Log in

View Full Version : Hide something from specified Usergroups


mclark2112
07-18-2007, 11:22 PM
I'm sure it is quick and easy, but I'm no programmer.

I am running Adsense ads in my templates with just the straight Google code. I want to just put a couple variables around the ad script so it does not show to certain usergroups, can someone help?

HMBeaty
07-18-2007, 11:43 PM
To remove your Adsense from the view of certain usergroups, you can simply use a conditional in your templates. Just place this around your code you wish to remove from the view of your usergroups....

<if condition="!is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 1, 2, 3)"></if>

And replace "1, 2, 3" with the usergroups you do NOT want to show the ads to.

brfrankl
07-19-2007, 03:14 AM
Trying to use a slight modification of this for the code block template

I have:



<if condition="is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 2, 5, 6, 7)">
is member
</if>

<if condition="!is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 2, 5, 6, 7)">
is not member
</if>





Also tried this


<if condition="is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 2, 5, 6, 7)">
is member
<else />
is not member
</if>


and finally this


<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 2, 5, 6, 7)">
is member
<else />
is not member
</if>




Problem is that guests still see "is member". or registered users see is_not_member (depends on which one)

guests are not logged in and should be group 1 and thus should hit the second if clause.

registered and logged in should be group 2 and hit first one.


any ideas?

TheMilkCarton
07-19-2007, 11:11 AM
You could try
<if condition="$show['member']">
is member
<else />
is not member
</if>
or
<if condition="$show['guest']">
is not member
<else />
is member
</if>
I'm not sure if you can use those variables in all templates, though.

Not sure why your code isn't working. I'm tired though. :)

You could also try this:
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 2, 5, 6, 7)">
is member
<else />
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 1)">
is not member
</if>
</if>

It's redundant, but if the "is not member" code is still showing to members then something is wrong. :)

mclark2112
07-19-2007, 11:30 AM
Very cool, I will try tonight.

Thank You all for the help.

Matt