PDA

View Full Version : News ticker from RSS feeds?


Stryker412
07-14-2008, 07:11 PM
Anyone know of a mod that will allow a news ticker to stream on the forum home that will display feeds from any RSS source?

SLR722
07-14-2008, 08:08 PM
1. Copy http://yourforum.com/external.php?type=rss2
2. Use RSStoHTML or RSStoPHP and make <maquee> with it or PHP include it

Stryker412
07-14-2008, 09:14 PM
A little slower for the php challenged? :)

SLR722
07-14-2008, 09:44 PM
OK.. do you want to display a News Ticker for all the RSS Feed or for a particular forum? category?


Download RSSTOHTML (http://www.feedforall.com/download/rss2html.zip)
Upload rss2html.php and FeedForAll_XMLParser.inc.php to the root (http://www.forum.com/) or (/public_html/).
DOUBLE CHECK, they should be in the root so they can be called like http://www.forum.com/rss2html.php
Create a new file called "vBMarquee.html", contents of the file are below..
Now try going to http://www.forum.com/rss2html.php?XMLFILE=http://www.forum.com/external.php?type=rss2&TEMPLATE=vBMarquee.html&MAXITEMS=10
OK its looking good but nothings moving and it looks a mess? Great
Go to AdminCP - > Style Manager - > FORUMHOME - > Add after headerinclude a PHP include or a SHTML Virtual include.
If your still lost try the code below



<?php
/*
IN FORUMHOME CODE
*/
include("/root/path/to/copy/paste/from/cpanel/public_html/rss2html.php?XMLFILE=http://www.forum.com/external.php?type=rss2&TEMPLATE=vBMarquee.html&MAXITEMS=10");

echo "";

// Note use a include rather than require

?>



vBMarquee.html source:


<HTML>
<HEAD>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=utf-8">
<TITLE>
~~~FeedTitle~~~ vBulletin News Ticker using RSSTOHTML
</TITLE>
</HEAD>
<BODY>
<!--
<H1>~~~FeedTitle~~~</H1>
<H2>~~~FeedDescription~~~</H2>
<MARQUEE>
//-->
<MARQUEE>
~~~BeginItemsRecord~~~ ~~~ItemPubShortDate~~~ > ~~~ItemPubShortTime~~~ ><B><A href="~~~ItemLink~~~">~~~ItemTitle~~~</A></B> (~~~ItemDescription~~~) ~~~EndItemsRecord~~~
</MARQUEE>
<!--
</MARQUEE>
<H1>~~~FeedTitle~~~</H1>
<H2>~~~FeedDescription~~~</H2>
//-->
</BODY>
</HTML>




This was just at the top of my head..please tell us if its OK.

SLR722 :)

Stryker412
07-14-2008, 11:46 PM
I want to display the RSS feed from another news website, but in my forum home.

davidw
07-15-2008, 12:33 AM
<cough>News Ticker (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=167061)</cough>

nexialys
07-15-2008, 01:45 AM
you catched a cough David ?!... how bad, we will have to ask Danny. to play the nurse again...

tssss

SLR722
07-15-2008, 07:39 AM
Hey

You can still use my suggestion above. And you can display feeds from anywhere. Nice hack. Although I thought this user had actually searched the forum, Google vB.com and even the thread recommendations query..

:)

Stryker412
07-15-2008, 12:17 PM
<cough>News Ticker (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=167061)</cough>

Crap sorry, yes that's what I'm looking for. I saw this earlier but I thought it was just for forum messages/posts. My apologies.

davidw
07-15-2008, 12:26 PM
No problem - someone else had the same requst, so I just made it a feature.

Stryker412
07-15-2008, 12:37 PM
Question if I may? I have it set up on the old style so I can test.

http://www.shatteredplanet.org/forum/index.php (change to default not disturbed)

The ticker is being cut off. Also, I am able to get forum news to show in the ticker but how do I set up and external source?

Edit: Nevermind, I got it. I didn't know the XML from inside the RSS folder had to be used.

davidw
07-15-2008, 12:49 PM
The ticker has height adjustment options in the admincp (also, you can edit the template too).

Stryker412
07-15-2008, 01:07 PM
Thanks davidw, it works great! One last question, for some reason on my one forum skin it seems to stutter a little when scrolling. Any idea why?

I've added it to my default skin so it should show up now going to our page.