Log in

View Full Version : Thread / Post Count - How To Hide It ?


IIAnDoII
12-07-2008, 06:23 PM
How do i hide the thread / post count on the main forum page.

I dont want members to view how many threads / post there is in one of my sections

http://e.imagehost.org/0555/Untitled-1.jpg

Lynne
12-07-2008, 06:54 PM
Here's a post on how to move those columns around. Just delete them instead - How To Change The Ordering Of The 'Last Post', 'Threads', And 'Posts' columns (http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=228622)

IIAnDoII
12-07-2008, 07:07 PM
thanks but i dont want to delete them i just want to hide it on mt VIP section i have sin it on many forums just dont know how to do it

ssslippy
12-07-2008, 07:17 PM
That is in the vboptions u can prevent people from seeing post count in a private forum.

Lynne
12-07-2008, 07:21 PM
Just put a condition around the content in the columns then.

<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, x,y)">
<!-- content only shown to members of usergroupid x or y -->
$thread[views]
<else />
-
</if>

IIAnDoII
12-07-2008, 07:55 PM
ok thanks for the tip lads will give it a shot now

IIAnDoII
12-13-2008, 09:12 PM
Lynne i couldent get this to work im not to good with codes can you tell me what template to add this to and were abouts

thanks

Lynne
12-13-2008, 09:32 PM
I don't know which templates. In order for you to figure out which templates, do this - vboptions > General Settings > Add Template Name in HTML Comments > set to Yes . Then go back to your page and view the source code and you will see the name of the template called around your part of the code.

Also, don't forget to change x,y to the usergroupids you wich to be able to see the thread views.

Dismounted
12-14-2008, 04:58 AM
One of the forumhome_forumbit_* templates (possibly level1_post).

IIAnDoII
12-14-2008, 12:34 PM
ok im probably realy anoying you all now but...

in the forumhome_forumbit_level1_post i found

<td class="alt1">$forum[threadcount]</td>
<td class="alt2">$forum[replycount]</td>

which am pritty sure that i need to add the condition before it

<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 6,7,5,11,10 )">
<!-- content only shown to members of usergroupid 6,7,5,11,10 -->
$forum[threadcount]
$forum[replycount]
<else />
-
</if>

is that correct and sorry to be a pain lads

Thanks for all the help

Lynne
12-14-2008, 04:32 PM
No, that is incorrect. You would want to do this:

<td class="alt1"><if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, x,y)">
<!-- content only shown to members of usergroupid x or y -->
$forum[threadcount]
<else />
-
</if></td>
<td class="alt2"><if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, x,y)">
<!-- content only shown to members of usergroupid x or y -->
$forum[replycount]
<else />
-
</if></td>

IIAnDoII
12-19-2008, 12:04 PM
Thanks for the help mate i got it working the template i had to edit was forumhome_forumbit_level2_post

But it hides the thread and post count for all sections is there another code i can add to just hide the post/thread count for a specific forum (just my VIP section)


Thanks for all your help i o you one


edit i have found out that the extra condition that i need to add is

<if condition="in_array($forum['forumid'], array(41,42,55,43,44,53,45)"></if>

I have tried adding it but it just hides the thread/post count for all the sections still got any other ideas

Lynne
12-19-2008, 03:02 PM
edit i have found out that the extra condition that i need to add is

<if condition="in_array($forum['forumid'], array(41,42,55,43,44,53,45)"></if>I have tried adding it but it just hides the thread/post count for all the sections still got any other ideas
You tried adding it how? Post exactly the code you tried.

IIAnDoII
12-19-2008, 03:40 PM
Thats the code i added

<td class="alt1"><if condition="in_array($forum['forumid'], array(41,42,55,43,44,53,45)"></if><if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 6,7,5,10,11)">$forum[threadcount]</td><else />
</if></td>
<td class="alt2"><if condition="in_array($forum['forumid'], array(41,42,55,43,44,53,45)"></if><if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 6,7,5,10,11)">$forum[replycount]</td><else />
</if></td>


But i get this error

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ';' in /home/iiandoii/public_html/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3772) : eval()'d code on line 21


Thanks

Lynne
12-19-2008, 03:52 PM
Count your beginning and ending parenthesis, they need to be equal:
<if condition="in_array($forum['forumid'], array(41,42,55,43,44,53,45))">not

<if condition="in_array($forum['forumid'], array(41,42,55,43,44,53,45)">


But, why are you even doing that condition when you end it right after you do it? It's a 'blank' condition, so why put it in? Just put in the other (but make sure the parenthesis add up, as I said).

IIAnDoII
12-19-2008, 04:10 PM
Ok il give it a shot

But, why are you even doing that condition

well my first condition i used was

<td class="alt1"><if condition="$forum[forumid] == 41"></if><if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 6,7,5,10,11)">$forum[threadcount]</td><else />
</if></td>
<td class="alt2"><if condition="$forum[forumid] == 41"></if><if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 6,7,5,10,11)">$forum[replycount]</td><else />
</if></td>

which just hide the thread/post count for all the sections and i only wanted to hide it for 5 of my sections so i started playing around with conditions but im to good at code's so i dident know i was adding a blank condition if you get me

SEOvB
12-19-2008, 04:29 PM
your first condition is closed without anything in it, so it isn't serving any purpose

<if condition="$forum[forumid] == 41"></if>

IIAnDoII
12-19-2008, 04:59 PM
My head is fried....... Thanks for all the helps lads but im just guna leave it untill i get the hang of this coding stuff

I just dont understand it, Thanks again