PDA

View Full Version : Can I use an SSL Certificate with vBulletin?


fearfx
06-23-2008, 02:18 PM
I was wondering, If I had a SSL Certificate installed on my server, how could
I configure vBulletin to use the SSL when loging in and registering and purchasing using vBulletin's Paid Subscriptions? Can this be done?

Thanks for the help!

ssslippy
06-23-2008, 08:48 PM
If you are using vbulletins built in subscript services no actually purchases are made on the server, they are all done from the payment service which have their own SSL certificates.

fearfx
06-25-2008, 02:05 PM
What do you mean by that? So If I setup a paid subscription, your saying there's no way I can use an ssl?

Alfa1
06-25-2008, 02:17 PM
Generate a SSL certificate and move your files to you https:// directory
Edit your config file.

Your entire forum will then be accessible through SSL.

zagman76
09-10-2008, 02:05 AM
Generate a SSL certificate and move your files to you https:// directory
Edit your config file.

Your entire forum will then be accessible through SSL.

Where is the https:// directory located? :rolleyes:

---

In Apache (if using apache) - in your config file, you will need something similar to this:


NameVirtualHost YOUR IP ADDRESS:443

<VirtualHost YOUR IP ADDRESS:443>
ServerAlias www.YOURDOMAIN.com YOURDOMAIN.com
ServerAdmin AS IT APPLIES TO YOU
DocumentRoot /path/to/your/public_html
ServerName www.YOURDOMAIN.com
DirectoryIndex index.html index.php
<Directory "/path/to/your/home/folder">
AllowOverride All
allow from all
Options +Indexes
</Directory>
SSLEngine on
SSLCertificateFile /path/to/your/private/key/server.crt
SSLCertificateKeyFile /path/to/your/certificate/server.key
</VirtualHost>