PDA

View Full Version : Profile Enhancements - Background Image Surrounding Whole Postbit


TCE Killa
02-05-2008, 10:00 PM
This will work on any versions of VB 3.6...

If you use and like, please press install.

Description: This gives users the option in their profile to select a background image of their choice to show up in their postbit.

Note: This could mess up the text/font in the postbit so I do advise you to add a border around the text/font in the postbit legacy or postbit templates.

Simply find this code in either postbit or postbit legacy (depending which one you use):

$template_hook[postbit_userinfo_right_after_posts]

And replace it with this code:

<div style="border: 1px solid #000000; background-color: #FFFFFF; margin-bottom: 3px; padding: 3px;" width="100%">
$template_hook[postbit_userinfo_right_after_posts]
</div>

The border is set at 1 pixels and a black border (#000000) with a white background (#FFFFFF)... You can change any of that to suit your standards.

If you don't want the border to cover all of the text, simply add <div style="border: 1px solid #000000; background-color: #FFFFFF; margin-bottom: 3px; padding: 3px;" width="100%"> before each postbit text. (Example: you will add it before $post[usertitle] etc...) adding the </div> tags after. This will add an individual border around each postbit text/font.

Right now, lets get started.

First thing to do is create a new Profile Field through the Admin Control Panel.

Single Line Text Box

Title: Post Area Background

Description: Here you can add a background image for your post area (where your avatar is displayed) in posts. Just simply put in the address for your image for a cool looking post area of your choice. (Example: http://www.example.com/example.jpg)

The rest is up to you.:D

Now go to your postbit or postbit legacy template and find:

<td class="alt2" width="175" style="border: $stylevar[cellspacing]px solid $stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]; border-top: 0px; border-bottom: 0px">

Replace with:

<td class="alt2" width="175" style="border: $stylevar[cellspacing]px solid $stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]; border-top: 0px; border-bottom: 0px" style="background-image: url($post[fieldXX]);">

Just replace the XX in the fieldXX with your Post Area Background field and you're done:up:, thats it. Hope you like and please click install if you use, thanks.

S7rik3R
02-06-2008, 05:31 AM
Hmm ... might try out later ... by the way does it only supports the old kind of vbulletin? or it's compatible with the new vbulletin with horizontal indications ??

Thanks ~

TCE Killa
02-06-2008, 10:41 AM
Hmm ... might try out later ... by the way does it only supports the old kind of vbulletin? or it's compatible with the new vbulletin with horizontal indications ??

Thanks ~

I haven't tried it with the newer one, but I think it might work, just do the edits on the postbit template instead of the posbit legacy template.

MiahBeSmokin420
02-06-2008, 01:48 PM
3.6.7

$template_hook[postbit_userinfo_right_after_posts]

cant find that at all

and/or anything close to that

however i did find something close to the second one and i did just the mod on that second shit thing you said

and im not getting anything

i would realy like to get this working this was something that my members were asking for since a year ago when i got off proboards

MiahBeSmokin420
02-06-2008, 02:23 PM
ok i fixed the problem

people with vb version 3.6.7
with or with out postbit_legacy already modified

Search For:

<td class="alt2" width="175" style="border: $stylevar[cellspacing]px solid $stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]; border-top: 0px; border-bottom: 0px">

Replace with:

<td class="alt2" width="175" style="background-image: url($post[fieldXX]);" style="border: $stylevar[cellspacing]px solid $stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]; border-top: 0px; border-bottom: 0px">

Changing the XX of course

Thats is it thats all i did and it works fine on 3.6.7

TCE Killa
02-06-2008, 02:43 PM
ok i fixed the problem

people with vb version 3.6.7
with or with out postbit_legacy already modified

Search For:

<td class="alt2" width="175" style="border: $stylevar[cellspacing]px solid $stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]; border-top: 0px; border-bottom: 0px">

Replace with:

<td class="alt2" width="175" style="background-image: url($post[fieldXX]);" style="border: $stylevar[cellspacing]px solid $stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]; border-top: 0px; border-bottom: 0px">

Changing the XX of course

Thats is it thats all i did and it works fine on 3.6.7


Glad you got it to work, I tested with most versions of vBulletin 3.6.x and it worked, some I didn't test but presumed it would work anyway.

For the border thing, if you can not find that bit of text I put up, then simply add <div style="border: 1px solid #000000; background-color: #FFFFFF; margin-bottom: 3px; padding: 3px;" width="100%"> before each postbit text (location etc... in your postbit or postbit legacy), make sure you add the </div> tags after.

Please mark installed if you're using, thanks.

