View Full Version : Profile Enhancements - Social Networking Fieldset in User Profile & Postbit
ChU v2
04-01-2008, 10:00 PM
This template modification adds links to user's social networking profiles like MySpace, FaceBook, Youtube, eBay, Xbox etc.
Instructions:
In order to add each site ie. MySpace, FaceBook, Youtube, etc. You will need to add Profile Fields via the Admin Control Panel. Like this:
Admin CP > User Profile Fields > Add new profile field
Title: *Social Networking Site*
Description: *Your Social Networking Site Profile*
Max length of allowed user input: 20
Field editable by user: Yes
Private Field: No
And a new profile field for each site. Each profile field will be represented by a field number. ie. field5 . You will need to know which field number represents which site in the template editing!
- Don't forget to upload the images to YOUR SKINS /misc folder.
:: Refer to the attached text file for template edits and further instructions! ::
*Please Mark as Installed*
Make the Fieldset not show when the user hasn't entered anything in the profile fields!
Go to the MEMBERINFO template:
Find:
<!--Social Networking-->
Add Below:
<if condition="$userinfo['fieldXX'] OR $userinfo['fieldXX'] OR $userinfo['fieldXX'] OR $userinfo['fieldXX'] OR $userinfo['fieldXX']">
Replacing the XX's with your field numbers.
Then Find:
</fieldset>
</div>
Add After:
</if>
ChU v2
04-02-2008, 03:11 AM
Adding Social Networking Fieldset to User's Postbit
In the Postbit Legacy Template:
Find:
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]</div>
Add After:
<if condition="$post['fieldXX'] OR $post['fieldXX'] OR $post['fieldXX'] OR $post['fieldXX'] OR $post['fieldXX']">
<!--Social Networking-->
<div class="smallfont" align="left">
<fieldset><legend>Social Networking</legend>
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://www.myspace.com/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/myspace.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's Myspace Profile"></a>
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/facebook.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's FaceBook Profile"></a>
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://youtube.com/user/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/youtube.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's YouTube Profile"></a>
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://myworld.ebay.com/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/ebay.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's eBay Profile">
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://live.xbox.com/member/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/xbox.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's Xbox Profile"></a>
</if>
</fieldset>
</div>
<!--/Social Networking-->
</if>
Replace all the XX's with the correct field numbers and delete the sites you don't have Profile fields for.
ChU v2
04-03-2008, 04:40 AM
*Reserved to add more sites*
Lombardo
04-03-2008, 04:47 AM
Hello mate, do these show up in people's post bits?
Domenico
04-03-2008, 10:01 AM
It would be nice if one could be selected to be shown in the postbit.
Do you have the linkedin icon implemented?
ChU v2
04-03-2008, 03:37 PM
Hello mate, do these show up in people's post bits?
Added in 2nd post.
ChU v2
04-03-2008, 03:40 PM
It would be nice if one could be selected to be shown in the postbit.
Do you have the linkedin icon implemented?
No but if you give me a link to a user profile on linkedin I could draw up the code, it's not hard. You can PM the link if you'd like.
Lombardo
04-04-2008, 09:28 AM
Will install later. Thanks mate.
ChU v2
04-06-2008, 03:52 PM
Your Welcome
funkmeister
04-07-2008, 11:51 PM
How do you prevent the added field information from showing up in the "Additional Information" section of the Member's profile?
Thanks, good work :up:
ChU v2
04-08-2008, 01:07 AM
How do you prevent the added field information from showing up in the "Additional Information" section of the Member's profile?
Thanks, good work :up:
Set the profile fields to private. You as an Admin still can see the private profile fields as far as I know.
funkmeister
04-08-2008, 05:26 PM
OK, thanks, got that working, but in my case, I had to set "Can View Private Custom Fields" to 'No' in the Usergroup permission section.
The problem I have left now is, that they're not showing up in the Postbit. Any clues where I should look to get that working? As an Admin, everything looks good, but as general user, they're not showing up there. One note of interest, is if I set "Can View Private Custom Fields" to 'Yes', the postbit works for Admin & general users, but then it won't display in the Member Profile for general users! So I'm going around in circles!
Any ideas, appreciated!!
Many thanks.
ChU v2
04-08-2008, 08:56 PM
OK, thanks, got that working, but in my case, I had to set "Can View Private Custom Fields" to 'No' in the Usergroup permission section.
The problem I have left now is, that they're not showing up in the Postbit. Any clues where I should look to get that working? As an Admin, everything looks good, but as general user, they're not showing up there. One note of interest, is if I set "Can View Private Custom Fields" to 'Yes', the postbit works for Admin & general users, but then it won't display in the Member Profile for general users! So I'm going around in circles!
Any ideas, appreciated!!
Many thanks.
Well come other options that I would check : Usergroup options > general permissions
Can view member info: Yes
Also maybe the profile field has to be NOT set to private.
