PDA

View Full Version : Searchbar in the header


Audentio
11-22-2007, 11:24 PM
Hey there!

I want to have a search bar, just a regular input box, so people can search. I already have everything setup.

My current coding:

<form action="search.php?do=process" method="post" name="vbform" id="searchform">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
<input type="hidden" name="searchthreadid" value="1" />
<input size="29" class="searchbar_input" />
</form>

Is obviously not working. I just want it to search, but I would love for it to be set on searching titles only. Is there a way I could do that, specifically without a select menu. I just want one input that when keywords are entered, it searches for thread title.

Doughboy
11-23-2007, 09:20 AM
Try this?
<form action="search.php?do=process" method="post">

<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
<input type="hidden" name="quicksearch" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="childforums" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="exactname" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="" />

<input style="width: 178px; padding: 1px; height: 13px; font-family: Verdana; font-size: 10px; color: #000000; border: 1px solid #CCCCCC;" type="text" name="query" size="25" tabindex="1001" />

<input TYPE="IMAGE" src="images/go.png" value="Go" name="Go" tabindex="1004" />

</form>

Audentio
11-24-2007, 01:15 AM
It seems to be a general search though right? Its not by title is it? Is there a way to do that? But other than that, it works fine.

Audentio
01-28-2008, 03:35 AM
Im going to bump this because Id really like to know how to have just a search and go button that automatically goes to search for thread titles, not in posts, just keywords in the thread titles.