View Full Version : Show Thread Enhancements - User Color/Font In Posts Editable Via Profile
ShadowOne
01-10-2008, 10:00 PM
Whats Up,
I was looking for something like this and couldnt find it for 3.6. But i do give most of the credit to gio~logist for the idea even though i knew how to do this, dont wanna look like im taking credit for something i didnt do.Its like his for 3.5 except i added a color wheel link pop up. I dont have alot of coding experience, but template mods are not hard. Just wanted to kinda share this.
Details: Allows users to edit their font color and their font type for when they post. It also puts a link where your users can find a colorwheel next to the description!
Installation: 5 Mins
First Thing You Need To Do:
Go to User Profile Fields > Add New User Profile Field
Choose: Single-Line Text Box
Title: Font Color In Posts
Description: This will be your font color when posting. (Ex: #000000 is black)<br /> <a href="http://html-color-codes.info/" onclick="window.open('http://html-color-codes.info/');
return false;" target="newWin"><b>Click Here For Color Codes</b></a>
Max length of allowed user input: 7
Click Save!
Second Thing You Need To Do:
Go to User Profile Fields > Add New User Profile Field
Choose: Single-Line Text Box
Title: Font In Posts
Description: This font will appear when posting. (Example: Verdana)
Max length of allowed user input: 15
Click Save!
Last Edit your postbit or postbit legacy Template whichever one you use.
Find this code:
$post[message]
Replace it with this code:
<if condition="$post['fieldX'] != '' OR $post['fieldX'] != ''">
<font style="font-family:$post[fieldX]; color:$post[fieldX];">$post[message]</font>
<else />
$post[message]
</if>
Be sure to edit the X's with whatever field these are or this will not work! To edit, go to:
Profile > Edit Profile and it will probably be somewhere towards the bottom.
PLEASE CLICK INSTALL (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=167487)
ENJOY!
SCREENSHOT: The Red Blur Is The Link For The Colorwheel
bokmade
01-11-2008, 05:56 AM
Install for Sure ..
Thanks You VM ..
UncoderMom
01-11-2008, 11:09 AM
Can I set this for just certain usergroups?
TCE Killa
01-11-2008, 11:33 AM
This is great, thanks alot.
Magnumutz
01-11-2008, 01:28 PM
Would be nice to have this as a product and with usergroup restrictions.
Legendery.
01-11-2008, 05:40 PM
thanks :D :D
johnrizz
01-11-2008, 07:36 PM
Be sure to edit the X's with whatever field these are or this will not work! To edit, go to:
Profile > Edit Profile and it will probably be somewhere towards the bottom.
I'm not to sure on what go's where so could you please be more specific? Thanks!
Font Color In Posts >>field11
Font In Posts >>field12
<if condition="$post['fieldX'] != '' OR $post['fieldX'] != ''">
<font style="font-family:$post[fieldX]; color:$post[fieldX];">$post[message]</font>
<else />
$post[message]
</if>
TCE Killa
01-11-2008, 07:56 PM
I'm not to sure on what go's where so could you please be more specific? Thanks!
Font Color In Posts >>field11
Font In Posts >>field12
<if condition="$post['fieldX'] != '' OR $post['fieldX'] != ''">
<font style="font-family:$post[fieldX]; color:$post[fieldX];">$post[message]</font>
<else />
$post[message]
</if>
<if condition="$post['field11'] != '' OR $post['field12'] != ''">
<font style="font-family:$post[field12]; color:$post[field11];">$post[message]</font>
Hope that helped:D
johnrizz
01-11-2008, 08:23 PM
it did, thanks alot!
TCE Killa
01-11-2008, 08:34 PM
No problem.
ShadowOne
01-11-2008, 08:41 PM
Sorry I just got the chance to get back online, i was at work. Well I dont know how to make plugins but i could probably make it usergroup permissions. I will have it up tonight. :D
ShadowOne
01-11-2008, 08:41 PM
thanks :D :D
Please press install if you are using it.
