PDA

View Full Version : Forum Display Enhancements - QuickTab


M-Tuning
05-28-2008, 10:00 PM
Info:
I wanted a nice dropdown menu with a login form and if you have logged in there are QuickLinks.
I used mootools (http://www.mootools.net/) for it, works really good.
All texts are phrased, so when you install it it's in the language of your board.
Just download and install if you like it :D

Demo:
Here's a demo for you of how it works: Demo here (http://www.psp-media.nl/demo/demo.htm)


Installation:
1. Download QuickTab.zip (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=81432&stc=1&d=1212052802) and upload the tab file in your forum directory.

2. In the headinclude template find

<!-- / CSS Stylesheet -->And add below:

<link href="tab/tabstyle.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<link href="tab/tab.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script type="text/javascript" src="tab/mootools.v1.00.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="tab/tabset.js"></script>3. After that add on top of the header template:


<if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] != 1">

<div id="fxContainer">
<div id="fxTarget">
<div id="fxPadding" class="wrapper">
<div class="moduletable">
<h3>$vbphrase[quick_links]:</h3>
<form>
<div class="loginelement">
<a href="usercp.php">$vbphrase[user_cp]</a> </div>
<div class="loginelement">
<a href="search.php?do=getnew">$vbphrase[new_posts]</a>
</div>
<div class="loginelement">
<a href="search.php">$vbphrase[advanced_search]</a>
</div>
<div class="loginelement">
<a href="forumdisplay.php?do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a>
</div>
<div class="loginelement">
<a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onclick="return log_out('$vbphrase[sure_you_want_to_log_out]')">
$vbphrase[log_out]</a> </div>
</form>
</div>
</div>
</div>
<div id="fxShadow">
</div>
<div id="fxTab">
<span id="fxTrigger">&nbsp;</span> </div>
</div>
<else />


<div id="fxContainer">
<div id="fxTarget">
<div id="fxPadding" class="wrapper">
<div class="moduletable">
<form action="login.php?do=login" method="post" onsubmit="md5hash(vb_login_password, vb_login_md5password, vb_login_md5password_utf, $show[nopasswordempty])">
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="login" />
<input type="hidden" name="url" value="/" />
<input type="hidden" name="vb_login_md5password" />
<input type="hidden" name="vb_login_md5password_utf" />
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
$vbphrase[username]<label>:<input name="vb_login_username" type="text" id="login" tabindex="1" class="bginput" accesskey="u" /></label>
$vbphrase[password]<label>:<input name="vb_login_password" type="password" id="password" tabindex="1" class="bginput" /></label>
<label>$vbphrase[remember_me]<input type="checkbox" name="cookieuser" value="1" id="cb_cookieuser" tabindex="1" /></label>
<input name="submit" type="submit" id="submit" tabindex="1" value="$vbphrase[log_in]" accesskey="s" class="button" />
</form>
</div>
</div>
</div>
<div id="fxShadow">
</div>
<div id="fxTab">
<span id="fxTrigger">&nbsp;</span> </div>
</div>
</if>
To change the tab text:
Go to /tab/tabset.js to change the Open Menu > Close Menu text.
All other texts are vBulletin phrases.

To change the color of the tab:
Change fx-tab.png with photoshop or a similar program that handles transparent png's to the color you want.

After you've done that you have to change the following:

Find in tab.css:

#fxTarget {
background: #3e5a7d;
And change #3e5a7d to the colorcode you want the tab to be.

Alternate QuickTab:
You can find an alternative layout here (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=1534866&postcount=2)

Versions:
v1.0 - May 29. 2008.
-First release


Please click INSTALL if you like this hack.

M-Tuning
05-29-2008, 09:17 AM
Here's an alternate QuickTab layout:

Use this code instead of the code in step 3.


