PDA

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs


UKBusinessLive
01-03-2009, 10:00 PM
UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs

Credits: Christopher Ware~ Thanks

I've been playing around with creating some Menu Tabs for the top of the forums, These ones do not mess up your CSS or use Javascript and you can have it set up and running on your forums in minutes.

DEMO: http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/demo.html

Members Site Live Demo's:
http://www.gamelobby.com/Forum/
http://www.itproservices.net/forums/index.php?styleid=10

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/47.png

I've done this in a neutral color, so it'll be fine for light colored forums, I will add some darker ones and a black one later if requested

So what do you do???

Installation is sooooo simple your gonna love this, First you need to open the html file with notepad or similar, and make a few edits, Mainly the location of the 2 gif's and the links to the urls or onsite links.

so in Note pad look for this..

background:url("tableft1.gif") no-repeat left top;

and change the word tableft1.gif to the directory you have your images in, if you use photobucket or a similar storage site then your code would look something like this

background:url("http://i4875.photobucket.com/albums/rr1/ukbusinesslive/tableft1.gif") no-repeat left top;


Then you look for the other one here

background:url("tabright1.gif") no-repeat right top;


and basically do the same as the first edit.

So thats it with the gif edits, you still need to scroll further down to the menu edits

here

<ul>
<!-- CSS Tabs -->
<li id="current"><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span>Forums Topsite</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/group.php?"><span>Social Groups</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/online.php?"><span>Who's Online</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://astore.amazon.co.uk/ukbuli-21"><span>UKBL Bookstore</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/usercp.php"><span>Your CP</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>


basically you can have as many tabs as you need and you change the navigation from the top code, its pretty easy to do, First you add the Url of the site or link that you want tabbed, Then paste it to the first part of the tab, Then after <Span> you write the name of the tab, Easy

if you want extra tabs just add another line like this

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>

Cut and Paste the HTML Code to the header template of your style, and upload the gifs to your chosen directory, be it /images/misc or even photobucket.

For Dark Colored Sites

If your Site is Black or has a Black Background you'll want black tabs like this

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/67.png

Then you'll have to Download the Black_ Tabs.zip This include a new code that you need to edit as well as the 2 Black Gifs to get the correct colour. Instructions are the same as above ;)


Please Click install if you like it :D

If you want to see a nice collection of downloadable Menu Tabs, Veiw My Post in the Graphics forum, and download what you need ;)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1704379#post1704379

vBAdvanced Integration

Ther seem to be a slight problem with users that use vBAdvanced Integration

A problem I'm having when I put this in the header template is that I click on a thread and it comes up with the menu tabs down where the thread should be instead of the thread.

Could it be a problem with having vBAdvanced integration?


The cure is quite simple, all you need to do when you've edited your code is to cut it in half and put the CSS element into the additional CSS box in your Style manger's "additional CSS" box, Then the last bit, the part which contains the menu links (See below)

</style>
</head>

<body>

<div id="tabsH">
<ul>
<!-- CSS Tabs -->
<li id="current"><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span>Forums Topsite</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/group.php?"><span>Social Groups</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/online.php?"><span>Who's Online</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://astore.amazon.co.uk/ukbuli-21"><span>UKBL Bookstore</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/usercp.php"><span>Your CP</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>

</ul>
</div>
</body>
</html>


Thats the part which just goes at the VERY end of your header.

Enjoy VBa Members :D

To Open in new Browser Window

To get the link to open in a new browser window, what you do is add the target="_blank" attribute to your link tag, like this in your Menu Links area

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/" target="_blank"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>

If you do that to the ones that you want to open in a new window, then you don't navigate away from your site ;)

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/01/30.png

:D
Changing individual Tab Font Colors

You can add some html markup between the <span> where the tab name is

Just change the first <Span> Value to

<span style="color:Green">


So your Menu Line would look something like this

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span style="color:Green">Forums Topsite</span></a></li>


https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/38.png

Hope that helps, just change the color Green, for a color of your choice

You could use a tab with a different color text to point to your Paypal Account and call it donations :confused: Worth a try ;)

Tab Color Changes on Hover

I have a request though

if you can make the current page's tab be in another color just like when hover it, it will be great.
just like vbulletin.org here.
you can see it yourself

You need to add a span attribute to the CSS

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/37.png

Dependant on what tab design you are using, find the following in the code

#tabs1 a:hover {
background-position:0% -42px;
}



and change it to this

#tabs1 a:hover span {
color:#000000;
background-position:0% -42px;
}

Where #000000 (hex Code for Black) is the new color that you want, so now you should have the tabs show up as normal and when you hover the cursor over them with the above hex code the text will be BLACK

Just change this color hex to whatever hex color you want

Enjoy

:D

UKBusinessLive
01-04-2009, 06:14 PM
:D Reserved :rolleyes:

Forum-Germany
01-04-2009, 06:42 PM
Demo?

UKBusinessLive
01-04-2009, 06:48 PM
Demo?

DEMO: http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/demo.html

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/47.png
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/67.png

Hope that helps

soundbarrierpro
01-05-2009, 02:20 PM
I know it's a 3.6.12 mod, anybody knows if this works in 3.7.4?

UKBusinessLive
01-05-2009, 04:05 PM
I know it's a 3.6.12 mod, anybody knows if this works in 3.7.4?

Hello Sir, the Mod will work with 3.6.x 3.7.x and 3.8.x, It would problably work with 3.5.x but i've not found any one to try it on 3.5.x

Download it from any of the above, Shold work a treat.

