if there are some line breaks in there somewhere), so I'm adjusting that now.

I have it blending into (no iFrame border or differentiating background color) my site. So, Gerry could use this one as another option in his demos. :D

hoopsta
03-14-2009, 06:04 PM
thanks Arny... I just uploaded the stat hack. I like this newsticker thing to....

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 06:07 PM
No problem Hoopsta! :)

Yes, Gerry does a lot of helpful and fun modifications for our community. :up:

I'm happy that others have liked the ideas as well. :D

hoopsta
03-14-2009, 06:11 PM
this is a dumb question, but once this is set up all we need to do is edit: exfile.htm and that will change newsticker info?

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 06:14 PM
Alright i loaded it and everything but a couple of small problems.
1. Can this scroll right to left, like a stock ticker..... Does this automatically scroll?
2. Can this be centered in the navbar
3. I cannot get it to scroll at all, i probably screwed something up:D

I love this idea, i have been looking for one that is quality for a long time.

Thanks for the help



Hi Jon, To answer your Questions

1. This will scroll from bottom to top if you want, for right to left you'll need something like this, My scrolling marquee hack https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=207241

2. if you align this in the centre of the navbar, then it will mess up the forum breadcrumb and make the navbar wider, It need to be in its own "cell" next to the login, if you want an iframe in the centre then you can just add My scrolling Forum news to the header https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=207002 demo: http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/scroller.htm

3. To get this hack to scroll bottom to top go to the ticker.txt file and find

scrolling=no

Just change the attribute to=yes

You can see how this works on my demo: www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 06:16 PM
this is a dumb question, but once this is set up all we need to do is edit: exfile.htm and that will change newsticker info?

Thats right, edit the exfile.htm file and upload the file to your forum root directory ;)

I've addd a demo on my forum www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum :D

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 06:19 PM
Gerry...I think I know why mine is not 'centered'. I adjusted the size (height) and it probably threw it off. How do we make it so that it's "fluid" and maybe centered based on the size and not a set pixel size?

Could that be the problem?

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 06:26 PM
Gerry...I think I know why mine is not 'centered'. I adjusted the size (height) and it probably threw it off. How do we make it so that it's "fluid" and maybe centered based on the size and not a set pixel size?

Could that be the problem?

Arny

If you look at the exfile.htm file and look at each block

<p align="left"><small><strong><font face="Verdana"><a href="http://www.ukbl.co.uk" target="_top">Business Hosting</a>&nbsp;</font></strong></small><br>
<small><font face="Verdana">Join us on our very own Hosting Site.</font></small></p>

you will see

<p align="left">

Just change that for center, and your text will be central ;)

<p align="center">

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 06:34 PM
Sorry Gerry, I mean to say "centered", but top to bottom as opposed to left to right.

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 06:37 PM
Sorry Gerry, I mean to say "centered", but top to bottom as opposed to left to right.


Ha Ha You love making me work :eek:

Hang in there buddy i'll take a look at the code again ;)

You need to add the valign="middle" attribute also like this

<p align="center" valign="middle">

DobieGillis?
03-14-2009, 07:05 PM
so I tried to find this in my Navbar

<div class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="1"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> <strong>$vboptions[bbtitle]</strong></div>

and it only appears in my default style, not my modded ones which I use. LOL! Go figure!

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 07:11 PM
Didn't work Gerry. So, I just adjusted it back up to "80" on the height and it's centered now. But, there has to be a way to valign="top" or "middle" in there. The "p align" works as far as centering (although I don't want it like that, I like the left align and moved it back to left). But, I can't get the valign to go to "top" or even "middle" when you change the height of the iFrame. Strange.

Well, I'll work with it at 80 for now and see if I need to revisit that in the future :)

Now, gonna go and add "real" info and links in the mod :up:

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 07:14 PM
so I tried to find this in my Navbar

<div class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="1"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> <strong>$vboptions[bbtitle]</strong></div>


and it only appears in my default style, not my modded ones which I use. LOL! Go figure!