3. After that add on top of the header template:


<if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] != 1">

<div id="fxContainer">
<div id="fxTarget">
<div id="fxPadding" class="wrapper">
<div class="moduletable">
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px">
<tr align="center">

<td>
<a href="usercp.php">$vbphrase[user_cp]</a>
</td>

<td id="pmmenu">
<a href="$show[nojs_link]#pmmenu" accesskey="3">$vbphrase[private_messages]</a>
<script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("pmmenu"); </script>
</td>

<td id="myprofile">
<a href="$show[nojs_link]#myprofile" accesskey="3">$vbphrase[my_profile]</a>
<script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("myprofile"); </script>
</td>

<td id="mynetwork">
<a href="$show[nojs_link]#mynetwork" accesskey="3">$vbphrase[networking]</a>
<script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("mynetwork"); </script>
</td>

<td>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a>
</td>

<td>
<a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onclick="return log_out('$vbphrase[sure_you_want_to_log_out]')">$vbphrase[log_out]</a>
</td>

</tr>
</table>
</div>
</div>
</div>
<div id="fxShadow">
</div>
<div id="fxTab">
<span id="fxTrigger">&nbsp;</span>
</div>
</div>

<else />

<div id="fxContainer">
<div id="fxTarget">
<div id="fxPadding" class="wrapper">
<div class="moduletable">
<table align="center" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>

<td valign="top" align="left" style="border:0px;" width="50%">
<div class="loginelement">
<a href="register.php">$vbphrase[register]</a>
</div>
</td>

<td valign="top" align="left" style="border:0px;" width="50%">
<div class="loginelement">
<a href="/">Homepage</a>
</div>
</td>

</tr>
</table>
</div>
</div>
</div>
<div id="fxShadow">
</div>
<div id="fxTab">
<span id="fxTrigger">&nbsp;</span>
</div>
</div>

</if>

<!-- pm menu -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="pmmenu_menu" style="display:none" align="$stylevar[center]">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">

<if condition="$show['pmmainlink']">
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="private.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[inbox]</a>
</td>
</tr>
</if>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="private.php?&pp=&folderid=-1">$vbphrase[sent_items]</a>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="private.php?do=newpm">$vbphrase[post_new_private_message]</a>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="private.php?do=editfolders">$vbphrase[your_folders]</a>
</td>
</tr>

</table>
</div>
<!-- /pm menu -->


<!-- my profile menu -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="myprofile_menu" style="display:none" align="$stylevar[center]">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$bbuserinfo[userid]">$vbphrase[your_profile]</a>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editprofile">$vbphrase[edit_your_details]</a>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editoptions">$vbphrase[edit_options]</a>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=customize">$vbphrase[customize_profile]</a>
</td>
</tr>
<if condition="$show['profilepiclink']">
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editprofilepic">$vbphrase[edit_profile_picture]</a>
</td>
</tr>
</if>
<if condition="$show['avatarlink']">
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editavatar">$vbphrase[edit_avatar]</a>
</td>
</tr>
</if>
<if condition="$show['siglink']">
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editsignature">$vbphrase[edit_signature]</a>
</td>
</tr>
</if>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editpassword">$vbphrase[edit_email_and_password]</a>
</td>
</tr>

</table>
</div>
<!-- /my profile menu -->

<!-- my network menu -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="mynetwork_menu" style="display:none" align="$stylevar[center]">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist"><if condition="$show['friends_and_contacts']">$vbphrase[contacts_and_friends]<else />$vbphrase[contacts]</if></a>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="group.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[social_groups]</a>
</td>
</tr>
<if condition="$show['publicgroups']">
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editusergroups">$vbphrase[group_memberships]</a>
</td>
</tr>
</if>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="album.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$bbuserinfo[userid]">$vbphrase[pictures_and_albums]</a>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option">
<a href="album.php?$session[sessionurl]do=addalbum">$vbphrase[add_album]</a>
</td>
</tr>

</table>
</div>
<!-- /my network menu -->
This code has been altered by Julrou (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/member.php?u=212779).

