Log in

View Full Version : Using conditionals to apply a different header image per forum section...need help.


ArchangelX
04-29-2007, 09:29 PM
Hello all,

I'm trying to have it where each section of my forum is able to display a header graphic that is specific to the forum section that it is within while keeping the same style.

So if I had a Drifting Section, and someone was viewing it in a certain style, then it would display a Drifting logo instead of the normal logo, but keep it within the style that they've chosen.

I spent the entire morning searching for phrases like header, conditionals, different, etc..etc...but I've only found this bit of code from this thread here:

It works, but only if there's a forum section id specified, that means I have to create an image graphic for EVERY single forum section that I have on my board...and some of them don't require a different graphic from the standard logo. I also have no clue what to put in for the Main Category Display section, and because of that...I have red X's everywhere.

Is there anyway to change this code to display a different header image ONLY if it's required?How do I change this code to do what I want? I'd appreciate the help, I'm no coder, but I'm trying to learn...

<img alt="your site address" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/header_f$foruminfo[forumid].png" width="550" height="100" border="0" />

Thank you in advance...

No help on this?

ArchangelX
09-15-2007, 11:53 PM
Darn it.

Opserty
09-16-2007, 08:48 AM
Something like:


<if condition="$foruminfo['forumid']">
<img alt="your site address" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/header_f$foruminfo[forumid].png" width="550" height="100" border="0" />
<else />
<!-- DISPLAY YOUR DEFAULT HEADER HERE -->
</if>

Would have it so that it would be displayed if user is browsing a particular forum.


<if condition="in_array($foruminfo['forumid'], array( 5, 6, 4, 9, 11))">
<img alt="your site address" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/header_f$foruminfo[forumid].png" width="550" height="100" border="0" />
<else />
<!-- DISPLAY YOUR DEFAULT HEADER HERE -->
</if>


Allows you to set which forums you would like to use the custom header for. (Change the forumids in Red and separate them with commas.)

ArchangelX
09-16-2007, 08:58 AM
Ahhhh...I knew it was something to do with a conditional, but I suck at PHP so far, and I just couldn't get it to work right! Thanks so much, I'll definetly try this out! Thank you very much, Opserty!