View Full Version : Mini Mods - Double navigation buttons bar
Dream
03-06-2008, 10:00 PM
This was the best solution to have more navbar links I saw so far.
Edit "navbar" template, find
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
add before
<!-- top nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-bottom-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=process&showposts=0&starteronly=1&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]">My Threads</a> / <a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=process&showposts=0&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]">Replies</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,me nubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars =yes,resizable=yes,width=250,height=300'); return false;">Contacts</a></td>
</if>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="group.php?$session[sessionurl]">Social Groups</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="online.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[whos_online]</a></td>
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 6">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$admincpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">AdminCP</a></td>
</if>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / top nav buttons bar -->
and change the links as you like :P
iogames
03-07-2008, 12:09 AM
Great work as always ;)
logicuk
03-07-2008, 05:46 AM
Thanks alot i will find some use for this :)
princeedward
03-07-2008, 06:12 AM
great...need this one...thanks a lot... ;)
KURTZ
03-07-2008, 07:00 AM
tagged! :P
SuperDave71
03-07-2008, 03:45 PM
Just what I was looking for!
Thank you!
-Dave
IRANCITY
03-08-2008, 07:21 AM
thank you my friends
installed
iogames
03-11-2008, 04:53 AM
Hi Dreaminho I returned to ask u...
It's possible to have a 3rd NavBar with just links related to that SubForum? [i.e. Phones, Games, etc]
Boofo
03-11-2008, 05:32 AM
You know you can do this as a plug-in and automatic template replace, right? I have already done this if you would like to see the plug-in.
tctransporter
03-11-2008, 07:02 AM
Cool, I've been looking for a double nav bar my version. BTW: I only have version 3.6.8 :s Is there a 3.7 version I'm missing?
shawon025
03-11-2008, 02:15 PM
very very thanx ..... i already applied into my forum
choccyclaire
03-11-2008, 06:50 PM
This is just what I need, and so simple! Thanks. :)
iogames
03-11-2008, 07:49 PM
You know you can do this as a plug-in and automatic template replace, right? I have already done this if you would like to see the plug-in.
Can I see it please?
Boofo
03-11-2008, 08:17 PM
iogames, PM me so we don't clutter up his thread.
Mike-D
03-11-2008, 08:52 PM
You know you can do this as a plug-in and automatic template replace, right? I have already done this if you would like to see the plug-in.Bob,
no doubt: Plugins are in most ways the best solution and it's really no big deal to write an Plugin as you already did. But in this case I'd recommend to use TMS! In most Codes (esp in HTML Codes) always the best solution ;)
Boofo
03-11-2008, 09:04 PM
Yes, the plug-in was a big deal as getting it to work in the arcade was a nightmare.
TMS is great if you have it installed and are using it. Alot of people aren't yet.
jwhale
03-12-2008, 03:15 AM
hi there, Firstly, this is a great peice of code for a simple partial coder like me, thanks.
What i want to do is display a link on the navbar based upon what page a user is currently looking at. So, for example, a user who is logged in (ie <if condition="$show['member']">) gets to see a bunch of links in menu, then say for example the main forums page (I am using vbadvanced cmps) has a link to the home index page, and the home index page has a link to the main forums page?
anyone can answer this simple condition test?
iogames
03-14-2008, 05:34 PM
Yes, the plug-in was a big deal as getting it to work in the arcade was a nightmare.
TMS is great if you have it installed and are using it. Alot of people aren't yet.
What's TMS? :rolleyes:
DarkSorrowz
03-14-2008, 06:26 PM
How do I make it so I can make it go to another link and not take you to
www.forumhome.com/www.redirectedlink.com
I want it just to take you to
www.redirectedlink.com
when you click it
(Note: Those are not the actual links)
4number8
03-14-2008, 10:25 PM
How would I add another usergroup to the AdminCP part here.....
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 6">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$admincpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">AdminCP</a></td>
</if>
I added after the 6 using a comma, and it did't work, any help would be appreciated and thanks for a nice hack.
Mike-D
03-15-2008, 11:58 AM
What's TMS? :rolleyes:The Template Modificatn System is one of the best vB Hacks ever and has been released by Andreas. You can find it here (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=152931) :)
Please note: Probably you'll need a lil bit time to understand what TMS can do and it's a lil bit complex too. But once you know how it works you'll never miss it ;) It's simply the best :up:
Boofo
03-15-2008, 12:06 PM
The Template Modificatn System is one of the best vB Hacks ever and has been released by Andreas. You can find it here (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=152931) :)
Please note: Probably you'll need a lil bit time to understand what TMS can do and it's a lil bit complex too. But once you know how it works you'll never miss it ;) It's simply the best :up:
I got lazy and started doing automatic template edits for my hacks.
