PDA

View Full Version : Timeout with Large Content Posts


Dr. Bantham
05-14-2007, 11:02 PM
I have the need to post large documents as a post. I am having trouble with one particular document timing out when posting. This document is over 350,000 charachters in length. This is a full essay document which is being posted as an article in GARS, thereby allowing it to be presented with an extensive table of contents directory for online reading/navigation.

This is the error I received when first attempting to post this document:
Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in
home/xxxxxxx/public_html/includes/functions.php on line 1533

If I reduce the document size and wait patiently, everything works. If I add the following line to my .htaccess file, an earlier version of the document would sometimes upload:
php_value max_execution_time 300

Unfortunately, a recent increase in the document size pushed it past another threshold. Now it times out with a whitescreen, stating "finsihed" in the browser status bar and listing editpost.php in the address bar.

What can I do to remedy this situation? Though this size document will be a rarity, this is a very important literature release for the site and I can not give up.

snakes1100
05-15-2007, 05:24 AM
Well, u need to chk the apache log and see if its spitting out a error with the now bigger document, its probably doing the same thing as it was before, could also be a memory issue, chk ur logs.

Dr. Bantham
05-15-2007, 09:44 AM
Well, u need to chk the apache log and see if its spitting out a error with the now bigger document, its probably doing the same thing as it was before, could also be a memory issue, chk ur logs.How can I do this? I have my site on a server host and I could not find any links in cPanel to view this information. There was an Error Log, but nothing shows after a post dies.

snakes1100
05-15-2007, 02:46 PM
If you dont have a dedicated server, i doubt the host will give you access as well, yo ucan try this though in the config.php at the top, after the <?php on line 2


ini_set('memory_limit', 32 * 1024 * 1024);
ini_set("max_execution_time", "600");

Dr. Bantham
05-15-2007, 10:53 PM
If you dont have a dedicated server, i doubt the host will give you access as well, yo ucan try this though in the config.php at the top, after the <?php on line 2


ini_set('memory_limit', 32 * 1024 * 1024);
ini_set("max_execution_time", "600");
Thanks, but this does not seem to have an effect.

snakes1100
05-15-2007, 10:58 PM
Without log access, i doubt you will find the issue behind this.

ssslippy
05-15-2007, 11:10 PM
The text is probally to long for the database. Try breaking it down to 100,000 per post.

Dr. Bantham
05-15-2007, 11:46 PM
The text is probally to long for the database. Try breaking it down to 100,000 per post.I suspected this, but increasing the field length to LONGTEXT does not help.

What if I created a short version of the post and tried to manually input the full version into the pagetext field using phpMyAdmin? Would the basic text including bbcode work? What would the statement syntax be? As I may not have another post of this size again, finding a technical workaround would make me happy.

Dr. Bantham
05-19-2007, 06:47 PM
I managed to work around this problem by using phpMyAdmin and pasting the content (complete with bbCode formatting) into the pagetext field for the post. It works fine, but I have to use the same method in making edits.