PDA

View Full Version : custom page


Chadi
08-08-2007, 01:19 PM
I created a custom template/page based on this tutorial.
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=197563

My problem is I do not know what to input in the code/body area for RealChat
(software / unix edition http://www.realchat.com/chat-server-software.php).

I installed it with vbulletin integration
http://www.realchat.com/doc/database-integration.html

However, I just do not know what would go in the body of the custom template I created. I simply copied the body portion I found in the page source, but that only showed blank page when I pulled it up.

The actual code to link it in the navbar (or anywhere to create a link to the chat) is this:

<script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
function realchatPopup(url, nn, pu, au, hmac) {
var r = screen.height / screen.width;
var w = screen.width>800?1000:800;
var h = Math.round(w*r);
var c = function(s) { return encodeURIComponent(s).replace('!', '%21'); }
var rcw = window.open(url + '&nn=' + c(nn) + '&pu=' + c(pu) +'&au=' + c(au) + '&hmac=' + hmac + '&cu=cw', 'rc',
'width='+w+',height='+h+',status=no,toolbar=no,men ubar=no,location=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes') ;
rcw.focus();
}
//-->
</script>
<a href="$chatLink">Chat</a>

Any help appreciated.

The link to the chat works fine (the script code I provide). I'm having a problem figuring out what goes in the body of the custom template I created so that the chat room shows up in there instead. When I go to this link, it shows a blank page:

http://www.talkjesus.com/misc.php?do=page&template=realchat

This is the custom template (called realchat_realchat)

$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
$headinclude
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
</head>
<body>

$header
$navbar
<noscript><b>This application requires JavaScript.</b><br/>Your browser either does not support JavaScript or scripts are being blocked.</noscript>
<script type="text/javascript">document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="realchat.js$!20070808084731"><\/script>');</script>
$footer
</body>
</html>I'm obviously using the wrong coding to pull up the actual chat room. I just cannot figure out what the proper code should be. I really would appreciate any tips or help on this. I know its custom stuff, but your help is appreciated :)

Plus, there are no good chat software out there that integrate with vbulletin, aside this one which I'm trying out in trial mode.

Chadi
08-09-2007, 11:11 PM
I would appreciate any help on this.

Chadi
08-12-2007, 11:39 PM
Anyone willing to give this a shot? It would be a great blessing to many vbulletin owners who are looking for a decent chat room.

Eikinskjaldi
08-13-2007, 12:01 AM
The misc.php file you are using to test the template requires that the template name begins with "custom"


from the php:
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('custom_' . $template_name) . '");');



rename your template to custom_realchat

Chadi
08-14-2007, 12:56 AM
Thank you. The page pulls up, but this time the chat just does not appear at all

http://www.talkjesus.com/misc.php?do=page&template=realchat

custom_realchat template shows this:


$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
$headinclude
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
</head>
<body>

$header
$navbar
<noscript><b>This application requires JavaScript.</b><br/>Your browser either does not support JavaScript or scripts are being blocked.</noscript>
<script type="text/javascript">document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="realchat.js$!20070808084731"><\/script>');</script>
$footer
</body>
</html>

I don't know what specific chat code should actually be in there.


When I go directly to the original chat page, the page source shows this:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<title>
</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"/>
</head>
<body>
<noscript>
<b>This application requires JavaScript.</b>
<br/>
Your browser either does not support JavaScript or scripts are being blocked.
</noscript>
<script type="text/javascript">document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="realchat.js$!20070809010203"><\/script>');</script>
</body>
</html>

Eikinskjaldi
08-14-2007, 01:58 AM
where on your system have you dropped the realchat.js?

src="realchat.js$!20070809010203"

is the js sitting in your root folder, or in clientscript, or somewhere else? if it is somewhere else, add the path to the src line

src="clientscript/realchat.js$!20070809010203"

Chadi
08-14-2007, 02:10 AM
Its located in this directory

/home/username/public_html/RealChat/www/pub

I tried this:

<noscript><b>This application requires JavaScript.</b><br/>Your browser either does not support JavaScript or scripts are being blocked.</noscript>
<script type="text/javascript">document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="/RealChat/www/pub/realchat.js$!20070808084731"><\/script>');</script>

Didn't work

I also tried this

<noscript><b>This application requires JavaScript.</b><br/>Your browser either does not support JavaScript or scripts are being blocked.</noscript>
<script type="text/javascript">document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="RealChat/www/pub/realchat.js$!20070808084731"><\/script>');</script>

Eikinskjaldi
08-14-2007, 03:18 AM
In the source of your webpage (near the bottom) it says

src="RealChat/www/pub/RealChat/www/pub/realchat.js

So the path is being concatenated somewhere. Play around with the php code until the resulting source code is correct.

Can you provide a link to the "working" non vb page?

Chadi
08-14-2007, 02:04 PM
<a href="http://147.202.66.9:8085/?nn=Chad&pu=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.talkjesus.com%2Fmember.php%3Fu %3D3&au=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.talkjesus.com%2Fimage.php%3Fu% 3D3&hmac=f4a83ad5df7ba1e27fe1873f21f8d1d5&cu=" target="_blank">Click here for direct page</a>

Thanks for the help.

If you get this worked out, it will be a great thing for all other vbulletin users looking for something more stable, clean and user friendly than flashchat (which I've used for 3 years now).

Eikinskjaldi
08-14-2007, 08:44 PM
It's putting up a page not found error, it is at least performing the document.write.

As I said in my last post, you need to play around with your "src="path/path/RealChat.js"

Until what actually appears in the loaded page (view the source thereof) shows the correct path

Chadi
08-16-2007, 03:05 AM
I tried everything I can, still cannot get it to work. It would be great if a coder here can install it on their server, and try to figure this out. I'll donate $20 via paypal.

I even tried this code as well in the custom_realchat template

<script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
function realchatPopup(url, nn, pu, au, hmac) {
var r = screen.height / screen.width;
var w = screen.width>800?1000:800;
var h = Math.round(w*r);
var c = function(s) { return encodeURIComponent(s).replace('!', '%21'); }
var rcw = window.open(url + '&nn=' + c(nn) + '&pu=' + c(pu) +'&au=' + c(au) + '&hmac=' + hmac + '&cu=cw', 'rc',
'width='+w+',height='+h+',status=no,toolbar=no,men ubar=no,location=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes') ;
rcw.focus();
}
//-->
</script>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$chatLink">Chat</a></td>Still shows up blank. I think the trick is trying to figure out the exact link "chatLink". For example, the above code creates this link (but end numbers change variously too)

http://147.202.66.9:8085/?nn=Chad&pu=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.talkjesus.com%2Fmember.php%3Fu %3D3&au=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.talkjesus.com%2Fimage.php%3Fu% 3D3&hmac=584058dae975b3869557bb9bad6c26ec&cu=I hope someone can figure this out. Its a nice chat software really.

I even attached the realchat.php file too

Chadi
08-18-2007, 01:57 AM
Could someone please help out on this?

Eikinskjaldi
08-18-2007, 03:35 AM
Could someone please help out on this?

Well yes I could Chad, but you banned me from your website. (user name blayz) if I went to the trouble of integrating this product for you would you actually install it? It's of no use to me, my provider prohibits the installation of chat servers.