And maybe in vBoptions > User profile options
vB code in non forum specific areas: Yes
funkmeister
04-08-2008, 09:47 PM
Thanks for the ideas, but the only option that helps is the one I was asking about initially.
If I make the new profile field NOT private, it does indeed work in the Postbit as well, but then I'm left with that field name and user info shown in the Member Profile, under "Additional Information". So it's displaying there on it's own and also to the right of that, in the new "Social Networking" section. Which is not really good to look at :(
Is this not what everyone else is experiencing? Am I alone with this? I don't understand what could be different for me? Or is this the way it's supposed to display?
Thanks.
Jenkins
04-10-2008, 01:08 AM
does this work with 3.7?
ChU v2
04-11-2008, 01:23 AM
does this work with 3.7?
The code would work fine, it's a matter of finding where to put the code within those templates because they are different from 3.6x
deLi_kurT
05-03-2008, 09:48 PM
Thanks - installed
sdavis2702
05-04-2008, 03:22 AM
Thanks my members have been asking for this :)
EDIT: Ugh... for some reason I can not get these icons to show in the postbit. Am I the only one?
sdavis2702
05-04-2008, 07:11 AM
Got it.... I did all of the editing in my postbit legacy template... I should have been in postbit :( Good to go now :)
Is there any way to make it show next to the standard icons instead of in it's own seperate "Social Networking" section in the postbit? My postbit is starting to stretch the area out and makes the avatar look tiny and out of place.
EDIT: I figured it out. I'm pretty new to this so I had never seen the "Fieldset" code before that was surrounding this area and labeling it "Social Networking". Common sense told me that it was putting the box around the icons considering it said "Social Networking" on it. I deleted the codes and it cleaned it up a little bit for me. Good to go now thanks again lol.
sdavis2702
05-04-2008, 08:25 AM
Okay this is the last time I will post I promise :) Okay, though I solved my problem posted above, I still was unsatisfied because I wanted the new icons to show next to the standard ones (yahoo, msn, etc.) I have found that a lot of members really only have Yahoo and AIM so I didn't feel it was necessary to have a second row for icons. So here is what I did...
I completely did away with the Social Networking section that we pasted into the postbit template originally. Here is what I deleted:
<if condition="$post['fieldXX'] OR $post['fieldXX'] OR $post['fieldXX'] OR $post['fieldXX'] OR $post['fieldXX']">
<!--Social Networking-->
<div class="smallfont" align="left">
<fieldset><legend>Social Networking</legend>
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://www.myspace.com/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/myspace.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's Myspace Profile"></a>
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/facebook.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's FaceBook Profile"></a>
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://youtube.com/user/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/youtube.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's YouTube Profile"></a>
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://myworld.ebay.com/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/ebay.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's eBay Profile">
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://live.xbox.com/member/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/xbox.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's Xbox Profile"></a>
</if>
</fieldset>
</div>
<!--/Social Networking-->
</if>
The reason I did that is because like I said, I didn't want it in a seperate section. After doing that, I copied the icon links (the seperate sections of each site) that were in the text I deleted, and I pasted them into the text we used to FIND that section. Here is what I mean...
In postbit_legacy (just postbit for me) we FOUND:
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]</div>
Well after staring at everything I realized that these are the spots for the standard icons in the event the user has entered info in one of these fields in their profile. Remember this is where I wanted my new icons to go as well. So... I pasted the site sections I was using (MySpace & FaceBook) right after "$post[skypeicon]" in the above text. Here is what it looked like after doing that...
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]
<a href="http://www.myspace.com/$post[field13]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/myspace.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's Myspace Profile"></a>
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/$post[field14]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/facebook.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's FaceBook Profile"></a>
After pasting the new icon links in there, they showed up on EVERYONE'S postbit. That's NOT what I was looking for. The reason this happened is because the links were no longer in condition tags. The icons will show up no matter if the member put info in that field or not. If they had info there, clicking the icon would still take you to their page. But if they didn't put info there, it would take you to that websites homepage.
Obviously I didn't want this either (starting to see how much trial & error I had? lol). So I played around with conditionals. I went back to the original text Nick (ChU v2) gave us and took the conditionals he used. No need to reinvent the wheel. I put the conditionals around my new icon links as a whole AND I put conditionals around each site seperately. Here is what it looked like after that...
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]
<if condition="$post['field13'] OR $post['field14']">
<if condition="$post['field13']">
<a href="http://www.myspace.com/$post[field13]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/myspace.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's Myspace Profile"></a></if>
<if condition="$post['field14']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/$post[field14]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/facebook.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's FaceBook Profile"></a></if></div></if>
</div>
Keep in mind, my fields are in that text. So if you copy that, change the "field13" and "field14" to whatever your fields are.
