View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Weather: Current Conditions
calorie
10-05-2007, 10:00 PM
Display current weather conditions, updated hourly. See the attached screenshot.
Requirements:
file_get_contents, fopen, fwrite, fclose
rss feed from the weather.gov website
This means that you need PHP configured to allow you to use the listed functions.
Plus the only feed tested with this mod is from weather.gov which is not worldwide.
Lionel
10-06-2007, 08:53 PM
Man you are on the roll. It's nice to see you back in force.
iogames
10-06-2007, 09:54 PM
You're on Fire! ;)
Doctor Death
10-06-2007, 09:54 PM
This is a nice mod, but I would much rather it access for EACH user their zip code (user defined field) and tell what their weather is/will be on a separate template.
Problem is, with users scattered all over the US, they dont care about weather here.
Would this be hard to do?
Thanks much
calorie
10-06-2007, 11:29 PM
Thanks for the thanks.
@Doctor Death: haven't thought about it, current weather is probably best for a community site, though you might try checking the "Similar Mod" box in this thread for ideas.
Shazz
10-06-2007, 11:37 PM
Would like to see how accurate it is :)
Doctor Death
10-07-2007, 12:00 AM
There is nothing that does what I suggested... I would think that having a user defined field of zip code and if there is something in it, use that as the index lookup, and if not, use the server zip code.
Oh well. Thanks anyway.
ChU v2
10-07-2007, 03:09 AM
Here is code to add a link. Maybe someone else can figure out how to get it to actually display. This link is for your navbar.
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option">
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]">
<a href = "http://www.weather.com/weather/local/$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]?lswe=$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]&lwsa=WeatherLocalUndeclared&from=whatwhere">weather</a>
</if>
Replacing XX with the field that you set in the ACP.
Magnumutz
10-07-2007, 04:17 AM
Dude, that's great. I'm gonna use it right now.
Dragons76
10-07-2007, 05:23 AM
It's only for USA ?
Not for France !!
Doctor Death
10-07-2007, 05:19 PM
Here is code to add a link. Maybe someone else can figure out how to get it to actually display. This link is for your navbar.
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option">
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]">
<a href = "http://www.weather.com/weather/local/$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]?lswe=$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]&lwsa=WeatherLocalUndeclared&from=whatwhere">weather</a>
</if>
Replacing XX with the field that you set in the ACP.
Anyone who gets this functionality working please let me know as I would like their advice/assist in implementing it in mine.
Thanks much, very exciting!
Scooterpig
10-07-2007, 10:29 PM
Looks great and thanks but yea for my site we are scattered all over Australia and no point in having just the 1 location weather showing, so need the option of looking elsewhere, but great idea though thank you.
johnrizz
10-07-2007, 10:35 PM
I keep getting an error that reads.
Warning: fopen(/home/public_html/includes/cron/extras/weather.txt) [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /includes/cron/extras/weather.php on line 75
Warning: fwrite(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /includes/cron/extras/weather.php on line 76
Warning: fclose(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /includes/cron/extras/weather.php on line 77
meissenation
10-07-2007, 11:03 PM
Installed and works great! I wonder, though, is it at all possible to have multiple location capability, or even like Doctor Death was asking, be able to use a field? We already have a zip code field on my website, would be awesome to be able to use that with this product.
meissenation
10-07-2007, 11:08 PM
I keep getting an error that reads.
Warning: fopen(/home/public_html/includes/cron/extras/weather.txt) [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /includes/cron/extras/weather.php on line 75
Warning: fwrite(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /includes/cron/extras/weather.php on line 76
Warning: fclose(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /includes/cron/extras/weather.php on line 77
The description for Weather File is a little misleading... it should read:
Enter into this box the full server path to the weather.txt file and make sure you change the weather.txt file to have 777 permissions. Note that a server path is not an HTTP link. Example: /home/username/public_html/domain/forum/includes/cron/extras/weather.txt
Where "username" is the username you use to login to your backend control panel for your web server, cpanel, for example. I kept getting the same error, so I did a search of all of my settings that had "public_html" in it, and found a little better explanation under the Error Handling and Logging section.
chuchukuttie
10-08-2007, 06:48 PM
This would be an amazing mod if it was world-wide weather cast, but good work though.
johnrizz
10-08-2007, 08:45 PM
The description for Weather File is a little misleading... it should read:
Enter into this box the full server path to the weather.txt file and make sure you change the weather.txt file to have 777 permissions. Note that a server path is not an HTTP link. Example: /home/username/public_html/domain/forum/includes/cron/extras/weather.txt
Where "username" is the username you use to login to your backend control panel for your web server, cpanel, for example. I kept getting the same error, so I did a search of all of my settings that had "public_html" in it, and found a little better explanation under the Error Handling and Logging section.
Thanks meissenation, I'll give this a better look over to see where I went wrong....
Magnumutz
10-09-2007, 12:03 PM
Damn, it doesn't work with Europe at all...
johnrizz
10-13-2007, 10:42 PM
Ok I finally got this to work but now what? could someone please explain how to make this go horizontal instead of vertical? thanks!
johnrizz
10-19-2007, 01:59 AM
Bump! is there a way? anybody?
txspaderz
10-19-2007, 03:03 AM
Change the width
Doctor Death
10-19-2007, 09:36 AM
Uninstalled. This mod could have been so much more.
basketmen
10-20-2007, 02:35 AM
two question
- is there live demo link?
- support for asia (indonesia exactly) ?
johnrizz
10-20-2007, 10:04 AM
Change the width
I just found out what I was doing wrong... It wasn't the width, I forgot to add the <!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info --> part of it...... but thanks anyways with the offered help....
Bundy
10-29-2007, 12:15 AM
Hi,
Is there's links rss feed for an Australian weather sites.
I can't seems to get it to work.
Thanks
Dragons76
10-31-2007, 09:19 AM
It's only for USA ?
Not for French state ?
mofeu
12-15-2007, 04:47 PM
I want to find weather conditions for Greece,Holland and Belgium in Celcius .
Where can I find?
Thanks
SuperTaz
12-15-2007, 05:52 PM
It's only for USA ?
Not for French state ?
It's quoted above:
Plus the only feed tested with this mod is from weather.gov which is not worldwide.
flyboyindy
12-16-2007, 02:42 PM
This has been a really tricky add on. After going through alot to get it running and installed, now all i get is "Forthcoming"... and no weather ever shows up. Any ideas?
yuriy
12-16-2007, 07:59 PM
Does the weather display different for each registered member?
GuaRRand
02-21-2008, 09:31 AM
Does the weather display different for each registered member?
That would own....
But it doesnt sadly.
Anyone found a similar, but better addon?
jlew24asu
12-05-2008, 04:52 PM
back from the dead.
so I installed this and it says
Forthcoming.....
will this work for 3.7?
http://www.chicagophotoshop.com/forums/index.php
jlew24asu
12-08-2008, 10:58 AM
please please please? :)
DynaMow
07-14-2009, 11:27 AM
uninstalled.
we are a lawn and landscaping forum, weather is our life. Have local weather would be awesome for all our members, it would save them a different site visit.
Thanks for try, though I am pretty sure they do not give a crap how my weather is, but would like to see theirs.
http://turftopics.com
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.