MiahBeSmokin420
02-06-2008, 03:11 PM
ahh see i just add

<div class="postdata">

</div>

around my lil fields in postbit legacy

bazzup
02-08-2008, 08:56 AM
so the images have to be a certain size then?

cant we get this to resize cos if someone posts a few images in their post it will have a blank space below the image in post bit

TCE Killa
02-08-2008, 12:29 PM
I am not sure how to resize them, but if you put a small background in, it repeats so there is no blank image in there.... If it is small enough, it can repeat the image 2-3 times.

bazzup
02-08-2008, 02:58 PM
I am not sure how to resize them, but if you put a small background in, it repeats so there is no blank image in there.... If it is small enough, it can repeat the image 2-3 times.

I just made one repeating anyway turned the opacity down so my text don't get covererd as easy

clicked install

TCE Killa
02-08-2008, 09:16 PM
Thanks man, glad you like it.

MiahBeSmokin420
02-08-2008, 09:34 PM
i will post the modified version of this if its alright with tce

what i did was made it so there are 3 spots you can have images

and then made the tables transparent at about a 75% oqupency

here is a live demo of what i did

http://stillfallinentertainment.com/vB-Forums/showthread.php?t=2130
(http://stillfallinentertainment.com/vB-Forums/showthread.php?t=2130)

that should give you a idea of what i did and if tce says its ok ill post my version of it

TCE Killa
02-08-2008, 10:13 PM
Yeah sure, you can post it, I'll like to see this.

MiahBeSmokin420
02-08-2008, 10:39 PM
ok im going to start a new thread for this one then cause its kinda a few mods in one to get it to work right

ill post a link in here for it as soon as i get it up

TCE Killa
02-08-2008, 11:02 PM
Kk thanks, make sure you credit me and this thread in your thread.

MiahBeSmokin420
02-08-2008, 11:06 PM
ooh ya i will for sure man

ill probally post it up tomarrow cause im having a few problems with my server right now

im just working the bugs out right now tring not to reset it cause i hate having downtime

but as soon as i get that shit all done then ill post it up

should be posted no later then 7pm eastern time on saturday

bazzup
02-09-2008, 02:08 PM
ooh ya i will for sure man

ill probally post it up tomarrow cause im having a few problems with my server right now

im just working the bugs out right now tring not to reset it cause i hate having downtime

but as soon as i get that shit all done then ill post it up

should be posted no later then 7pm eastern time on saturday

looks good especially against that black background.


I have a problem with mine the images have decided to stop showing and i dont know why?


*edit they show in internet explorer but not in firefox

MiahBeSmokin420
02-09-2008, 07:01 PM
could be a number of things

1 thing that i noticed and i cant realy figuer out it this:

for some reason when i make the custom field hidden so it dont show up on the profile page it just dont show up at all on the site

which i realy find weird cause i have other things that are the same way hidden and shit but they still show up on the site

im accually looking for a new way to do all this thats another reason why its taking me a lil whilee to post the way i did it

i would rather have it perfect and possiable be a xml product to upload rather then have template changes

but wee will see i will have my version posted here soon one way or the other it will be posted tonight

but ya the problem with firfox is..... idk i use firefox and it works find for it
just try making sure you didnt make it a hidden feild thats the only thing i can think of

that or maybe your <div> tags are not suppored in FF idk what kind you used

but anyways ima get back to getting my version of this released and ill be back here soon

yalk to yall then

MiahBeSmokin420
02-09-2008, 09:20 PM
Here ya go my version is posted

LINK TO THREAD (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=170084)

TCE Killa
02-10-2008, 03:56 PM
Thanks man.

Bubble #5
02-14-2008, 07:48 PM
Does this hack have the option to be used only in certain usergroups? :confused:

TCE Killa
02-14-2008, 09:33 PM
Nope not yet but I can work on that for the next release/version.

Bubble #5
02-14-2008, 09:57 PM
THANK YOU TCE Killa! It is much appreciated :)

blind-eddie
02-21-2008, 04:12 PM
Nice addon

Mass
03-06-2008, 10:27 PM
This is a great hack dude. I have one question, this isn't cross browser? Some of my members can't see it in FF. It works in IE though. Thanks again.

TCE Killa
03-07-2008, 11:55 AM
Yeah, I have noticed that when I tested the other day on Firefox. It is odd because the profile background image works in both IE and FF and it is pretty much the exact same code as this one, so since I saw it doesn't work for Firefox, I'm trying to figure it out and trying to get it to work with Firefox, it is odd though.

newtsys
03-07-2008, 07:12 PM
miahbesmokin your link is not working properly for me.

MiahBeSmokin420
03-08-2008, 03:38 AM
i removed my version

TCE Killa
01-26-2010, 01:56 AM
Thanks people