Forum Lover
01-11-2008, 08:55 PM
Please press install if you are using it.
okay. clicked install. now make the usergroup permission please. :D
ShadowOne
01-11-2008, 09:22 PM
okay. clicked install. now make the usergroup permission please. :D
Working on it right now...
elviejoepu
01-11-2008, 11:26 PM
I have a problem,
my field6: Color de letras (color)
My field7: Tipo de fuente (font)
<if condition="$post['field6'] != '' OR $post['field7'] != ''">
<font style="font-family:$post[field7]; color:$post[field6];">$post[message]</font>
<else />
$post[message]
</if></div>
is not working... what im doing wrong?
ShadowOne
01-12-2008, 10:49 AM
I have a problem,
my field6: Color de letras (color)
My field7: Tipo de fuente (font)
<if condition="$post['field6'] != '' OR $post['field7'] != ''">
<font style="font-family:$post[field7]; color:$post[field6];">$post[message]</font>
<else />
$post[message]
</if></div>
is not working... what im doing wrong?
Try This...
<if condition="$post['field6'] != '' OR $post['field7'] != ''">
<font style="font-family:$post[field6]; color:$post[field7];">$post[message]</font>
<else />
$post[message]
</if></div>
ShadowOne
01-12-2008, 10:50 AM
Oh and uhm the usergroup permissions may take a lil longer than expected. Its not as easy as one may think. But I am working on it :D
UncoderMom
01-12-2008, 03:00 PM
I dont know how to make a plug in either but Im sure there is a nifty TUT somewhere here on the org. :)
Cant wait to install later! This with usergroup permissions is JUST what I need! teehee
elviejoepu
01-12-2008, 05:14 PM
ok , Work Excelente... gracias :D
ShadowOne
01-12-2008, 07:16 PM
ok , Work Excelente... gracias :D
Your Welcome... Still Working On User Permissions.... Not Lookin Good...:(
UncoderMom
01-13-2008, 01:13 PM
Thank you so much for your effort ShadowOne!
ShadowOne
01-13-2008, 05:04 PM
Thank you so much for your effort ShadowOne!
You welcome... Please press install
Im sadly still tryin to work on usergroup permissions...if anyone has any ideas, let me know!
bijju
01-13-2008, 06:26 PM
let me try
mystic10
01-17-2008, 04:00 PM
this is what i did and placed in postbit
<!-- message -->
<div id="post_message_$post[postid]"><if condition="$post['field14'] != '' OR $post['field15'] != ''"> <font style="font-family:$post[field14]; color:$post[field15];">$post[message]</font> <else /> $post[message] </if>
</div>
<!-- / message -->
it shows in my profile but when i post a reply no change please guide
PinkDaisy
01-27-2008, 02:07 PM
is there a way to interpret the size in this as well?
joeycano
01-29-2008, 09:05 PM
How do you decide whether to modify postbit or postbit Legacy???
Also, for some reason the fonts don't change. Do I need to add fonts to some folder???
joeycano
02-03-2008, 12:32 AM
Looks like no support here?
Thelonius Beck
02-04-2008, 06:23 AM
How do you decide whether to modify postbit or postbit Legacy???
I have found that you need modify them both or you will not be able to post at all. At least it worked like that for me with 3.6.8.
Chachacha
02-04-2008, 04:27 PM
Its a great idea for a modification... but it doesn't include the selected color when someone quotes the user. Too bad, I really like the idea. I'll have to disable it until it works in quotes.
joeycano
02-07-2008, 02:20 AM
Un-installed as there is obviously no support
ShadowOne
02-08-2008, 02:47 PM
Looks like no support here?
Not understanding your problem... fonts change for me when i type in the font name...
intricatic
02-10-2008, 01:02 AM
Is there any way to do this with a dropdown box, and have it save the value to the database so it won't reset constantly?
