PDA

View Full Version : [release vb2.0] Miniscule-hack: split & move thread to a new forum in one go


bira
04-18-2001, 10:00 PM
OK, so this came out of a 'discussion' eva2000 and I had about moving posts to a "trashcan" forum, rather than deleting them. The way eva does it, is to split the thread (move the post(s) he wants to 'delete' into a new thread) and then move the new thread to the "trash-can" forum.

So I figured, why not just do it in one go?

So here's a microscopic hack to do just that :D

1) Open postings.php

Find:


eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("threads_splitthread")."\");");


Immediately ABOVE it put:


$moveforumbits=getmoveforums();


Find:


eval("standarderror(\"".gettemplate("error_cantsplitall")."\");");
}


Immediately BELOW it put:


if ($newforumid!="") {
$threadinfo[forumid] = $newforumid;
}



2) Edit the template threads_splitthread.

Find:


<input type="submit" class="bginput" name="submit" value="Split Thread" accesskey="s">


Immediately ABOVE it put:


<select name="newforumid">
<option value="">Select Destination Forum or Leave As-Is:</option>
$moveforumbits
</select><br>



That's it :)

Now, when you split a thread, you can either leave it in the same forum, or select a different destination forum.

Cheers,

Bira

eva2000
04-19-2001, 06:25 AM
oooooh nice.. gonna try this one...

eva2000
04-19-2001, 06:39 AM
works perfectly bira :D

bira
04-19-2001, 06:43 AM
Thanks partner ;)

eva2000
05-22-2001, 01:09 AM
bringing this up :D

bira
05-22-2001, 10:12 PM
heh, thanks Eva :)

eva2000
05-23-2001, 10:47 PM
no probs..can confirm this hack works on the final version :D

eva2000
07-31-2001, 07:38 AM
works in 2.0.2 as well :D

this should be in the official code since it's soooooooo handy ;)

Kier
07-31-2001, 07:56 AM
If you approve, Bira, I'll put this into 2.0.3, or whatever the next release is to be.

bira
07-31-2001, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by Kier
If you approve, Bira, I'll put this into 2.0.3, or whatever the next release is to be.

heh, Kier you don't need to ask for my approval. This is such a small hack, I'm ashamed to even call it one :)

So the short answer is yes ;)

Nicholas Brown
07-31-2001, 01:27 PM
do you still get a free copy if a hack goes into an official version? ;)

eva2000
07-31-2001, 07:15 PM
Originally posted by bira


heh, Kier you don't need to ask for my approval. This is such a small hack, I'm ashamed to even call it one :)

So the short answer is yes ;) me happy :D

Wayne Luke
08-01-2001, 07:39 AM
This is now an official feature in version 2.0.3...

In order to get support for this, you should upgrade.