Log in

View Full Version : Moderating


PGAmerica
10-14-2008, 10:26 PM
I am looking for a 3.7.xx mod that will allow posts that need to be moderated to stand out boldly from the other posts. Something like a transparent gif over the top of the post that says "Moderation Required" or a change of color or a big bold statement that lets us know that this post needs to be moderated and cannot currently be seen by the masses.

As it stands, an unmoderated post looks just like all the other posts, except their is no post #.

I have seen mods that help with the moderation queue and mods that make moderation easier to deal with, but nothing on this level.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Lynne
10-15-2008, 01:15 AM
I think you can simply edit the postbit template. Find these lines:
<if condition="$show['moderated']">
<td class="alt2" id="td_post_$post[postid]">
<else />
<td class="alt1" id="td_post_$post[postid]">
</if> And change it to something like:
<if condition="$show['moderated']">
<td style="background-color:yellow;" id="td_post_$post[postid]">
<else />
<td class="alt1" id="td_post_$post[postid]">
</if> yellow is probably a bit, um...., strong, so you may want to pick another color. Or, instead of that you could go:

<if condition="$show['moderated']">
<td class="alt2" id="td_post_$post[postid]">
<div style="color:red; font-weight:bold;">This post is moderated.</div>
<else />
<td class="alt1" id="td_post_$post[postid]">
</if> Or whatever you want.

PGAmerica
10-15-2008, 11:38 PM
Works perfectly. Thank you

Nakadai
10-23-2008, 11:56 PM
Doesn't seem to work for me.... hmm.

Lynne
10-24-2008, 02:38 AM
Doesn't seem to work for me.... hmm.
If you need help, you need to post exactly what you've done. Also, don't forget that you need to do it for whichever postbit you use - postbit or postbit_legacy - or both.

Nakadai
10-24-2008, 08:33 AM
Sorry for my vagueness.

edit the postbit template. Find these lines:
<if condition="$show['moderated']">
<td class="alt2" id="td_post_$post[postid]">
<else />
<td class="alt1" id="td_post_$post[postid]">
</if> And change it to something like:
<if condition="$show['moderated']">
<td style="background-color:yellow;" id="td_post_$post[postid]">
<else />
<td class="alt1" id="td_post_$post[postid]">
</if>

I did exactly the above to no avail. Once I tried it on the postbit legacy though, it worked great.

Thanks for the help!

Meestor_X
12-25-2010, 07:53 PM
Just what I need, but for 3.6.3. Could someone suggest what to edit in Posbit/Postbit Legacy in 3.6.3?

Sorry, I realized that it is the same for Postbit Legacy.

Postbit does not have that same <if statement.

It only has:<if condition="$show['moderated']">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/moderated.gif" alt="$vbphrase[moderated_post]" border="0" />
</if>How should Postbit be modified?

BirdOPrey5
12-26-2010, 01:07 AM
You could add this condition anywhere in postbit, probably best right before the code: $template_hook[postbit_signature_start]

Something like:

<if condition="$show['moderated']">
<span style="color:red;"><strong>This post must be moderated!!!</strong></span>
</if>


Basically you can put that condition anywhere in postbit and it will make the post stand out.

Meestor_X
12-26-2010, 06:42 AM
Thanks for your help! Got something that works well now.

Bluemax712
01-27-2011, 07:45 PM
ok - yes I'm an idiot noob who only occasionally gets to manage Vbulletin

I'm looking to implement this in Vb 4.07 but not sure where to add the code
in order to highlight Awaiting Moderation posts in bold

So starting from the admincp
Styles & Templates > Style Manager > vB4 Default Style > Edit Templates > Go

Scroll down to Postbit Templates > doubleclick "postbit"
which will bring up Customize Template:postbit

Am I close? and if so or if not ... where do I add the code?

BirdOPrey5
01-27-2011, 08:29 PM
ok - yes I'm an idiot noob who only occasionally gets to manage Vbulletin

I'm looking to implement this in Vb 4.07 but not sure where to add the code
in order to highlight Awaiting Moderation posts in bold

So starting from the admincp
Styles & Templates > Style Manager > vB4 Default Style > Edit Templates > Go

Scroll down to Postbit Templates > doubleclick "postbit"
which will bring up Customize Template:postbit

Am I close? and if so or if not ... where do I add the code?

You're close but you're using vBulletin 4.x so it's a little different.
In the template look for the line:

{vb:raw post.message}


and right above or below that line add these new lines:

<vb:if condition="$show['moderated']">
<br />
<span style="color:red;"><strong>This post must be moderated!!!</strong></span>
<br />
</vb:if>


If you put it above the message will show up on top of the post, if you put it below it will show up under the post message, right above the signature, if any.

Bluemax712
01-27-2011, 08:52 PM
Thanx for the quick reply .:) ...

I get an error trying to add it right above the line with {vb:raw post.message}
Here's my current section before adding it:

<div class="content<vb:if condition="$show['first_ad'] OR $show['last_ad']"> hasad</vb:if>">
<div id="post_message_{vb:raw post.postid}">
<blockquote class="postcontent restore">
{vb:raw post.message}
</blockquote>
</div>

BirdOPrey5
01-27-2011, 09:00 PM
You seem to have a custom style but I don't know why that would stop this from working. I did it myself and it worked fine... Basically you want to make those lines into this:


<div class="content<vb:if condition="$show['first_ad'] OR $show['last_ad']"> hasad</vb:if>">
<div id="post_message_{vb:raw post.postid}">
<blockquote class="postcontent restore">
<vb:if condition="$show['moderated']">
<br />
<span style="color:red;"><strong>This post must be moderated!!!</strong></span>
<br />
</vb:if>
{vb:raw post.message}
</blockquote>
</div>


If you still get the error can you copy and paste in the exact error?

Bluemax712
01-27-2011, 09:19 PM
woohoo - ok - it worked the second time for some reason - no error
but currently only have one moderated "thread" vs a moderated "post"

It isn't highlighted in red though
would making these changes only affect "posts" and not new moderated "threads"?

Edit: FYI ...I put it above the line {vb:raw post.message} and seemed to have no affect
though the thread while still Awaiting Moderation was already present before making the change
so maybe it only affects new messages made after the change?

BirdOPrey5
01-27-2011, 09:34 PM
That is correct, this is only for moderated posts. If you wan to see it in threads it looks like you have to edit the threadbit template, you can use the same code but you'll have to figure out the best place to put it.

Bluemax712
01-27-2011, 09:41 PM
damn - you expect me to actually figure something out on my own - lol
Thanks much for the help ...will post back if it all works in the end :)

BirdOPrey5
01-27-2011, 10:42 PM
damn - you expect me to actually figure something out on my own - lol
Thanks much for the help ...will post back if it all works in the end :)

It's a constant struggle to provide just as much help as I think someone needs to figure it for themselves so they can learn something along the way and one day be in a position to help others.

It's a "teach a man to fish" scenario over here. :)

diddy29
01-30-2013, 05:27 AM
Thanks for this! :)

fworth
02-01-2013, 09:23 PM
I'm looking to implement this in Vb 4.2 and can't find the code {vb:raw post.message}
in order to highlight Awaiting Moderation posts in bold, too. Please help!

BirdOPrey5
02-02-2013, 11:00 AM
{vb:raw post.message} is most definitely in VB 4.2.0 postbit and postbit_legacy template. Use your browser's "Find on page" feature if you are missing it with your eyes.

fworth
02-02-2013, 04:43 PM
Thanks I found it!!