You can see al real life demo on his site: http://www.informatiquefacile.eu/forums

Nikke
05-29-2008, 09:25 AM
Wow, great work man!

Fırtına
05-29-2008, 09:26 AM
Thanks :)

choccyclaire
05-29-2008, 10:17 AM
This looks really interesting - I will try later thanks. :)

Lionel
05-29-2008, 12:40 PM
How would I go to make the pull down wider so it accomodates more than one row?

Never mind... Found it. Thanks. I've always wanted that rockettheme pulldown.

Lionel
05-29-2008, 01:21 PM
Here is a live example http://www.vbcover.com/

Nikke
05-29-2008, 04:53 PM
Here is a live example http://www.vbcover.com/

Mind you that you only have an "open" option in your quicktab. It can't be closed for some reason!

jacx
05-29-2008, 06:11 PM
great, just simply great!

jacx
05-29-2008, 06:53 PM
Here is a question, im not a coder so excuse me if i ask the obvious!

The drop down is great, however is there a way of dropping down twice.

What i mean is say for example i open the tab, i see gaming so i click the tab OR hover over it, is there a way it can then drop down with more options/links.

I got a number of things i want to add, but rather than being rows, expanding the drop downs would be better and look sexy as hell!

Lionel
05-29-2008, 06:54 PM
Mind you that you only have an "open" option in your quicktab. It can't be closed for some reason!

Thanks. That was caused by a 'base href'. For some reasons it will not take it.

M-Tuning
05-29-2008, 07:01 PM
Here is a question, im not a coder so excuse me if i ask the obvious!

The drop down is great, however is there a way of dropping down twice.

What i mean is say for example i open the tab, i see gaming so i click the tab OR hover over it, is there a way it can then drop down with more options/links.

I got a number of things i want to add, but rather than being rows, expanding the drop downs would be better and look sexy as hell!

Will see if that's possible

choccyclaire
05-29-2008, 08:12 PM
When I tried to install this - everything worked just great! But it got rid of the lines underneath all my links. Any ideas?

Allan
05-29-2008, 09:19 PM
Thanks, it's cool :)

dieselpowered
05-30-2008, 05:00 AM
Ok why can I not center the text?? It has to be something simple I am sure, however, it is just not centering.

All I really want to do is have some links in it, no lin stuff...like the example:

http://www.vbcover.com/

Thanks...great mod!

Defkalion
05-31-2008, 10:23 AM
This is very nice, however I have encountered what seems to be a conflict: It works fine for both FF and IE, but for users that use IE, with this mod enabled, cannot post in the forums! The forum keeps asking them to fill in something in the message area, altough they have a normal post ready to be posted.

So I had to disable this until I find out what causes this. Any ideas?

M-Tuning
05-31-2008, 02:37 PM
Probably a css conflict, will see which part causes it.

Deepdog009
05-31-2008, 02:38 PM
Nice work M-Tuning... Tab City:cool:

Defkalion
06-07-2008, 10:02 PM
Any news on this problem I have? Any ideas anyone?

I find that it is caused by the "mootools.v1.00.js" code line.

M-Tuning
06-08-2008, 12:37 PM
I made a workaround for IE, this way the QuickTab hack doesn't show in IE.

Let me know if you want it.

Defkalion
06-08-2008, 12:40 PM
No thanks, if not all of my visitors can see it, it's no use.

Is this a problem with mootools javascript? I have seen another topic here in vb.org that suggests that mootools .js is interfering with vbulletin core .js files.

M-Tuning
06-11-2008, 07:33 PM
Yes, it probably is, but i can't find the part that does this.

PoetJA-1975
06-29-2008, 02:51 AM
Wow! Wonderful find = Installed.
This is gonna look FABULOUS on JPiC 2.0 and just what I was looking for!
Thanx for the sharing ;)

Jacquii.