Log in

View Full Version : [How-to] Unique subdomain for each member profile


coderphp
08-11-2007, 10:00 PM
Hi All

As for Blogs and Free hosting websites we see every user in the website given a unique subdomain, something like user.example.com, Did you ever wonder how this is done? Is the webmaster waiting for new users to activate their sub-domain manually, of course not this must be done automatically, infact automagically ;)
in the following lines you will be learned how to do that in your website.
WARNING: The following tutorial (in Step 1) contains some slight configuration with the webserver, you should ask your webhost to do them for you, or, if you have priviliges to the server be cautious or you will put yourself in endless problems
Again if you dont know how to do that ask for a pro to do it for you.
NOTE:
1- montadaphp.net is to be replaced with your Domain name allover the tutorial.
2- 66.66.66.66 is to be replaced by your website IP (either Shared or Dedicated) allover this tutorial.

Demo:
See what this page leads to: coder.montadaphp.net (http://coder.montadaphp.net)
or this amine.montadaphp.net (http://amine.montadaphp.net)


Step 1: Server configuration:
NOTE: be sure to take a backup of the files:
/var/named/montadaphp.net.db
/usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

* Execute this command using your Shell program (you can download one HERE (http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/%7Esgtatham/putty/download.html)):

pico /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
Note that the path of the file may vary accoring to ur system or config, if you dont find the file in the specified path use the command (locate httpd.conf) to find the right path for you.

Search for something like that:

http://www.montadaphp.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=281

Where you should replace:

ServerAlias montadaphp.net www.montadaphp.net
with:

ServerAlias montadaphp.net www.montadaphp.net *.montadaphp.net
then save the file and Close..


* Then execute this command in Shell window:

pico /var/named/montadaphp.net.db
Add the following line anywhere in the file:

*.montadaphp.net. IN A 66.66.66.66
Save and close the file
Restart your Named & httpd services
or restart the whole webserver


Step 2: Writing .htaccess file to redirect subdomains:
Create a new file named .htaccess or edit ur existing file (if there is one) and add the following code:

RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www\.
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(.+)\.montadaphp\.net
RewriteRule ^(.*) http://www.montadaphp.net/member.php?username=%1 [R=301,L]
and upload it to your forum's root (usually public_html)

Done
waiting for comments and questions :)
Regards
Mahmoud

0tolerance
10-24-2007, 10:54 AM
this is a tottally awesome article, im deffinately going to use it!
A big thanks :), this will deffinately aid me.

Zorck
11-06-2007, 04:13 PM
wow! excellent article.

Thanks a lot!

meenstreek
06-05-2008, 11:35 PM
Thank you very much! This works great ;).

shofolofo
06-13-2008, 04:50 AM
Thanks for the great article

but i have a couple of questions :
Is there a way to do this via cpanel?
as i'm not comfortable with editing server's configs .

does it have cn immediate effect?
as when i try to create a custom subdomain in cpanel it tells me that it requires some time to be activated as it will be published over DNS servers .

karlm
06-14-2008, 11:58 AM
Demo:
See what this page leads to: coder.montadaphp.net (http://coder.montadaphp.net)
or this amine.montadaphp.net (http://amine.montadaphp.net)

Page cannot be found...?

mmoore5553
09-08-2008, 11:14 AM
is there a way to have them setup a image gallery ? i would love to do this ?

bharvey42
09-15-2008, 05:14 AM
I couldn't get this to work on my VPS

Brandon Sheley
09-15-2008, 05:18 AM
I'm going to give this a try on our new forum
thanks!

trigxm
11-07-2008, 05:16 PM
I couldn't get this to work on my VPS

If your running Plesk, you'll have to put the information in

VHOST_TLD/conf/httpd.conf

Gamelobby
11-30-2008, 06:39 PM
Does this still work.? (3.7x)

I think it would be great, but afraid of odd usernames screwing things up.

Ex:
~-+\username/+-~

AlShammari
01-19-2009, 01:14 PM
this will only redirect the files with fake subdomains not real subdomains because it never been created.

but thanks coderphp for this tip.

it's greate one

peoplez
04-18-2010, 06:17 PM
hey bro, is their a way to setit up for a special user group only ?

final kaoss
12-22-2010, 04:02 PM
Interesting idea but my concerns are does this method have an impact on SEO vs leaving the member pages as is?

vAsia
01-09-2012, 05:30 AM
How would you modify it to have forumname in subdomain?

http://yourname.com/forumdisplay.php?4, where the forum name is "money"

When you url http://money.yourname.com, the content of http://yourname.com/forumdisplay.php?4 where the forum name is "money"