PDA

View Full Version : Board Optimization - ٍStatic (Fixed) Header and Footer


abdobasha2004
11-13-2008, 10:00 PM
Features :
Do you want your header and footer be static and do not change while user browsing your forum, try this simple code
Code :
<div style=" overflow: auto; ">

Any part you want to be static

</div>


update by WNxWakko
IE works flawless. FireFox however doesn't like it so much and may be the reason some say it doesn't work. They are using Firefox.

Another issue I found was that i used this surrounding a table in my header and in Firefox is distorted my header. So i get performance boost in IE and not in FF with a bug in FF that prevents me from using this.

So I put this as a fix and wanted to share with others if they experienced Firefox bugs because it resolved my issue.

Code:

<!--[if IE]>
<div style=" overflow: auto; "><![endif]-->
Your header or footer
<!--[if IE]></div><![endif]-->

Even though FF users wont get the benefit directly, the load reduction on the server from IE users will spread the wealth to FF users.


change " Any part you want to be static" with your header of footer code
also could be applied to any template to be static while browsing

Forum Lover
11-14-2008, 02:57 PM
Now, what is that STATIC thing?

guvner
11-14-2008, 04:55 PM
Now, what is that STATIC thing?Had the same question, but since I've had to endure quite slow re-draws of my (multi-sliced) header for many months - this little gem appears to have eliminated the problem in an instant!

I've had quite a few members complaining about the re-draw issue and apart from suggesting Firefox, Chrome or even IE8 over IE6 & 7, there didn't seem to be anything I could do to solve it.

So for my forum at least, this has made tremendous difference to the forum load time so to abdobasha2004, many thanks for this tip - excellent result!

Mike :)

abdobasha2004
11-14-2008, 08:09 PM
static is not to reload all page parts during browsing
you are welcome guvner

lazydesis
11-14-2008, 09:50 PM
i dont see it .. the entire page (including header) loads again when i click on any links .. its same even in ur demo

can u explain better? thanks.

EDIT: I am using IE7

Forum Lover
11-14-2008, 10:52 PM
static is not to reload all page parts during browsing
you are welcome guvner

If so, clicked Installed. :)

Magnumutz
11-14-2008, 11:10 PM
I still don't get it...

n95gps
11-14-2008, 11:50 PM
its not working

i went and i placed my header into your code

and when clicking on any part of the forum the whole page RELOAD

hmm

is this static!!!

abdobasha2004
11-15-2008, 06:58 AM
for all people who did not manage to do it
I can not explain
others have seen the difference
I put the same topic on another forum
about 3 said it worked
and 2 said it did not

It worked for me

WNxWakko
11-15-2008, 05:05 PM
I implemented this code bit. Very nice find indeed.

I did find some issues. IE works flawless. FireFox however doesn't like it so much and may be the reason some say it doesn't work. They are using Firefox.

Another issue I found was that i used this surrounding a table in my header and in Firefox is distorted my header. So i get performance boost in IE and not in FF with a bug in FF that prevents me from using this.

So I put this as a fix and wanted to share with others if they experienced Firefox bugs because it resolved my issue.

<!--[if IE]>
<div style=" overflow: auto; "><![endif]-->
Your header or footer
<!--[if IE]></div><![endif]-->

Even though FF users wont get the benefit directly, the load reduction on the server from IE users will spread the wealth to FF users.

n95gps
11-15-2008, 08:05 PM
you can not explain??!!!

how come

why does it say supported on TOP??

PremierFootball
11-16-2008, 08:51 AM
you can not explain??!!!

how come

why does it say supported on TOP??


Just because it says 'supported' that does not mean he can answer everything. :rolleyes:

n95gps
11-16-2008, 03:20 PM
Just because it says 'supported' that does not mean he can answer everything. :rolleyes:

doesn't mean he can answer everything ????

hmm

looking at the thread there is only one question

and he said he will not help..


i can put here any code and if it doesnt work i will be like i am not going to help anyone here

we need good threads that can be supported not something that only works once!!!

gothicuser
11-16-2008, 03:33 PM
Gotta admit that having implemented it on three of my forums all I have had are good reports from my punters.
Seems to work perfectly for FF and IE*

Great stuff, thankyou

abdobasha2004
11-17-2008, 12:18 PM
I think it is very obvious some worked well with them
others did not
others who did not plz try modification done by WNxWakko (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=1666300&postcount=10)
And thank you very much WNxWakko

myown
11-20-2008, 06:10 AM
will be looking into this mod.

Kihon Kata
11-20-2008, 12:16 PM
Installed. Seems to really increase load times for me. One question tho. Do we use BOTH codes? When I say, both, I mean WNxWakko's and abdobasha2004's? Or we do just use one.

I don't see much difference between the two anyhow.

WNxWakko
11-20-2008, 12:36 PM
Installed. Seems to really increase load times for me. One question tho. Do we use BOTH codes? When I say, both, I mean WNxWakko's and abdobasha2004's? Or we do just use one.

I don't see much difference between the two anyhow.



The code bit that I presented should only be used if you have issues in browsers other than IE. In my case, my forum header is a liquid table with some fixed cells and each cell has a flash file. So in FireFox, it has some strange behavior. Adding my code made this work only for IE users since FF users would have issues. In my case using this mod reduced the load for 50% of my traffic which is better than none at all.

Great mod.

Kihon Kata
11-20-2008, 01:22 PM
Mine is also a Liquid table (100%). I have installed both codes, one at a time, and don't see any difference on FF or IE between the two. I do see a noticable difference using this mod, tho.

Can you look here (http://www.makeuptalk.com/forums/) and let me know which one to use?

The code bit that I presented should only be used if you have issues in browsers other than IE. In my case, my forum header is a liquid table with some fixed cells and each cell has a flash file. So in FireFox, it has some strange behavior. Adding my code made this work only for IE users since FF users would have issues. In my case using this mod reduced the load for 50% of my traffic which is better than none at all.

Great mod.

Kihon Kata
11-20-2008, 01:53 PM
Another Question: How would I implement this into NON vb pages? I tried to set it up just like I did on VB Pages, but it's not working the same. Do I have to add a special part into the css using the overflow style?

Thelonius Beck
11-25-2008, 09:03 PM
Great idea man. And your original code works well for me in all browsers.

For those who still don't 'get it'; It makes it so your header (or what ever you choose to wrap the code around) does not reload when you change pages. It only loads once for your entire visit.