Have a go adding the code, in the nearest alternative part, as long as your in the navbar template for that style.

if you keep the opening and closing tags on the code you can quickly cut it out and re paste elsewhere, if the box comes out in the wrong place ;)

<!--<UKBL Iframe Ticker Start>----------------------------------------------------------------------->

Code goes here

<!--<UKBL Iframe Ticker Start>----------------------------------------------------------------------->

DobieGillis?
03-14-2009, 07:15 PM
Have a go adding the code, in the nearest alternative part, as long as your in the navbar template for that style.

if you keep the opening and closing tags on the code you can quickly cut it out and re paste elsewhere, if the box comes out in the wrong place ;)

<!--<UKBL Iframe Ticker Start>----------------------------------------------------------------------->

Code goes here

<!--<UKBL Iframe Ticker Start>----------------------------------------------------------------------->


will give it a shot.

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 07:21 PM
Didn't work Gerry. So, I just adjusted it back up to "80" on the height and it's centered now. But, there has to be a way to valign="top" or "middle" in there. The "p align" works as far as centering (although I don't want it like that, I like the left align and moved it back to left). But, I can't get the valign to go to "top" or even "middle" when you change the height of the iFrame. Strange.

Well, I'll work with it at 80 for now and see if I need to revisit that in the future :)

Now, gonna go and add "real" info and links in the mod :up:

Damm :( I guess someone will come along and tell us ;)

Any way Arny i've kept mine central and change the hieght so that it looks good with just 3 lines, The link and 2 lines of text, Thats all i need for my site.

:)

DobieGillis?
03-14-2009, 07:28 PM
got it working but the contect is pretty lame. Any suggestions on changing content fprovide? Do I replace the www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex9/encrypter.htm" with another content provider i.e. foxnews, or whatever?

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 07:32 PM
got it working but the contect is pretty lame. Any suggestions on changing content fprovide? Do I replace the www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex9/encrypter.htm" with another content provider i.e. foxnews, or whatever?


???????????? :confused:

I think you must be talking about something else here buddy :eek:

DobieGillis?
03-14-2009, 07:34 PM
???????????? :confused:

I think you must be talking about something else here buddy :eek:

no I'm not. Where is the source of the info that is scrolling? How do I change that?

DobieGillis?
03-14-2009, 07:34 PM
never mind, I get it.

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 07:36 PM
no I'm not. Where is the source of the info that is scrolling? How do I change that?

Thats in the exfile.htm file which you need to edit and upload to your forums root directory, its all in the first post ;)

Not sure where you got this from ??

www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex9/encrypter.htm

DobieGillis?
03-14-2009, 07:40 PM
I get it, I thought the feed was coming from another source, you add your own content. Doh!

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 07:42 PM
I get it, I thought the feed was coming from another source, you add your own content. Doh!

You got me worried there buddy :D:D

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 07:50 PM
Gerry, I just noticed that everything in the navbar template is sitting at the same level. So, it must be something that has to be adjusted within the entire template and not just the part of the code only. It seems to be one of those things where the coding is being over-ridden.

DobieGillis?
03-14-2009, 07:54 PM
You got me worried there buddy :D:D

not even drinking yet, lol! With all your mods on my site, maybe I should rename it UKBL Part 2?

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 07:59 PM
Gerry, I just noticed that everything in the navbar template is sitting at the same level. So, it must be something that has to be adjusted within the entire template and not just the part of the code only. It seems to be one of those things where the coding is being over-ridden.

I'm trying to see where its differnt from the rest of the navbar, I guess its because of the height of the iframe and the text automatically goes to the top. :confused:

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 08:04 PM
Gerry, I set it back to the 200 x 80 that you originally had and you can see on the site that it's at the same level as the login area and RSS icon, etc. So, something is overriding the code, I assume.