NOTE: I only used MySpace and Facebook. Using all of the ones he gave us will probably cause a problem if the user has info in every field on the profile. I would think that too many icons showing will distort the layout somehow. For my site, even if they have all 5 standard fields AND MySpace & FaceBook, we'll still be good because everything will fit. If you're using everything I don't know if it will work. I would think the icons wouldn't fit. Then again, it may be set up to wrap around and start another row. I have not clue!
Alright well that's it. I now have what I want and it only took me forever :)
NOTE: Please don't bash me. I have only had my forum for one month and before that, I had never seen this stuff before in my life. If there was a much easier way to do it, I didn't know about it lol. I really just used common sense and patience to figure this out. This is probably basic stuff to most of you. Anyway that's what I did and I have what I want. Thanks to the creator of the hack... I learned a TON of stuff messing around with this one. It's now valued as more than just a hack to me... I appreciate it!
Here's how it looks for me now considering I only have AIM, Yahoo, and MySpace...
BEFORE: 79867 AFTER: 79864
And for those of you looking at my backwards post count... yes I did go back and change it to the way I didn't like it just so I could attach the "BEFORE" picture lol :)
sdavis2702
05-05-2008, 01:11 PM
*********One more thing. This one is important though*********
There is a mistake in the Facebook section of the MEMBERINFO text given in the zip. Here is what it reads with the issues in BOLD:
Facebook:
<if condition="$userinfo['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/$userinfo[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/facebook.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's FaceBook Profile"></a>
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/user/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]"target="_blank">http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]</a>
<br />
</if>
Notice the difference in the links. 2 different URLs are created for the icon that displays in the postbit and the link that will show in the member's profile. Also.... the word "user" in the second URL has no place there at all... no need for it.
They should either both read "facebook.com/$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "profile.php?id=1234567" in their profile field...
OR
They should both read "facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "1234567" in their profile.
I chose the second choice... less room for error for the user. Until those two URLs match, you will have an issue. In the member's profile, you'll have the icon sitting next to the link like it's supposed to. However, one will work, and one won't.
Here is my code now...
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[field14]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/facebook.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's FaceBook Profile"></a>
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[field14]"target="_blank">http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[field14]</a>
Everything works perfectly now :)
trackpads
05-07-2008, 02:23 AM
I added some info for linked in. This hack is awesome! Thanks for the work!
Just add this code into the postbit setting above:
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://http://www.linkedin.com/in/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/linkedin.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's LinkedIn Profile"></a>
</if>
sdavis2702
05-07-2008, 06:31 AM
^^^ awesome! :)
goddess_dix
05-13-2008, 06:04 PM
sdavis-if you're doing them without a containing field, your probably don't need this conditional
<if condition="$post['field13'] OR $post['field14']">
from what i can tell, that was added to decide whether or not there are any of the social networking icons to decide whether or not to make the container for them. since you're not using the container at all, and using an individual conditional to decide whether or not their is a value for a specific site in order to show the icon, you can get rid of that if statement and the corresponding closing of the if statement.
edgeyveggie
05-20-2008, 05:10 AM
Thanks for the ideas, but the only option that helps is the one I was asking about initially.
If I make the new profile field NOT private, it does indeed work in the Postbit as well, but then I'm left with that field name and user info shown in the Member Profile, under "Additional Information". So it's displaying there on it's own and also to the right of that, in the new "Social Networking" section. Which is not really good to look at :(
Is this not what everyone else is experiencing? Am I alone with this? I don't understand what could be different for me? Or is this the way it's supposed to display?
Thanks.
I'm getting this too. As far as I'm concerned this renders this other wise useful hack utterly useless, someone please help with this.:mad:
edgeyveggie
05-20-2008, 05:19 AM
Ok I got this to work. You might want to include in the main description that you as an admin WILL see that information in the "Additional Information" section but normal users will not so it doesn't matter.
sdavis2702
05-24-2008, 05:18 AM
sdavis-if you're doing them without a containing field, your probably don't need this conditional
<if condition="$post['field13'] OR $post['field14']">
from what i can tell, that was added to decide whether or not there are any of the social networking icons to decide whether or not to make the container for them. since you're not using the container at all, and using an individual conditional to decide whether or not their is a value for a specific site in order to show the icon, you can get rid of that if statement and the corresponding closing of the if statement.
Yup I just realized that... thanks :)
Weapon-x
06-26-2008, 09:45 PM
It shows up for me in Firefox but not in IE....how to fix this?
bestmilan
09-11-2008, 09:21 PM
*********One more thing. This one is important though*********
There is a mistake in the Facebook section of the MEMBERINFO text given in the zip. Here is what it reads with the issues in BOLD:
Notice the difference in the links. 2 different URLs are created for the icon that displays in the postbit and the link that will show in the member's profile. Also.... the word "user" in the second URL has no place there at all... no need for it.
