PDA

View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Add Icons to ForumHome or/and Forumdisplay by Uploaded images


vuiveclub
07-30-2007, 10:00 PM
I've just read this Thread (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1306419) by powerful_rogue (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/member.php?u=180265).
Then I think that no one did this way before.

So here is the tutorial.

Open template forumhome_forumbit_level2_post => For Forumhome only!

Find:

<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><strong>$forum[title]</strong></a>

Add before:

<! -- forum icon by www.vuiveclub.net -->
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT === 'index'">
<table>
<tr>
<td>
<img border="0" width="60" height="60" src="images/$forumid.gif"/>
</td></if>
<td>
<! -- / end forum icon -->
</if>

Then Find:

<td class="alt2" nowrap="nowrap">$forum[lastpostinfo]</td>

Add before too:

<! -- end forum icon by www.vuiveclub.net -->
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT === 'index'">
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</if>
<!-- / end forum icon -->

Save and Done!

Make sure that these 2 conditionals are the same!

For Forumdisplay too - edit template forumhome_forumbit_level1_post

Find:
<td><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" alt="" width="9" height="1" border="0" /></td>
<td>
<div>

Add below: <!-- forum icon -->
<table> <tr> <td> <img src="images/$forumid.gif" border="0" width="60" height="60" align="left" />
<!-- / forum icon -->

Find:
</td>
<td class="alt2" nowrap="nowrap">$forum[lastpostinfo]</td>

Add before: <!-- end forum icon --> </td></tr></table><!-- / end forum icon -->

Now You have to Upload your Icons to images/$forumid.gif
(Change images/ to your own folder)


If you wanna Show Icons for Forumhome, Forumdisplay and sub-Forumdisplay - Delete conditionals
Show Icons on Forumhome only - Leave these conditions default
Show Icons on Forumdisplay only - Do not Edit forumhome_forumbit_level2_post, edit forumhome_forumbit_level1_post only.

And more ? :confused:

Demo: http://www.vuiveclub.net/diendan/

PS: Sorry for my Bad English :D If you don't understand anything, reply here!

abdulla1
07-31-2007, 11:06 PM
Nice mod, reserved! :)

Wayne Luke
07-31-2007, 11:15 PM
Changing your conditional to simply state:

<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT === 'index'">

Will get you the same results and probably be a lot less resource intensive. Instead of two function calls within an IF statement, you just have the comparison you want.

jmw
09-15-2007, 01:13 AM
Great hack. Thanks vuiveclub. Will install soon.

rayw
09-15-2007, 11:28 PM
Nice work! Installed and working fine at www.itresource.com.au

Cheers! :)

MR.BOSS
09-16-2007, 12:45 AM
what names should i name my icons, so that they should be viewed?

thanks

rayw
09-16-2007, 12:55 AM
what names should i name my icons, so that they should be viewed?

thanks

*.gif

* represents the number of your forum.

MR.BOSS
09-16-2007, 01:22 AM
i tried but nothing happened only x appears

MR.BOSS
09-16-2007, 01:24 AM
what templates should i edit, the first 2 only or the all 4..

rayw
09-16-2007, 01:40 AM
Are you placing the images in the forum_root/images folder?

what templates should i edit, the first 2 only or the all 4..

forumhome_forumbit_level2_post
forumhome_forumbit_level1_post

Those two should do the job nicely.

Mark K
09-19-2007, 09:49 AM
How would i get this so the images appear right aligned after the forum description?

edit: nm done it

bandarsq
10-19-2007, 09:22 PM
nice hack

I installed it and I got the Forum Name showing twice. anyway around this?
Forum is an Arabic.

g00gl3r
10-29-2007, 02:13 AM
Any way of adding the forum title as the ALT tag?

g00gl3r
10-29-2007, 02:16 AM
Found it. lol You add alt="$forum[title]" to the images source code.

Roughnek29
10-30-2007, 02:56 PM
how do you achieve this?

http://i161.photobucket.com/albums/t225/zaibo155/ff.jpg

Roughnek29
10-30-2007, 05:11 PM
Please Help

GYSMO
03-23-2008, 06:24 PM
Changing your conditional to simply state:

<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT === 'index'">

Will get you the same results and probably be a lot less resource intensive. Instead of two function calls within an IF statement, you just have the comparison you want.

can you describe more the how to sorry I did tried and not working

other thing is for one reason or an other I lost the mouse radio sellection click and seem now only working with the wheel to sellect language and multi menu tad boxes

great hack

NeoAntrax
04-10-2008, 04:02 PM
I got error when i go modify forumhome_forumbit_level2_post

The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

The conditional on line 14 appears to be missing its beginning tag (<if>). This may cause unexpected behavior.


This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It is highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.

This is my template
<tr align="center">
<td class="alt2"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" /></td>
<td class="alt1Active" align="$stylevar[left]" id="f$forum[forumid]">
<div>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><strong>$forum[title]</strong></a>
<if condition="$show['browsers']"><span class="smallfont">(<phrase 1="$forum[browsers]">$vbphrase[x_viewing]</phrase>)</span></if>
</div>
<if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><div class="smallfont">$forum[description]</div></if>
<if condition="$show['forumsubscription']"><div class="smallfont"><strong><a href="subscription.php?$session[sessionurl]do=removesubscription&amp;f=$forum[forumid]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[unsubscribe_from_this_forum]</a></strong></div></if>
<if condition="$show['subforums']"><div class="smallfont" style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px"><strong>$vbphrase[subforums]</strong>: $forum[subforums]</div></if>
</td>
<td class="alt2" nowrap="nowrap">$forum[lastpostinfo]</td>
<td class="alt1">$forum[threadcount]</td>
<td class="alt2">$forum[replycount]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="alt1"><div class="smallfont">$forum[moderators]&nbsp;</div></td>
</if>
</tr>
$childforumbits

thanh
08-30-2008, 02:10 PM
Hi ,

I've got the same error

please have a version for vbb 3.7.x
Thanks