Log in

View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Better Postbit Template


Boosted Panda
10-24-2008, 10:00 PM
What does this do? Well it will fix that annoying lopsided postbit right template area and make it nice and neat!

First:
You will need to add a CSS variable in the additional CSS Definitons area in Styles - All Style Options - Scroll Down

Add this definition:

.postbittop {
background-color:#FFFFFF;
color: #000000;
padding:7px 7px 7px 7px;
border: 1px dotted #E0E0E0;
width: 292px;
}
Note these settings can be changed and adjusted to suit your needs

Next:
Find
<td width="100%">&nbsp;</td>
<td valign="top" nowrap="nowrap">Directly Underneath Add
<div class="smallfont">
<div class="postbittop" align="right">
The align="right" will align your text inside the box. So change this accordingly.

Vindictive
10-26-2008, 03:11 AM
i like it, installed.

Boosted Panda
10-26-2008, 06:19 AM
Also remember you can change the style of the border to a fieldset as well.


<fieldset class="fieldset">

Ohiosweetheart
10-26-2008, 07:09 PM
That looks very nice.

YsTyle
10-26-2008, 08:30 PM
installed, thanks :)

Boosted Panda
10-26-2008, 08:39 PM
Thanks YsTyle hope you like it!

albibak
11-08-2008, 12:00 PM
When I modify the postbit template I have a vBulletin message:


The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

The conditional on line 231 appears to be missing its beginning tag (<if>). This may cause unexpected behavior.


This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It is highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.


Line 231

$template_hook[postbit_controls]

Valyx
11-11-2008, 01:50 AM
love it, installed on 3.7.4.

Vicros
11-15-2008, 01:18 AM
where do i find that php code at?..i have looked everywhere lol..i guess im blind with 20/20 vision lol..

Digital Jedi
11-15-2008, 02:31 AM
where do i find that php code at?..i have looked everywhere lol..i guess im blind with 20/20 vision lol..

In your postbit template?

Vicros
11-15-2008, 11:06 PM
awesome thanks..lol..works great

Boosted Panda
12-30-2008, 06:42 PM
No Problem!

Adam21
01-03-2009, 05:07 AM
No Problem!

Could u share your site's postbit_legacy template too pls?

Digital Jedi
01-03-2009, 05:52 AM
Who are you talking to, and what difference are you thinking that would make?

Boosted Panda
01-03-2009, 05:53 PM
Could u share your site's postbit_legacy template too pls?


It's heavily modified Ill try and put a write up together. I am in the middle of redoing my site.

mikeinjersey
01-11-2009, 11:07 PM
By doing this, does it add that "Mashimaro is testing Edit" status part as well ? Or is that seperate somewhere else ?

Digital Jedi
01-12-2009, 12:05 AM
By doing this, does it add that "Mashimaro is testing Edit" status part as well ? Or is that seperate somewhere else ?
That's part of a different modification that adds Status Updates. I believe it's the FaceBook Status mod.

mikeinjersey
01-12-2009, 01:43 AM
That's part of a different modification that adds Status Updates. I believe it's the FaceBook Status mod.

ohh ok, thanks.

I thought it used the vbulletin "who is online" parameters....like the part where it tells what each person is doing at the moment. "Jack is viewing so-and-so thread".

That would be really cool to have up there...Have you seen any mod that has it ? I think it would be really popular.

We'd have to configure usergroup permissions for it too.

Digital Jedi
01-12-2009, 04:34 AM
You should be able to find it by doing a Title's Only search. Probably FaceBook or Online Status.

mikeinjersey
01-12-2009, 02:21 PM
You should be able to find it by doing a Title's Only search. Probably FaceBook or Online Status.

I cant find one out there..

It would probably be very popular if some Coder made the mod. It looks very convenient up there in postbit.

Digital Jedi
01-13-2009, 09:01 AM
I cant find one out there..

It would probably be very popular if some Coder made the mod. It looks very convenient up there in postbit.
What I'm saying is, we have one. Just do a Titles Only Search for FaceBook Status and it will be at the top of the list. It's a 3.7 add on.

