PDA

View Full Version : Plugin Help


woostar
06-08-2007, 05:30 PM
Hi there,

I've subscribed to a GeoIP list so I can server different contents to members in different countries.

What is the correct syntax for the code below (or is it correct):-


if (isset($_COOKIE['GeoIP'])) {

include "geoip.php";
set_cookie("GeoIP", $countrycode, 3600);

}

and how do I get this to run as a plugin on every page.

Thanks in advance


W.>

Dismounted
06-09-2007, 03:43 AM
Cleaned up your code :)
if (isset($_COOKIE['GeoIP']))
{
include_once('geoip.php');
set_cookie('GeoIP', $countrycode, 3600);
}
You would hook it at global_start.

woostar
06-09-2007, 01:53 PM
Thanks Dismounted,

Hooked it at global_start and used vbsetcookie (coz set_cookie doesn't work).

Below is the code I used just incase it helps anyone else.


if (!isset($_COOKIE['GeoIP'])) {

// put geo locating code here
include("geoip.php");
$countryCode = getCountryCode($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']);

// set cookie
vbsetcookie("GeoIP",$countryCode,permanent);

} else {
$countryCode = $_COOKIE['GeoIP'];
}

Dismounted
06-10-2007, 02:59 AM
Note that vbsetcookie() will add your cookie prefix to the cookie, so it actually should be:
if (!isset($_COOKIE[COOKIE_PREFIX . 'GeoIP']))
{
// put geo locating code here
include('./geoip.php');
$countryCode = getCountryCode($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']);

// set cookie
vbsetcookie('GeoIP', $countryCode, permanent);
}
else
{
$countryCode = $_COOKIE[COOKIE_PREFIX . 'GeoIP'];
}

woostar
06-10-2007, 12:12 PM
Ah, Nice one.

Thanks for your help Dismounted.