View Full Version : online status on non-vb pages
Keyser S?ze
11-04-2007, 09:34 PM
is this possible for anyone to do?
ravyn
11-07-2007, 07:29 PM
it is doable, in fact I have it on my site, but I'll be darned if I can remember how to do it. if I find the info on how to do it, I'll post it for ya.
ckeck out my site (http://www.coldfusioninacan.com)
Andrew Green
11-07-2007, 07:45 PM
Yes, you need to include global.php, and (this one confused me for a bit) output a template for it to take effect.
This should get you stated:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=62164
ravyn
11-07-2007, 07:51 PM
LOL, I just went through my favorites to find that page. that's the one I used! I was actually looking for this because I needed to add more pages.
I found it a little confusing too, but only at first. once I figured out what I was doing wrong, it became easy. If you need any help, PM and I'll help you out.
Keyser S?ze
11-08-2007, 01:13 AM
can you setup like a walk thru thats easier?
thanks
ravyn
11-09-2007, 06:49 PM
well, it's not my walk thru, of course, but I think I can simplify it....
the main idea that Gary King was trying to show was that each page needs global.php. so as long as you place require_once('./global.php'); somewhere in your header then it will work. the great thing about calling this onto each page is that you have the added bonus of incorporating each page with the VB style by also calling in the VB header (I can explain more about that later, but for the actual issue on hand...)
once each nonVB page has the global line, go to functions_online.php in the includes folder. Usinf the find function on your text editor, find:
case 'bugs.php':
$userinfo['activity'] = 'bugs';
break;
when you find that, then paste this right above it:
case 'test.php':
$userinfo['activity'] = 'test';
break;
replace test with the name of your page. Example: I have an art page called art.php, so mine looks like:
case 'art.php':
$userinfo['activity'] = 'art';
break;
just one more step...
now find:
case 'modcplogin':
$userinfo['action'] = $vbphrase['moderator_control_panel_login'];
break;
and below, add:
case 'test':
$userinfo['action'] = 'Viewing Test Page';
break;
again, replacing test with the name of your page. another example:
case 'art':
$userinfo['action'] = 'Viewing Art Gallery';
break;
now, every time a user goes to that page, the functions_online.php will tell VB what that page is. Just save and upload it back to the server and test. let me know how it goes.
note: when I use the find function to locate the areas where I am supposed to insert new code, I only use the first line because otherwise it tends to confuse the search thingy and it will tell you that nothing was found.
Keyser S?ze
11-09-2007, 10:26 PM
this is accually very helpful, but not what i was looking for sadly, what i wanted was, i have a contact page of ppl that will help with like say computer hardware or gaming, that type thing, and i wanted when ppl view that page for them to know is tht user currently online
like how on the orums it shows in postbit if the poster is online of not
online/offline on a non vb page
Keyser S?ze
11-20-2007, 07:16 AM
is this just not possible or what?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.