Mike-D
03-15-2008, 12:09 PM
How would I add another usergroup to the AdminCP part here.....I went another way in doing that job. To add a Top Menu in the Top navbar is always the same. I've changed mine completely through TMS and here's the result of the Top Menu... :)
<!-- ******************************* -->
<!-- * 1. TOP-NAVBAR 'LINKS' -->
<!-- ******************************* -->
<templateedits product="vbulletin" version="3.6.8">
<templateedit template="navbar" varname="top_navbar_links" username="MikeD" version="3.6.8">
<title>Top Navbar 'Links'</title>
<searchstr><![CDATA[<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->]]></searchstr> <!-- Spot where the Top navbar starting at! -->
<replacestr><![CDATA[<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
<!-- Top Navbar -->
<if condition="$show['member']">
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-bottom-width:0px">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/vbulletin/upload/index.php">$vbphrase[forum]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/vbulletin/upload/portal.php">$vbphrase[portal]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/vbulletin/upload/photoplog/index.php">$vbphrase[gallery]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/vbulletin/upload/arcade.php">$vbphrase[arcade]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/vbulletin/upload/chat/flashchat.php">$vbphrase[chat]</a></td>
<!-- <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[contactuslink]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[contact_us]</a></td> -->
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="impressum.php">Impressum</a></td>
<!-- Administrators & Super Moderators Only -->
<if condition="in_array($bbuserinfo['usergroupid'], array(5,6))"> <!-- Primary Usergroups! -->
<td id="admin_links" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#">Admin/Mod</a><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("admin_links"); </script></td>
</if>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
</if>
<!-- / Top Navbar -->]]></replacestr>
</templateedit>
Boofo
03-15-2008, 12:36 PM
I'd like to see how you did the drop down for that. Can you PM me the code you used for it, sir? ;)
KURTZ
03-15-2008, 02:16 PM
I got lazy and started doing automatic template edits for my hacks.
i love you Bobby :D
Mike-D
03-15-2008, 02:27 PM
I'd like to see how you did the drop down for that. Can you PM me the code you used for it, sir? ;)Do you mean me, Sir Bobby ? :D
i love you Bobby :DYep, love him too :)
Dream
03-15-2008, 07:50 PM
iogames, PM me so we don't clutter up his thread.
If you guys want to use this thread to share codes I don't mind. If you want to release your automatic template version I don't mind either, as I'm not changing this one to automatic template.
DarkSorrowz
03-15-2008, 09:56 PM
How do I make it so I can make it go to another link and not take you to
www.forumhome.com/www.redirectedlink.com
I want it just to take you to
www.redirectedlink.com
when you click it
(Note: Those are not the actual links)
Can anyone tell me?
R1lover
03-15-2008, 10:21 PM
Been there done that for years...
Dream
03-16-2008, 03:15 AM
Can anyone tell me?
use the full address, with http:// in front
Been there done that for years...
thanks for sharing
Boofo
03-16-2008, 05:21 PM
Do you mean me, Sir Bobby ? :D
Yep, love him too :)
Yes, Mike, I mean you, sir. ;)
Gosef
03-26-2008, 10:30 AM
thank you my friends
installed
LorraineMc
05-07-2008, 07:10 PM
thanks works great....
dancue
05-09-2008, 03:14 AM
I'd like to see how you did the drop down for that. Can you PM me the code you used for it, sir? ;)
Same here. Please?
Baldilocks
05-14-2008, 06:22 AM
Awesome!! Installed!!
Scout24
06-20-2008, 10:17 PM
Thx and installed
t.uzuner
07-13-2008, 08:30 AM
thanks friends :)
installed
steve1966
07-13-2008, 07:32 PM
great thanks
steve1966
07-14-2008, 06:11 AM
i dont know if someone can help me here i have a vBadvanc on my forum and want to put a link on the forum navbar saying portal i want to change this
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index1.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>
to
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index1.php?$session[sessionurl]">Portal</a></td>
the portal addy is www.myforum.com andthe forum addy is www.myforum.com/forums
what do i need to do to edit the code so it takes me to the portal from the forum
thanks
R1lover
07-14-2008, 06:22 AM
i dont know if someone can help me here i have a vBadvanc on my forum and want to put a link on the forum navbar saying portal i want to change this
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index1.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>
to
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index1.php?$session[sessionurl]">Portal</a></td>
the portal addy is www.myforum.com andthe forum addy is www.myforum.com/forums
what do i need to do to edit the code so it takes me to the portal from the forum
thanks
Where is your forum located? in the root or in the /forum or /forums directory?
steve1966
07-14-2008, 02:07 PM
thanks for your reply i managed to fix the code
Rideharder
07-15-2008, 05:07 AM
Thank you!