Let me know how you got on :)

UKBusinessLive
01-06-2009, 03:31 PM
***************Update**************

Just to let everyone know i will be adding a variety of different styles of tabs this week and i'll be uploading them shortly, This will allow members to select tabs which compliment their forums in all different colors rather than the default Neutral and Black one.

There should be about 30 different styles, so it shouldn't be hard to choose one for your forums.

If anyone needs more info or help to get started, please don't hesitate to post and i'll help where i can.

If you've uploaded your tabs to your site and are happy with them and want to show off :rolleyes: PM me with a link to your site and i'll add it to the Live Demo List to show other members what can be acheived.

Thanks Guys :)

eTiKeT?
01-07-2009, 03:54 PM
Thaks İnstalled :)

UKBusinessLive
01-07-2009, 04:13 PM
Your welcome :D

UKBusinessLive
01-17-2009, 09:14 PM
Changing individual Tab Font Colors

You can add some html markup between the <span> where the tab name is

Just change the first <Span> Value to

<span style="color:Green">


So your Menu Line would look something like this

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span style="color:Green">Forums Topsite</span></a></li>


https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/38.png

Hope that helps, just change the color Green, for a color of your choice

You could use a tab with a different color text to point to your Paypal Account and call it donations :confused: Worth a try ;)

:D

Cybershaolin
02-16-2009, 01:42 AM
I'm sorry but where do you put the file "Tab_menu1.html" on the forum? I don't see any mention of that in the instructions...

Also, what about if we want to have some of the menu items translated? We can't use phrases there?

UKBusinessLive
02-16-2009, 04:41 AM
I'm sorry but where do you put the file "Tab_menu1.html" on the forum? I don't see any mention of that in the instructions...

Also, what about if we want to have some of the menu items translated? We can't use phrases there?

You need to open the tab_menu1 file in a text processor like Notepad and make your changes to the menu links, otherwise you'll be linked back to my site, The menu links can be found at the end of the code, Also, don't forget the url of where your going to put the pictures need to be changed as per the instructions.

When you finished you Copy and paste the whole code to the end of your header, Thats it :D

Let me know how you got on ;) If your still stuck l'll help you later when i get home from work :D

Cybershaolin
02-16-2009, 04:18 PM
Hi, Thanks for your answer. I know I have to edit the html file but where to put it exactly?

In which header? Do you mean in the forumhome template or in the CSS Common styles header?

UKBusinessLive
02-16-2009, 04:19 PM
Hi, Thanks for your answer. I know I have to edit the html file but where to put it exactly?

In which header? Do you mean in the forumhome template or in the CSS Common styles header?

In the header template of the style your using :D

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/02/67.png

Cybershaolin
02-16-2009, 06:39 PM
OK, I got it Thanks, but I still have some issues!

1- It looks like it does not like another mod I have installed since a long time ago: Microstats: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=82900

See picture included (use the zip to see it full size).

Usually, the line appears only at the complete bottom of my home page but now it appears under the additions I made on my header with your hack! I have no idea why. I remove your code and that other line also disappear! Wow, no idea why!!

2- Still no answers how to translate the menu item. Can I use phrases?

3- Also, I tried you code for changing the color when my mouse goes over a menu item and it just does not work.

4- Finally, how to change the background color of the banner (which covers the whole width of the page under the tab buttons) to make it the same as my home page (like you see just above the banner, kind of grey-blue)? What settings must I change in your code?

UKBusinessLive
02-17-2009, 12:42 AM
OK, I got it Thanks, but I still have some issues!

1- It looks like it does not like another mod I have installed since a long time ago: Microstats: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=82900

See picture included (use the zip to see it full size).

Usually, the line appears only at the complete bottom of my home page but now it appears under the additions I made on my header with your hack! I have no idea why. I remove your code and that other line also disappear! Wow, no idea why!!

2- Still no answers how to translate the menu item. Can I use phrases?

3- Also, I tried you code for changing the color when my mouse goes over a menu item and it just does not work.

4- Finally, how to change the background color of the banner (which covers the whole width of the page under the tab buttons) to make it the same as my home page (like you see just above the banner, kind of grey-blue)? What settings must I change in your code?

OK,

It looks like your having some issues

If you PM me what tabs you want and the Url of where they want to go i will code for you Especially ;) A new super set of tabs that you can be proud of :up:

All i need from you Sir, is

The amount of tabs you want

Color or give me a link to your forum (A pm will do if you don't want to post it)

and the Url for each tab,

Also if you want any of the tabs to drop down and include anything else??

Do that for me and i'll do your tabs for you when i get home from work tommorrow :D

Not sure what you mean by "how to translate the menu item. Can I use phrases?"

Thanks :)

Cybershaolin
02-17-2009, 02:04 AM
PM sent.

P.S.: By menu items I mean the text inside the tabs... Like, if I put "Dons" (which is in French), I'd like to have those using the English version of my forum to see "Donations" instead of "Dons".

The way it is actually coded, I cannot do that, this is why I asked if vb usual phrases can be used.

UKBusinessLive
02-17-2009, 05:01 AM
PM sent.

P.S.: By menu items I mean the text inside the tabs... Like, if I put "Dons" (which is in French), I'd like to have those using the English version of my forum to see "Donations" instead of "Dons".

The way it is actually coded, I cannot do that, this is why I asked if vb usual phrases can be used.

As for the translation i'm not sure of that :confused: I've not had much dealings with VB phrases

let me know if you want me to word the menu in English or in French, The actual wording of the menus is written in HTML ?? so i can see the problem????


Thanks :D