Log in

View Full Version : Make Member a drop down menu


SVTCobraLTD
12-31-2007, 11:31 AM
I havent quite figured out the drop down menu's because all the other ones I have tried that were posted on here, seem to not work with the style I have installed on the site. None the less, below is a copy of the search drop down menu, can some edit this so I can make my Member button a drop down?

<!-- header quick search form -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="navbar_search_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[search_forums]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">
<form action="search.php?do=process" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
<input type="hidden" name="quicksearch" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="childforums" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="exactname" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<div><input type="text" class="bginput" name="query" size="25" tabindex="1001" /><input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[go]" tabindex="1004" /></div>
<div style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px">
<label for="rb_nb_sp0"><input type="radio" name="showposts" value="0" id="rb_nb_sp0" tabindex="1002" checked="checked" />$vbphrase[show_threads]</label>
&nbsp;
<label for="rb_nb_sp1"><input type="radio" name="showposts" value="1" id="rb_nb_sp1" tabindex="1003" />$vbphrase[show_posts]</label>
</div>
</form>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[advanced_search]</a></td>
</tr>
$template_hook[navbar_search_menu]
</table>
</div>
<!-- / header quick search form -->
_____________________________________________

<td align="left" valign="top" width="99" height="32" id="navbar_search"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/nav_search.gif" width="99" height="32" border="0" alt="" /></a><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navbar_search" ,1); </script></td>

SVT

Freesteyelz
12-31-2007, 10:06 PM
In order for the drop down script to work you need several things: The ID, the script and menu variables. Experiment with the following (for navbar template):

Place wherever you want it to show.


<td id="mymenu" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#mymenu" accesskey="3">My Menu Test</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("mymenu"); </script></td>



Find


<!-- NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->



Add after:


<!-- mymenu -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="mymenu" style="display:none" align="$stylevar[left]">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">

<tr><td class="thead">My Drop Down Menu Section 1</td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#">Link 1</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#">Link 2</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#">Link 3</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="thead">My Drop Down Menu Section 2</td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#">Link 1</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#">Link 2</a></td></tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / mymenu -->



The ID in red is key. That will identify each drop down code; no two should have the same ID in a page. So if you want to create another menu change "mymenu" in all places and add something like "articles".

The drop down code example can be applied to any template. :)

SVTCobraLTD
01-01-2008, 01:28 PM
Not sure why, but it was not working on my desktop computer. I got on my laptop and it works.

SVT

Freesteyelz
01-01-2008, 02:44 PM
For your PC, do you have Javascript enabled?