Betablocker
07-24-2008, 02:16 AM
Thank you very much.
Very useful for a nub like me.
Thanks again :up:
PHILLYFAN
07-24-2008, 11:51 AM
thanks!
Hostboard
07-24-2008, 01:08 PM
You know you can do this as a plug-in and automatic template replace, right? I have already done this if you would like to see the plug-in.
I too would like to see your plugin but ALL your modifications (at least for 3.7) are in the graveyard and unaccessable :confused:
Keesa
07-28-2008, 06:36 AM
Installed and rated. It works like a charm!
I love template edits like this one. I feel like I have more control.:D
Keesa
07-29-2008, 04:43 AM
How could someone add a drop-down menu to this bar?
Ohiosweetheart
07-29-2008, 06:20 AM
Another easy-to-use mod from Dream. You're the best! ;)
blind-eddie
07-29-2008, 06:43 AM
How could someone add a drop-down menu to this bar?
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=122523&highlight=quicklinks
polgara_j
08-01-2008, 07:12 AM
How would I add unanswered threads to this? Thanks!
Dream
08-01-2008, 11:42 AM
Another easy-to-use mod from Dream. You're the best! ;)
Thanks! And you are welcome ^_^
djrapid.com
09-29-2008, 12:06 AM
Thanks, installed.
I had to edit this to:
<!-- top nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-bottom-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=process&showposts=0&starteronly=1&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]">My Threads</a> / <a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=process&showposts=0&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]">Replies</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="album.php?$session[sessionurl]">My Pictures</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="profile.php?do=editavatar$session[sessionurl]">Avatar Options</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="online.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[whos_online]</a></td>
</if>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / top nav buttons bar -->
Removed three
Added these instead:
- My Pictures
- Avatar Options
- Who's Online
john102774
10-01-2008, 08:10 PM
Excellent Mod, Thank you! :)
RedDevil
10-04-2008, 01:46 PM
thanks like this
GSeybold
11-30-2008, 05:20 PM
Great mod.... Just one question. Is there any one to return all thread and post instead of just the last 50? Thanks a million. Again, great item.
Dream
12-01-2008, 08:47 PM
not sure, thought it was paginated
Keesa
12-15-2008, 04:05 AM
Used this again for a new template I am working on. Thank you again. I love simple modifications like this.
csoroner
12-19-2008, 01:59 AM
Outstanding mod!
Installed easy, looks great and blended in nicely with the custom style I'm using.
Have a look-----> RippersPlace (http://rippersplace.com/forum/index1.php)
Thank you very much!
Dream
12-19-2008, 03:00 AM
glad you like it :) very nice looking forum you have there.
Manic Mechanic
01-30-2009, 01:56 PM
How can I change the color of individual buttons/tabs in the navbar?
Armyqt
01-31-2009, 05:14 AM
Installed. I have some duplicates on the to bar and the bottom bar has run beyond the borders? How do I re-map the links. For example, I have a quick links tab that has items that were default on the top navbar when I added this. Please help. My board looks a mess.
Armyqt
01-31-2009, 01:26 PM
I really need an answer, my navbar is jacked up. Yeah it added the extra navbar, but how do i edit so I don't have duplicate inks? Please, I am no good at editing templates.
Dream
01-31-2009, 06:24 PM
Armyqt you need someone who knows HTML to help you, its really simple when you know basic HTML (which is an easy language to learn; if you are interested check www.w3schools.com)
GSeybold
03-08-2009, 04:15 AM
ok now that I have to reinstall everything due to a revert. I just wanted to say this mod is very helpful for my forum and my members love the addition.
Thanks so much for this.
Gabby
Sworm
03-19-2011, 07:12 PM
Simply the best one double navigation bar ^^ - Installed - Tagged - Nominated :D
Perfect in 3.8.7
PS
Should be correct (i'm not a programmer) if i add a "<a href>" like this for add in the navigationbar some category or forums link?
For example, the default href is:
<!-- top nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-bottom-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control">I want to add some of similar:
<!-- top nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-bottom-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://www.myforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4">Home</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control">I don't know what is the correct sintax to add href like your :
a href="index.php?$session[sessionurl]this is not correct i think :S
<!-- top nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-bottom-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="forumdisplay.php?f=4$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control">....Can you help me?
bruneiguru
03-26-2011, 05:20 AM
Does this work in 4.12 or is there an alternative for a second navbar?
webnsn
11-07-2015, 02:59 PM
Here the example,
I have replaced the Text and Links
www.wikinewforum.com
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.