View Full Version : How to add a link to Nav bar
karlton87
02-17-2008, 12:23 PM
Im sorry if this has been done somewhere and im guessing it has but lots of people have been asking recently so here it is.
Follow these steps so that you can edit the template,
Go to Admin CP, then Styles & Templates. Choose Style Manager then on the drop down menu select Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates. Finally click navbar so you can see the navbar code.
Find
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px">
<tr align="center">
Then directly below add,
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK URL">LINK NAME</a></td>
Now you will have a new link in your nav bar.
I hope this simple template modification helps some people.
Ozdemir
02-17-2008, 12:37 PM
examples;
-you can add tags.php link to navbar
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="tags.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[tags]</a></td>
-you can add social groups link to navbar
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="group.php" target="_blank">Social Groups</a></td>
if you wanna show a link to members only you must add this code over
<if condition="$show['member']">
and don't forget close with </if>
iogames
02-17-2008, 02:18 PM
Wow!
this 3.7.x version is creating a bunch of 'transitional mods' with very short life span or usefulness...
I should write an article on that :rolleyes:
youradhere4222
02-17-2008, 10:07 PM
Thanks for this hack. :)
Forum Lover
02-18-2008, 05:15 AM
Now, this is handy. thanks...
Jase2
02-18-2008, 07:02 PM
And Unanswered Posts under quick links:
<td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?searchid=15428">Unanswered Posts</a>
Or on the navbar:
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?searchid=15428">Unanswered Posts</a>
Regards Jason :)
hello!
use this hack and put some links in navbar but have one problem with template cyberblue... links come out from template... http://belaplay.com/vb/libar/index.php?styleid=3
some help ?
regards
macc
edit - fixed - thanks
Jase2
02-18-2008, 09:58 PM
I can't see any links that come out there.
Regards Jason :)
i fixed and now is ok
thanks
macc
Trip3151
02-19-2008, 07:56 AM
How would you get a link to open in a new window?
falguni1
02-19-2008, 07:56 AM
I want to put this in navbar Please give me the code wot to write.
1)my profile page (vb 3.7 profile page)
2)my subscriptions
Jase2
02-19-2008, 02:42 PM
Edit Profile Page:
<td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?do=editprofilepic">Edit Profile</a>
If you want it under "Quick Links", simple change "vbmenu_option" to "vbmenu_control".
Subscriptions:
<td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="subscription.php?do=viewsubscription">My Subscriptions</a>
Regards Jason :)
cheat-master30
02-19-2008, 07:41 PM
Isn't this more an article than a modification? I guess it's nice anyway...
NeuroLancer
02-20-2008, 01:51 AM
How would you get a link to open in a new window?
With simple html.
<a href="yourlink.php" target="_blank">Your link</a>
UltraFanatics
03-08-2008, 11:31 AM
Can some tell me please how I can either add a new navbar line? or make my forum wider? as you can see mine is full up!
http://www.chatfootballforum.com
Pamela
03-13-2008, 10:04 PM
*Clicks install*
Thanks! :)
sdavis2702
05-11-2008, 12:04 AM
Can some tell me please how I can either add a new navbar line? or make my forum wider? as you can see mine is full up!
http://www.chatfootballforum.com
Based on your site it looks like you already got it figured out :)
condottiere
05-21-2008, 04:19 AM
I did that and the link is there but I can't get the URL to work. I get:
mysite.com/fourm/mysite.com/blog
instead of just:
mysite.com/blog.
How do I get a link outside of the forum?
TimberFloorAu
05-21-2008, 10:18 PM
I did that and the link is there but I can't get the URL to work. I get:
mysite.com/fourm/mysite.com/blog
instead of just:
mysite.com/blog.
How do I get a link outside of the forum?
link directly using http://www.mysite.com/thisplace/index.php
condottiere
05-22-2008, 08:28 AM
Thanks. That worked perfectly.
So I can really understand the difference. Just by adding 'http://' makes it work while not having that just adds it to the end of the existing URL? Why. I learning this coding slowly, but I really don't want to learn it all. Just make a few adjustments then pay someone else to do the rest (which I'm planning on doing).
pootsey
05-22-2008, 08:32 AM
adding the http:// tells it to look at the whole address rather than the folder the forum is in :)
condottiere
05-22-2008, 11:40 PM
I am now smarter than I was 2 seconds ago. Thanks.
TimberFloorAu
05-22-2008, 11:47 PM
You can also, make the window popout.
Code we use is:
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#" onClick="window.open('jukebox/index.php','JukeBox','toolbar=0,location=0,directo ries=0,status=0,menubar=0,scrollbars=1,resizable=0 ,width=520,height=600,left=380,top=120');return false;">JukeBox</a></td></tr>
Where Jukebox is a folder/ in forum root.
If you wanted it to be say Ebay.
Just change to http://ebay.com/
Ozzy
Oh and add this in Table structure of Navbar.
Templates & Styles > Default(or your style) > Navbar
oz_girl
05-23-2008, 01:45 AM
Reserved :)
dazzled
06-17-2008, 02:04 PM
Just wanted to say thanks, this was a great tutorial for a n00b like myself.
Shazz
06-17-2008, 08:19 PM
Great article for new users.
ALil'Hope
06-18-2008, 03:56 PM
I do not see:
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px">
<tr align="center">
In my navbar template anywhere. Default style.
I only see:
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:$stylevar[cellspacing]px; border-top-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.