Log in

View Full Version : change database connection using plugin on runtime


freeones_raymon
06-26-2008, 12:14 PM
Hello,

While developing a plugin for vBulletin I found myself needing a database connection to another database on another database server. I thought that I could just intialialize a new connection using $vbulletin->db->connect($db, $host, $port, $user, $pass), but this is not working for me:

MySQL Error: mysqli_real_connect() [<a href='function.mysqli-real-connect'>function.mysqli-real-connect</a>]: (HY000/2002): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/tmp/mysql.sock' (2)
/includes/class_core.php on line 1134

It is not supposed to use a socket, but a connection using the host and port. How can I solve this, or how can I (temporarely) switch the vBulletin database connection in another way?

Best regards,
Raymond

Dismounted
06-26-2008, 12:39 PM
I don't think you can do that, as the function probably assigns a variable that holds the link. You're effectively overwriting that link using that function.

I suggest maybe creating a script that outputs the data you want on the other server?

Marco van Herwaarden
06-26-2008, 02:08 PM
Are both servers that hold the databases compiled with MySQLi?

freeones_raymon
06-27-2008, 04:49 AM
I already found the answer myself :)
I just created a new vBulletin database handler just like init.php and used that handler to connect to other database while the original database handler is untouched!

Thanks,
Raymond