View Full Version : Postbit field designs
killa101
05-25-2007, 11:26 PM
Hey guys.
How do I make my postbit so that each field is in a separate coloured box? I have attached an image to show how I want my fields to look. How do I do this?
Thanks,
Jordan
kennethsia
05-25-2007, 11:47 PM
depends on the skin and version i guess. i have that on auto coz of the skin. u can check at my forums as an Example. lol not advertising here. www.chaospixels.net/forum.
killa101
05-25-2007, 11:50 PM
Yea. You have a skin made by extremepixels. This is something they do to all of their skins and is a nice touch. I want to know how to do it on mine.
kennethsia
05-25-2007, 11:53 PM
get an extremepixels skin i guess. im sure its got something to do with the CSS. adding a small box or something.
Brandon Sheley
05-26-2007, 12:19 AM
it's actually pretty easy
there are a few postbit mods around that will help you
I thought one was called "better looking postbit" but I couldn't find it.
it's either here or www.vbhackers.com
cheers
killa101
05-26-2007, 01:09 AM
Thanks Loco. I found the "better looking postbit"
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=124241
Unfortunately its not exactly what I wanted but I will keep looking.
Brandon Sheley
05-26-2007, 01:32 AM
ya actually, that wasn't the one I was thinking of. Guess the name was something else..lol
There is a hack somewhere that has the postbit setup with the boxes around each field and I think it would work for what you want.
happy searching ey :p
Jibba Jabbas
05-26-2007, 05:22 PM
Im also really in need of this "hack". I just want a plan an simple box around them like in that picture.
BrianGarcia
05-26-2007, 06:26 PM
Im also really in need of this "hack". I just want a plan an simple box around them like in that picture.
Well what you can do is go to your Advanced CSS and add something like this:
#avatarboxbg {
background: #0000ff;
border: 1px solid #000;
}
You can add width, height, padding, and margin to get exactly what you want.
Then you find the code that you want a 'simple box' around and put this before it
<div id="avatarboxbg"> and then </div> at the end of the code.
Jibba Jabbas
05-26-2007, 10:28 PM
Thanks ill give that a go now!
Edit: Ok it turned out aweful :(
Could someone maybe have a go at recreating the on in the picture on the first post, i would very much appreciate it!
Demon Child
05-27-2007, 02:52 AM
yea.. an easier way would be to add a table to your post bit with out the tcat or with it.. then put the feild phrase inside the table there is a code for creating a table on this site
Jibba Jabbas
05-27-2007, 09:29 AM
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=148218&highlight=tags
Just change the background colour to what you want :D
sonichero
05-27-2007, 02:54 PM
or....
Go into the postbit_legacy template, find all the if condition and then do as follows:
<if condition="$post['age']>
<tr>
<td class="thread">$vbphrase[age] : $post[age]</td>
</td>
</tr></if>
and just keep doing it for every if statement...
killa101
05-28-2007, 09:43 PM
The one Jibba Jabbas posted did the trick. Easy to install, easy to modify. But you should change the border-right and border-bottom attributes to 2px. This will get it to look exactly like the one I posted above. (and of course you will need to change the colours to suit your boards).
ok this raised a new problem. I put the messenger icons in the boxes as well. But if a member does not have any messenger information filled out, it shows a blank box. I think the problem is that for the messenger icons, there is no <if> statement to say to hide this box if there are no messengers filled out. What to do?
<div class="postdata">$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]</div>
Dismounted
05-29-2007, 09:16 AM
<if condition="$post[icqicon] OR $post[aimicon] OR $post[msnicon] OR $post[yahooicon] OR $post[skypeicon]"><div class="postdata">$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]</div></if>
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.