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 08:06 PM
Gerry, I set it back to the 200 x 80 that you originally had and you can see on the site that it's at the same level as the login area and RSS icon, etc. So, something is overriding the code, I assume.

Arny,

try this on the opening Div's of each block

<div id="content1" style="display:none" valign=middle>

Add the bit in red and tell me if it works :eek:

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 08:11 PM
not even drinking yet, lol! With all your mods on my site, maybe I should rename it UKBL Part 2?

Ha ha Now thats funny :D

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/06/34.gif

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 08:23 PM
Arny,

try this on the opening Div's of each block

<div id="content1" style="display:none" valign=middle>

Add the bit in red and tell me if it works :eek:

Didn't work with or without quotes around middle. :(

UKBusinessLive
03-14-2009, 08:46 PM
Didn't work with or without quotes around middle. :(

Perhaps a mention on the dynamic drive forum might shed some light?

I've just kept mine to just 3 lines wide and it looks ok

ArnyVee
03-14-2009, 11:05 PM
FYI, if you change the height to 90 you can get 4 lines in nicely :)

UKBusinessLive
03-15-2009, 08:40 AM
FYI, if you change the height to 90 you can get 4 lines in nicely :)

Thanks ;)

ArnyVee
03-15-2009, 01:09 PM
FYI Gerry, I just tested it in Google Chrome and it works at the "top". So, this might be a Firefox thing where it doesn't adjust to the top of the cell/table.

syrus.xl
03-15-2009, 02:47 PM
I took the idea, but designed a flash/php based rss reader instead of using the Dynamic Drive content. Basically, because I've used flash I had to call the news site via a PHP proxy, but as you can see it works like it is supposed to, I have it linked to the BBC RSS feed, but it could be any feed really. The coding I have changed to work without being logged in, and it appears on all pages.

Here's the flash version I designed...
http://www.digitalport.co.uk

SCREENSHOT
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/03/85.jpg

:)

UKBusinessLive
03-15-2009, 03:17 PM
I took the idea, but designed a flash/php based rss reader instead of using the Dynamic Drive content. Basically, because I've used flash I had to call the news site via a PHP proxy, but as you can see it works like it is supposed to, I have it linked to the BBC RSS feed, but it could be any feed really. The coding I have changed to work without being logged in, and it appears on all pages.

Here's the flash version I designed...
http://www.digitalport.co.uk

SCREENSHOT
http://www.digitalport.co.uk/rss_vb1.jpg

:)

Now thats a cool idea :D

syrus.xl
03-15-2009, 06:22 PM
Thanks! :)

Perhaps I'll release this small modification after a color change, more suitable for the default vBulletin style and maybe add a few extras. :)

Nice idea of placing the content display within the navbar though!

ArnyVee
03-15-2009, 06:43 PM
Syrus, nice work on the mod to the mod :up:

basilrath
03-15-2009, 06:44 PM
Nice one syrus .............. you flash sod

syrus.xl
03-15-2009, 09:40 PM
Nice one syrus .............. you flash sod

LOL.. you know me too well. ;)

Preech
03-16-2009, 07:21 AM
Would it possible to get it to pull content from a set forum.

syrus.xl
03-16-2009, 07:32 AM
I don't want to hijack this thread, but the version I designed will pull virtually any type of RSS feed, this could be a whole forum, or just a single category. Basically, all it requires is that the RSS feed is enabled in vBulletin, so it can be read by the reader.

I'll see if I can get a working version out today. :)

LOKIN510051
08-30-2009, 12:49 AM
Ok Instalado Y Quedo Bien

directprint
09-03-2009, 09:24 AM
I can't get the text to align at the top in the box using firefox, tried everything, it seems to have a </br> in the first line that is not in any of the style sheets or the CSS styles.

MagicThemeParks
01-17-2010, 12:17 AM
Hey there, any suggestions on how to fix how it displays on FireFox?

It's working fine on IE, Google Chrome and Safari.

Please check attached pics. :)