View Full Version : Show Thread Enhancements - Show latest threads on showthread
ThorstenA
01-23-2008, 10:00 PM
Do you ever wanted to show latest threads on showthread ? You can do that without products. All you need is to use build-in RSS feed. Here you will be presented all topics within actual forum and all subforums. It's working great!
admincp > vbulletin options > External Data Provider > set yes all
Place this code into template ad_showthread_beforeqr
<!-- show latest active threads -->
<br />
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%"
align="center">
<tbody><tr><td class="tcat">
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumhome_external')"><img
id="collapseimg_forumhome_external"
src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_tcat$vbcollapse[collapseimg_forumhome_external].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?f=$foruminfo[forumid]">New topics in $foruminfo[title]</a>
</td></tr></tbody>
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_external" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_forumhome_external]">
<tr><td class="alt1" width="100%" valign="top">
<div class="smallfont">
<script type="text/javascript" src="external.php?forumids=$foruminfo[childlist]&type=js"></script>
<script language="" type="text/javascript">
<!--
for (var x in threads)
{
document.writeln("<a href=\"showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"&goto=newpost\"><img class=\"inlineimg\" src=\"$stylevar[imgdir_button]/firstnew.gif\" alt=\"\" border=\"0\" /></a> <a href=\"showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"\">"+threads[x].title+"</a> <br />");
}
//-->
</script>
</div>
</td>
</tr></tbody>
</table>
<!-- / show latest active threads -->
Done :)
Optional
If you want to change time frame of your refreshing threads, go to
AdminCP > vBulletin Settings > External Data Provider
Change the value of Cache Lifespan to for example "1 Minute"
Hope that works great for you, too. I'd be glad to hear from you via pm.
9.2.2008 Fixed an error. Upgrade instruction: Please just copy this new code here into the template. Done.
nyqnzguju
01-25-2008, 12:29 AM
Done Or Screen shouts Please. Thanks man.
Forum Lover
01-25-2008, 07:25 AM
No screeny? screenshot please.
vwdforum
01-30-2008, 05:27 AM
Although it works I get the following error message
The conditional on line 33 appears to be missing its beginning tag (<if>). This may cause unexpected behavior.
I deleted the </if> and it still works and has no errors.
Is it possible to get it vbseo link friendly?
Will the search engines be able to read these posts?
Cheers
Mally
vwdforum
01-30-2008, 05:29 AM
Also I don't know what you mean by "all topics within actual forum and all subforums"
It just provided a list of recent posts?
SEOvB
02-05-2008, 08:03 AM
Although it works I get the following error message
The conditional on line 33 appears to be missing its beginning tag (<if>). This may cause unexpected behavior.
I deleted the </if> and it still works and has no errors.
Is it possible to get it vbseo link friendly?
Will the search engines be able to read these posts?
Cheers
Mally
It uses javascript to write the codes, so i don't think search engines will pick them up anyway
avsunforum
02-05-2008, 02:31 PM
Hmm screenshot please
smooth-c
02-08-2008, 01:29 PM
Screen please.
tackebong
02-09-2008, 08:19 AM
this is screenshot
note: to active this hack, you must turn on all option in External Data Provider
(vbulletin options > External Data Provider)(set yes all)
http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/5862/1222222222vz3.jpg
ThorstenA
02-09-2008, 08:24 PM
Thank you very much for your screenshot! This product helped me to get users attracted to similar topics within same forum.
For all: If you installed this mod, please click "Install" so maybe it will be integrated into feature vbulletin editions (like my "show who's online not for guests" modification, which made it into vbulletin 3.6).
And if you like it, please rate it. If you do not like it, please rate it, too :D
ThorstenA
02-09-2008, 08:32 PM
Although it works I get the following error message
The conditional on line 33 appears to be missing its beginning tag (<if>). This may cause unexpected behavior. I deleted the </if> and it still works and has no errors.
Is it possible to get it vbseo link friendly? Will the search engines be able to read these posts?
Unfortunately it's not going to be vbseo friendly as it is working via javascript now, and there is no javascript > vbseo integration possible until now. Search engines will not read javascript, so I think it will not be seen by them. The only workaround to make it vbseo friendly is to write a "real" product using plugins. If I have time, maybe I'll do it. If you or someone else like to do it, I'd be very glad :D
Thank you for mentioning the</if> error, I have updated the code and sent out a message for all members who clicked "installed" for this modification.
jim6763nva
03-15-2008, 02:55 PM
Any way to get this to work on top of showthread? I tried copying it to ad_showthread_firstpost but nothing happened.
Thanks for this mod though - it works great as described! :)
Jim
Baldilocks
05-11-2008, 03:57 AM
It also works in the HEADER template. :) I use it on my left side column that is coded into my header.
www.euphoricarythmia.com
Allan
05-11-2008, 05:45 AM
Thanks for this hack, work perfectly on vB 3.7 Gold :)
Click Install *
ThorstenA
05-11-2008, 06:04 AM
Thank you all. Please rate this mod, if you like ;)
Baldilocks
05-11-2008, 08:26 AM
You think you can make a mod like this, but for NEWEST POSTS instead?? :)
Super Jinni
05-12-2008, 10:59 AM
I just noticed something
it doesn't work with [you] hack..
it shows the name of member which is supposed to be the member's name [you]
I mean instead of showing the member's name as if you calling him, it shows the word [you]
so I had to remove the code till you fix this issue if you can
BTW, it's a great one, and I like it.. and I replace it as soon as the issue with [you] hack gone
thank...
