PDA

View Full Version : Total posts in thread


Parker Clack
12-03-2007, 10:00 PM
I used to have a little template mod on an older version of vB that would count the number of posts in a thread and display this in the post count. So if you have a thread with a post coult of 20 this will show up as #1 of 20, #5 0f 20, etc.

Thanks to Dean C for the help with this.

First open either postbit or postbit_legacy and change

<if condition="$show['postcount']">#<a href="showpost.php?$session[sessionurl]p=$post[postid]&amp;postcount=$post[postcount]" target="new" rel="nofollow" id="postcount$post[postid]" name="$post[postcount]"><strong>$post[postcount]</strong></a></if>

to

<if condition="$show['postcount']">#<a href="showpost.php?$session[sessionurl]p=$post[postid]&amp;postcount=$post[postcount]" target="new" rel="nofollow" id="postcount$post[postid]" name="$post[postcount]"><strong>$post[postcount]</strong></a> of <b>$totalposts</b></if>

then go to AdminCP > Plugin System > Plugin Manager > Add New Plugin

Product: vBulletin
Hook Location: postbit_display_start
Title: Total Posts
PHP Plugin Code: $totalposts=$thread[replycount]+1;
Plugin Is Active: Yes

Screen shot:

http://www.hometheaterforum.com/images/totalposts.jpg

Parker

Triky
12-05-2007, 09:53 AM
I don't know if this will work on the postbit(_legacy) template, but it works on the SHOWTHREAD template: $thread[replycount]. So, if it works on the postbit(_legacy) template, then you can use this one without using a plugin.
Edit: Tested. It works.

Parker Clack
12-05-2007, 09:40 PM
Triky:

I am using $thread[replycount] in postbit_legacy in the plugin as I have to add 1 to the count as replycount doesn't include the 1st post.

dvbusuario
12-26-2007, 01:46 AM
Don't Work