View Full Version : Optimizing to improve page-loading times?
rant boss
03-03-2008, 01:53 PM
Hello
Wondering if there's something I should be doing to address a recent increase in page-loading times -- a problem that's getting worse over the last week or so.
Running on a VPS (host says all looks good on his end)
VBul version 3.6.8
4,000 registered users, 150,000 posts
Usually no more than 100 users online at any time
Adsense in a few spots on each page (side column, in threads and above forum)
Is there something I can be doing to streamline things on my end (without dumping old posts)?
I'm not really a techie...so please make your suggestions understandable to the average joe.
Thanks
snakes1100
03-03-2008, 06:53 PM
You should be posting in the "server optimization" forum over at vb.com, george will help you out.
DivisionByZero
03-03-2008, 09:27 PM
definitely optimize all your tables, and as far as php/httpd performance, you could do this--and i do this as a rule all the time--for speed and security:
purchase a license for the ionCube encoder, and encode ALL your php files as "max binary". This encrypts the files, and as a side effect, boosts performance.
MaestroX
03-03-2008, 11:13 PM
I've written an article on my site how to Optimize your vBulletin to reduce bandwidth and load (http://www.vbskinzone.com/forums/41-optimize-your-vbulletin-reduce-bandwidth-load.html), hope it helps :)
Dismounted
03-04-2008, 04:31 AM
Have you tried using XCache?
SEOvB
03-04-2008, 05:40 AM
Decrease your CSS size,
Make your CSS written to a file
Decrease images and scripts that run on pages where load time is unacceptable
rant boss
03-12-2008, 02:14 PM
Thanks all for the excellent advice!
Just optimizing/repairing the tables seems to have made a difference already. Something so simple :eek:
I'll give the others a try
Thanks all for the excellent advice!
Just optimizing/repairing the tables seems to have made a difference already. Something so simple :eek:
I'll give the others a try
install xcache with This (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=141005&page=15&highlight=xcache)
Dismounted
03-19-2008, 07:32 AM
The XCache Datastore module/class is included in vBulletin 3.7+.
Mecho
05-22-2008, 09:15 PM
The XCache Datastore module/class is included in vBulletin 3.7+.
ah i didnt know that . do we need to enable it from somewhere ? how can i make sure how it works in my forum ?
thanks
Dismounted
05-24-2008, 05:11 AM
You will need to use the 3.7 config.php file, as it is the one that has the new settings.
Mecho
05-24-2008, 11:52 AM
This line :
// $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Filecache';
if yes , just need to remove // ? nothing else ?
Dismounted
05-24-2008, 12:09 PM
Have a look at the comment above it ;).
Mecho
05-25-2008, 03:49 PM
ah my bad :
i just want to make sure that i did correct .
uncommented this line :
// $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Filecache';
and
Changed vB_Datastore_Filecache to vB_Datastore_XCache .
is it correct , right ?
snakes1100
05-25-2008, 03:52 PM
yes it is
Boofo
05-25-2008, 04:05 PM
How do I find out if the server is using Xcache or another cache?
snakes1100
05-25-2008, 04:12 PM
lol @ boofo
info.php
This program makes use of the Zend Scripting Language Engine:
Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2007 Zend Technologies
with XCache v1.2.2, Copyright (c) 2005-2007, by mOo
Will be listed there to start and then have a variable section further down to show what its setup with.
XCache Support enabled
Version 1.2.2
Modules Built cacher
Readonly Protection N/A
Opcode Cache enabled, 33,554,432 bytes, 2 split(s), with 8192 slots each
Variable Cache enabled, 16,777,216 bytes, 2 split(s), with 8192 slots each
Shared Memory Schemes mmap
Directive Local Value Master Value
xcache.admin.enable_auth Off Off
xcache.cacher On On
xcache.coredump_directory no value no value
xcache.count 2 2
xcache.gc_interval 3600 3600
xcache.mmap_path /dev/zero /dev/zero
xcache.readonly_protection no value no value
xcache.shm_scheme mmap mmap
xcache.size 32M 32M
xcache.slots 8K 8K
xcache.stat On On
xcache.test no value no value
xcache.ttl 7200 7200
xcache.var_count 2 2
xcache.var_gc_interval 300 300
xcache.var_maxttl 7200 7200
xcache.var_size 16M 16M
xcache.var_slots 8K 8K
xcache.var_ttl 3600 3600
Boofo
05-25-2008, 04:20 PM
Nope, this is all I got:
This program makes use of the Zend Scripting Language Engine:
Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2007 Zend Technologies
with the ionCube PHP Loader v3.1.32, Copyright (c) 2002-2007, by ionCube Ltd., and
with Zend Extension Manager v1.2.2, Copyright (c) 2003-2007, by Zend Technologies
with Zend Optimizer v3.3.3, Copyright (c) 1998-2007, by Zend Technologies
But will using the filecache be better than nothing at all? And do I need to edit the datastore file? This is all new to me, sorry for the ignorance concerning it. ;)
snakes1100
05-25-2008, 04:24 PM
Just 777 the file and your all set, it will be better than nothing at all.
Boofo
05-25-2008, 04:42 PM
OK, but the settings in the config.php. I know to set the IP address but what about the port setting and the others?
snakes1100
05-25-2008, 04:46 PM
Unless the host changed it, the port is correct.
Boofo
05-25-2008, 04:50 PM
So, just set the IP and nothing else then? The IP is at the localhost setting right now?
I just noticed that those settings are for the memcacheserver so I don't need to set those. Basically, just uncomment that one line and chmod the file and that is it, right?
snakes1100
05-25-2008, 05:01 PM
Yes, if your not using the memcache, u can comment out the lines and uncomment the one u want to use and chmod the file to 777
Boofo
05-25-2008, 05:06 PM
OK, did that and am waiting to see the file change. And thanks for the help, sir. ;)
snakes1100
05-25-2008, 05:18 PM
ur welcome sir
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.