Log in

View Full Version : Limiting sigs


DivineMessenger
03-09-2008, 10:17 PM
A guy gave me this advice on vbulletin.com

If you're very strict about how large sigs get, you can set the limits in the admin options, but also make 100% sure the sigs use up a max amount of space by wrapping all sigs in a <div> tag with width and height defined to the max size you want sigs to be, and the "overflow: hidden" attribute, which will crop anything exceeding the width and height you dfine.

an example would be:

<div style="width: 500; height: 120; overflow: hidden;">
[users sig content here]
</div>

Now no matter what the user puts in their sig, be it a long line of text, or an img tag that goes larger than your div tag's defined size, it will be cropped. Keep in mind the content still loads, so if they put a large image on the img tag, the load time will be the same, but the forum layout doesn't get destroyed by it.

Can anyone tell me where I might put this code EXACTLY.

volitian
03-09-2008, 10:25 PM
Im not sure that'll work in a vb template, I've not seen Divider and style tags in the template i've been looking at..

DivineMessenger
03-09-2008, 10:26 PM
I have already seen many sites that use it like forums.ageofconan.com

Lynne
03-09-2008, 10:45 PM
In postbit_legacy (and postbit maybe? You didn't say which you are using) you will find these lines:
<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->

And I think you are being directed to change them to:
<!-- sig -->
<div style="width: 500; height: 120; overflow: hidden;">
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->

Back up your templates first as I have no idea if that will work since I haven't tried it myself. Also, note that he was giving example dimensions (the 500 wide and 120 height). You will have to figure out what you want that set to yourself.

volitian
03-09-2008, 10:56 PM
Also, note that he was giving example dimensions (the 500 wide and 120 height). You will have to figure out what you want that set to yourself.

That would be the max sig size you want no? In design view in Dreamweaver I set all div's to the same size as the image im putting in.. otherwise you have to write margins or set alignment for image placement..

DivineMessenger
03-09-2008, 10:59 PM
Thanx, i'll go try it and get back with you.

--------------- Added 1205107700 at 1205107700 ---------------

Nope, didn't work. He was telling me to edit the signature template I believe...

Lynne
03-09-2008, 11:32 PM
You are talking about the signature that shows up in the showthread.php page, right? If so, there is no signature template, it is simply in the postbit. Did you edit both the postbit and the postbit_legacy template? And did you set the dimensions to the width/height that you want?

DivineMessenger
03-09-2008, 11:42 PM
You are talking about the signature that shows up in the showthread.php page, right? If so, there is no signature template, it is simply in the postbit. Did you edit both the postbit and the postbit_legacy template? And did you set the dimensions to the width/height that you want?

Yup, did all of the above.

--------------- Added 1205120661 at 1205120661 ---------------

could this part be wrong somehow?

<div style="width: 500; height: 120; overflow: hidden;">

todosbaneados
03-17-2008, 11:00 AM
How can i restrict the size of the sigs?

thanks!

Dismounted
03-18-2008, 05:38 AM
Have you read the thread before actually posting?