:)
Super Jinni
05-12-2008, 11:05 AM
I have two more suggestions if possible
if you can limit the number of new threads which be shown as new topic because it shows more than the desired number
and if you can make it show all the new topics of all forum instead of only in one part of the forum
thanks for the nice job
Super Jinni
05-16-2008, 01:11 PM
not supported or what?
Allan
05-16-2008, 07:41 PM
not supported or what?
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/01/24.gif Not Supported
on the top ^^
Super Jinni
05-16-2008, 08:24 PM
yup
missed that ^-^
this is good one but it will be better if it is not javascript
if anyone can make it as a blog-in or product, I think it will be such a great thing
and after all, be supported
anyway, thanks Allan...
:)
outiv
05-27-2008, 12:15 PM
Is there anyway to use this method to show latest posts (not threads, I mean individual posts).
IvyKeepMommy
06-09-2008, 09:41 PM
Can you direct me in what changes I would need to make to pull the threads from a sister vbulletin site?
basketmen
07-24-2008, 06:23 AM
i had try but i cant use this with vbulletin 3.6.8
do you think this mod can be using with vbulletin 3.6?
ThorstenA
07-24-2008, 06:28 AM
Yes, just put this code into template showthread where you want.
Artes_Marciales
07-27-2008, 08:31 AM
Thanks!
**install**
ThorstenA
07-27-2008, 08:34 AM
Is there anyway to use this method to show latest posts (not threads, I mean individual posts).
This modification only shows what javascript can get out of official vbulletin external feed. And this is only thread title, threadid and username.
GrandHolyKing
07-28-2008, 03:12 AM
Thanks a lot for this, hope you don't mind but I placed it elsewhere in order to fit the theme of my forum.
ThorstenA
07-28-2008, 03:45 AM
Thanks a lot for this, hope you don't mind but I placed it elsewhere in order to fit the theme of my forum.
looks great :D
baghdad4ever
10-03-2008, 08:21 AM
thanks
apiasto
10-03-2008, 10:29 AM
good job,you know i put this hack on main forum and you can get more out of it.
1.it shows the new threads from different forums on the main forum
2.it shows new threads made in show threads of that forum.
hope its ok with you :D
apiasto
10-03-2008, 10:46 PM
for some reason its not updating the info
ThorstenA
10-04-2008, 07:50 AM
for some reason its not updating the info
Sorry I do not understand completely. Could you tell me which information are not updated? Thank you.
punjabi.king
10-05-2008, 11:23 AM
threads are not being updated can u help???
apiasto
10-05-2008, 11:55 AM
when user makes a thread,it does not show in the panel,even after refresh
ThorstenA
10-05-2008, 12:04 PM
threads are not being updated can u help???
Please let me some time to answer within this thread. You wrote me a pm less than one hour after you wrote your post. It usually takes some days until I response.
This modification fetches vbulletin RSS for showing threads. RSS is updated every 15 minutes or every hour. This is built into vbulletin. It maybe possible to change that in vbulletin admincp > change schedules, but I do not know how to do this.
when user makes a thread,it does not show in the panel,even after refresh
This modification fetches vbulletin RSS for showing threads. RSS is updated every 15 minutes or every hour. This is built into vbulletin. It maybe possible to change that in vbulletin admincp > change schedules, but I do not know how to do this.
punjabi.king
10-05-2008, 01:53 PM
^^ thanks for that bro and sorry for the pm, only reason i pm'ed you is because it was urgent!!
i first replied to the thread and then i thought that you could be busy so i sent you the pm...
anywayz here is the solution for you apiasto
AdminCP---->vBulletin Settings---->External Data Proider
Change the value of Cache Lifespan to 1
^ by doing this vBulletin will fetch the threads data in a minute and latest threads will be updated soon....:)
ThorstenA
10-05-2008, 02:10 PM
Thanks, I will put these information in #1 post.
apiasto
10-05-2008, 10:31 PM
^^ thanks for that bro and sorry for the pm, only reason i pm'ed you is because it was urgent!!
i first replied to the thread and then i thought that you could be busy so i sent you the pm...
anywayz here is the solution for you apiasto
AdminCP---->vBulletin Settings---->External Data Proider
Change the value of Cache Lifespan to 1
^ by doing this vBulletin will fetch the threads data in a minute and latest threads will be updated soon....:)
thnx punjabi i appreciate it.i will try later :up:
molleeb
06-04-2009, 01:37 PM
Works really neatly, I have it here: http://www.pregnancy.org/bulletinboards/index_original.php check it out :) Now, is there a way to modify this so that it can be between the breadcrumb header and the listing of posts?
webnsn
11-07-2015, 03:50 PM
This is Super Super
Can i show Threads with Photos (if any pic is in the thread?
Demo @ http://wikinewforum.com/showthread.php?p=998451
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.