Rene Kriest
01-15-2009, 02:07 AM
The addon is called vbstatus: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/search.php?searchid=11175906

Back to the main topic:
Your code and also the example picture was very inspiring - it's the simple things that make the difference.

One question: what about the missing 2 closing tags:
</div>
</div>
Where do you put them? and why didn't you mention them even in your previous addon version?

Emrah Kaya
01-16-2009, 05:38 PM
Very Nice.
Installed.

Boosted Panda
02-11-2009, 07:00 PM
Don't forget you could also do things like put the signature in this box, or xbox live gamercard by inserting the code inside the div.

itsheinz
02-16-2009, 04:46 PM
can you tell me where is this past?
<td width="100%">&nbsp;</td>
<td valign="top" nowrap="nowrap">

star88
02-26-2009, 11:15 AM
One question: what about the missing 2 closing tags:
</div>
</div>
Where do you put them? and why didn't you mention them even in your previous addon version?


For example:

In the postbit template, find:

<div class="smallfont">
<if condition="$post['joindate']"><div>$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['field2']"><div>$vbphrase[location_perm]: $post[field2]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['age']"><div>$vbphrase[age]: $post[age]</div></if>
<div>
$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]
</div>
$template_hook[postbit_userinfo_right_after_posts]
<if condition="$show['infraction']"><div>$vbphrase[infractions]: $post[warnings]/$post[infractions] ($post[ipoints])</div></if>
<if condition="$show['reputation']"><if condition="$show['reppower']">$vbphrase[reppower]: <span id="reppower_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reppower]</span> </if><div><span id="repdisplay_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reputationdisplay]</span></div></if>
$template_hook[postbit_userinfo_right]
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]</div>
</div>



replace by:

<div class="smallfont">
<div class="postbittop" align="right">
<if condition="$post['joindate']"><div>$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['field2']"><div>$vbphrase[location_perm]: $post[field2]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['age']"><div>$vbphrase[age]: $post[age]</div></if>
<div>
$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]
</div>
$template_hook[postbit_userinfo_right_after_posts]
<if condition="$show['infraction']"><div>$vbphrase[infractions]: $post[warnings]/$post[infractions] ($post[ipoints])</div></if>
<if condition="$show['reputation']"><if condition="$show['reppower']">$vbphrase[reppower]: <span id="reppower_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reppower]</span> </if><div><span id="repdisplay_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reputationdisplay]</span></div></if>
$template_hook[postbit_userinfo_right]
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]</div>
</div>
</div>

Boosted Panda
03-27-2009, 06:57 PM
Just wanted to throw a screenie of my new Postbit utilizing this mod.

HighRollerX
04-30-2009, 11:15 PM
How do I change my font to be like the font in the second screen shot? Is that Verenda?

Boosted Panda
05-02-2009, 09:23 PM
Make Veranda your first font.

Boosted Panda
05-14-2009, 01:24 AM
If anyone needs help let me know :)

dancue
05-27-2009, 10:32 PM
Boosted Panda,
You mentioned on another post that you were successful at placing the dynamic tabs within the postbit template.

How were you able to do that? I have the tabs showing, but anytime I click on a tab it will go back up to the top of the page.

Carlos-Sz
05-29-2009, 06:11 AM
And what's the better approach if I want to fill the entire postbit with a different color (I don't want to use alternate colors by the way)?

Thank you in advance.

Boosted Panda
06-03-2009, 07:08 PM
Make the .alt1 and.alt2 the same.

JasonReynolds
12-05-2009, 09:47 AM
this messed up mine.

COL NIL SATIS
12-06-2009, 12:54 PM
tried this exactly as you said but my postbit looks exactly the same??

COL NIL SATIS
12-06-2009, 12:56 PM
does this work on 3.8.4??

Silmarillion
06-02-2010, 11:56 AM
How to change this to the left side? (around nickname, avatar etc.)