They should either both read "facebook.com/$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "profile.php?id=1234567" in their profile field...
OR
They should both read "facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "1234567" in their profile.
I chose the second choice... less room for error for the user. Until those two URLs match, you will have an issue. In the member's profile, you'll have the icon sitting next to the link like it's supposed to. However, one will work, and one won't.
Here is my code now...
Everything works perfectly now :)
Thank you sdavis for sharing this info -- very helpful !!
Great hack. :up:
Quantnet
09-12-2008, 03:43 AM
Anyone knows how to edit the MEMBERINFO template to show the facebook, linkedin links?
Daisyboo
09-20-2008, 08:44 AM
Would really like this for 3.7.x, I'm new to vb so not sure what code to look for :(
MarkoP
10-07-2008, 07:02 AM
Would really like this for 3.7.x, I'm new to vb so not sure what code to look for :(
Same here.
Will send $100 to anyone who updates this with clear instructions for adding to 3.7.x
R1lover
01-02-2009, 09:14 PM
Same here.
Will send $100 to anyone who updates this with clear instructions for adding to 3.7.x
Send me the 100.00 as it's the same and works in 3.7 as is... ;)
Gamelobby
01-31-2009, 09:31 PM
How about 3.8..?
Maybe he'll send that $100 to you still. ;)
Also will this conflict with the xbox one i have installed already.?
-----
I have NO such code in my MEMBERINFO template
<!--Social Networking-->
Gamelobby
02-01-2009, 04:47 AM
Ok so i have a few probelms..
one thing is that the facebook doesn't work, & i dont see where to make the URL edits..?
*edit*
I found the edits.. they're in the zip folder. lol
But i still get - http://www.facebook.com/542920214
Another problem (although im sure it is simple) is that i still have the box that used to go around the Social Networking icons, but now the box is empty & below the icons..!?
<div class="smallfont">
<br />
<if condition="$show['infraction']"><div>$vbphrase[infractions]: $post[warnings]/$post[infractions] ($post[ipoints])</div></if>
<if condition="$show['reputation']"><div><if condition="$show['reppower']">$vbphrase[reppower]: <span id="reppower_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reppower]</span> </if><span id="repdisplay_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reputationdisplay]</span></div></if>
$template_hook[postbit_userinfo_right]
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]</div>
<if condition="$post['field18'] OR $post['field19'] OR $post['field20']">
<if condition="$post['field18']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/$post[field18]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/facebook.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's FaceBook Profile"></a>
</if>
<if condition="$post['field19']">
<a href="http://www.myspace.com/$post[field19]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/myspace.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's Myspace Profile"></a>
</if>
<if condition="$post['field20']">
<a href="http://youtube.com/user/$post[field20]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/youtube.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's YouTube Profile"></a>
</if>
</fieldset>
</div>
<!--/Social Networking-->
</if>
</div>
</div></div>
</td>
Gamelobby
02-01-2009, 05:34 AM
*********One more thing. This one is important though*********
There is a mistake in the Facebook section of the MEMBERINFO text given in the zip. Here is what it reads with the issues in BOLD:
Notice the difference in the links. 2 different URLs are created for the icon that displays in the postbit and the link that will show in the member's profile. Also.... the word "user" in the second URL has no place there at all... no need for it.
They should either both read "facebook.com/$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "profile.php?id=1234567" in their profile field...
OR
They should both read "facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "1234567" in their profile.
I chose the second choice... less room for error for the user. Until those two URLs match, you will have an issue. In the member's profile, you'll have the icon sitting next to the link like it's supposed to. However, one will work, and one won't.
I had to make this edits in the Postbit Legacy also..!?
So everything appears to be working now, except the empty box is still in postbit under the icons.
And I dont see these links on my profile. (but im sure that is a whole other story, since im using 3.8 & i have major profile mods)
Gamelobby
02-01-2009, 05:53 AM
HOLY SH*T.. i think i got it.. lol
the links work, the icons are there, my only small issue now is the empty box in postbit..
And that the links on my profile are see-thru, no background.?
URL is ugly, is it supposed to look like that.? (i would think that they should work & look just like the postbit where it is just the icon)
I think someone should repackage this into one zip.
And make the "fb url" edits to the postbit also :)
That would help immensely..
Gersfan
04-14-2009, 09:12 AM
This is an immense mod somebody needs to work on it.
Yesica
07-26-2009, 07:44 PM
I made some modifications to the codes and was able to install and make it work. The FB bar is displayed under the users avatars, however if the user has not loaded an avatar the function does not show up. Any ideas anyone?
Yesica
08-07-2009, 12:03 AM
I made some modifications to the codes and was able to install and make it work. The FB bar is displayed under the users avatars, however if the user has not loaded an avatar the function does not show up. Any ideas anyone?
Edited to load above avatar pics. No problems.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.