View Full Version : Merging threads
PhilipAlv
11-12-2007, 09:02 AM
Hi,an old admin in my forum got into my database and deleted my username.i got everything restored through vB.com
now,here is the problem.All the old threads i posted are now showing up as posted by 'Guest'
is there any way i can get the threads back ?
i have come back in the same old username....
thanks
Marco van Herwaarden
11-12-2007, 09:39 AM
Make a note of your new userid and use that in the following 2 queries (replace NEW_USERID and USERNAME with the correct values):
update post set userid = NEW_USERID where username = 'USERNAME';
update thread set postuserid = NEW_USERID where postusername = 'USERNAME';
You might need to run update counters and maybe clear your post cache before the change will show.
PhilipAlv
11-12-2007, 09:47 AM
thanks for the reply....
a small doubt...USERNAME is the old id that got deleted...right..?
Marco van Herwaarden
11-12-2007, 10:01 AM
USERNAME = the old username (and you stated that you created a new account with the same name, so same as new name also)
PS Create a backup before running manual queries.
PhilipAlv
11-17-2007, 04:11 PM
Hi,i tried running the query..but i m getting this error...
An error occurred while attempting to execute your query. The following information was returned.
error number: 1146
error desc: Table 'mydatabase_me.post' doesn't exist
I havent changed or removed any tables from my database...
--------------- Added 1195323224 at 1195323224 ---------------
i do have a table which says vb_post in my vB database...this table is around 48 MB in size...
I used the "manual query" option in the admincp....
calorie
11-17-2007, 05:09 PM
Try adding vb_ to the table names in the post two queries.
PhilipAlv
11-17-2007, 07:20 PM
Hi, so instead of "update post set userid ",i got to type in "update vb_post set userid"...right...?
my config.php file says
Prefix that your vBulletin tables have in the database.
$config['Database']['tableprefix'] = 'vb_';
i guess this is the reason why all my tables start with vb_
is there any particular advantage in setting it like this ?
--------------- Added 1195335716 at 1195335716 ---------------
Hi,i changed 'post with "vb_post" and i m now getting this error
error number: 1146
error desc: Table 'mydatabase_me.vb_' doesn't exist
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.