Thelonius Beck
02-10-2008, 11:51 PM
I have installed this, but am having something of an issue.Members using IE do not see the changes in their posts. Any ideas?
boomcar68
02-11-2008, 04:15 AM
It would be nice if there is an option where people can choose the availble fonts.
Shaheen
02-12-2008, 02:34 AM
doesnt work for me**
gibigbig
03-22-2008, 11:06 AM
thanks i used this for my site: animedreamz.net/forums
worked perfectly
LisaJH
03-30-2008, 12:14 PM
Damn its not working for me either :S
Medina
04-04-2008, 11:53 AM
It`s not working. When a member posting, it`s seems to work. But when a member leave the topic and come back and look at his reaction. It doesn`t still the same color and/or font.
But a administrator or a moderator doesn`t have this problem..
help.
ChU v2
04-04-2008, 09:30 PM
Very good idea, I'm going to try and tweak the code a little bit for usergroup permissions and other options, if you don't mind
ShadowOne
04-05-2008, 08:50 PM
Very good idea, I'm going to try and tweak the code a little bit for usergroup permissions and other options, if you don't mind
not at all, ive been busy working, sorry no help... but tweak as you may
ChU v2
04-06-2008, 03:50 PM
Very good idea, I'm going to try and tweak the code a little bit for usergroup permissions and other options, if you don't mind
My version here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=175282
za3bour
04-20-2008, 11:45 AM
does is support font size ?
xtracate
09-21-2008, 04:41 AM
This is wonderful, I cannot tell you how helpful this is I was pulling my hair out trying to make font colors work.
Thanks so much for this.
woffie
02-17-2009, 09:36 AM
This works for 3.8 also. I am trying to figure out how to add font size. And, you can do a dropdown menu for the font. It makes it much easier for the members to choose a font.
woffie
02-22-2009, 01:51 AM
Not sure if anyone can help me here. I did get this to work on 3.8.1. I tried to add font size and got some success, but not complete success.
I create a profile field called font size. I did a drop down menu just like I did for the font. A little different than this mod, but it makes it much easier for the members instead of writing in the font. Anyway. I changed the code to the following
<if condition="$post['field10'] != '' OR $post['field12'] != '' OR $post['field13'] != ''"> <font style="font-size:$post[field13]; font-family:$post[field12]; color:$post[field10]; ">$post[message]</font> <else /> $post[message] </if>
That replaces
$post[message]
in postbit or postbit legacy
It works if you post in the quick reply, but when the page is refreshed, it goes back to normal. It is not staying the font size. I am not a coder at all. I just tried to duplicate what was done for the other two fields. If anyone can tell me what is wrong with the code, I would greatly appreciate it.
Bigpheonix
02-22-2009, 11:31 PM
Thanks, i like it a lot
oldfart22
03-26-2009, 02:45 AM
First off I'm not at all a coder but messed with this for days till I got font size to work.. I made a 3rd custom field for the font size and added to the code.. Its working fine for me..
Title = Font Size In Posts
Description = This font size will appear when posting. Example: 2pt, 3pt, 4pt, 5pt, 6pt, 7pt
Max length = 15
Field Length = 25
Single-Line Text Box
Field Required = no
Field Searchable on Members List = yes
Show on Members List = yes
Last Edit your postbit or postbit legacy Template whichever one you use.
Find this code:
Code:
$post[message]Replace it with this code:
Code:
<div id="post_message_$post[postid]">
$ad_location[ad_showthread_firstpost_start]
<if condition="$post['fieldx']!= '' OR $post['fieldx']!= '' OR $post['fieldx']!= ''">
<font style="font-family:$post[fieldx];color:$post[fieldx];font style="font-size:$post[fieldx];">$post[message]</font> <else />
$post[message]
</if>
</div>
When you edit the font size in usercp enter value like this <font size = 3pt> Not sure if you need the pt or not but it works for me..
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.