PDA

View Full Version : Show Thread Enhancements - Threads List in PostBit


TheRed
04-20-2007, 10:00 PM
Description:
This mod will display in postbit, a list of recents threads a member have created.

Note: I have not tested how this will look on forums using a normal postbit type. Though, it should work regardless of the type of postbit.

Installation:
Get the attached xml product, install it on your vB forums 3.6.x through the "Products Manager", and commit the following template change:

In postbit_legacy template.
Find:

<if condition="$show['avatar']">
<div class="smallfont">
&nbsp;<br /><a href="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$post[userid]"><img src="$post[avatarurl]" $post[avwidth] $post[avheight] alt="<phrase 1="$post[username]">$vbphrase[xs_avatar]</phrase>" border="0" /></a>
</div>
</if>


Below that, Add:

<br />
<div id="mythreads_$post[postcount]">
<u>
<strong>My Threads</strong>
</u>
<script type="text/javascript">vbmenu_register("mythreads_$post[postcount]", true); </script>&nbsp;
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/menu_open.gif">
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="mythreads_$post[postcount]_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="thead">My Threads</td>
</tr>
$mythreadsbits
</table>
</div>
</div>




Please, don't forget to click on the INSTALL (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=145390) link if you have installed this mod. :)

nexialys
04-21-2007, 12:59 AM
please indicate in your description that your hack will add 1 query per postbit displayed, so if you display 25 posts from different members in a page, that will add 25 new queries for each page displayed...

TheRed
04-21-2007, 03:18 AM
Well, not that much, it would be like you say if the posts are all from different members. It does use the cache array to store a member's threads so that way it doesn't query again for that member.

rjmjr69
04-21-2007, 03:27 AM
Looks nice Reserved

alqloob alsahya
04-21-2007, 05:27 AM
nice thank"s so match :up:

vip-q.com
04-21-2007, 09:15 AM
great I like it :)

I'll use it :)

chikkoo
04-21-2007, 12:13 PM
Hi.. This would be very useful to my forum.
I am going to use it in my postbit.
Hope it will not reduce the speed of the forum by lot of queries.

chikkoo
04-21-2007, 12:56 PM
Congrats.. it beautifully works in my forum. I liked it very much.
My feedback after successfull installation in postbit as below.

1) This Mod has a Permission problem. if you select '0' it shows the threads in The Admin/Protected Area threads even to the Guests, which is not very good. The Protected Area should be always protected from the unauthorized users.

2) Exclude forums feature will be very handy. I have 115 forums, I cannot type one by one, just to exclude 2 admin protected forums. Therefore, There should be an exclude forums option.

3) I don't count the threads in the "Recycle Bin forum", it takes all the forums, even if I don't count that forums.

4) I had path problem for the menu_open.gif, it should be [imgdir_misc] instead of [imgdir_button].

5) If no threads there, then it is show a message to indicate there are threads.

6) It would be nice if we could show totally how many threads started by the user in the specified forums.

I'd appreciate if he rectifies this in his next version.

TheRed
04-22-2007, 06:04 PM
Alright, thanks Chikkoo :)

Will be working on a new release based on those items you just pointed.

chikkoo
08-06-2007, 09:07 AM
Hi.. TheRed,

Also add this point.

The link appears in PM messages but the drop down is not working.

Kalyse
08-07-2007, 05:23 PM
Yeah I would love to see an exclude forum.

I have support forums on my boards and sometimes the user names their posts with sensitive information.

bigcurt
10-02-2007, 11:47 PM
Would love to see either an exclude forums or a choose which forums to take it from..PLEEASE :).

AngelBlue
12-08-2007, 08:27 PM
Here's a sample postbit from my forum.

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 568
Referrals: 1


Would it be possible for this mod to add, below that :

Threads: 20 !

Where "20" is the total number of threads they have, and "!" is a drop-down button that lists the threads and lets you jump to them?

That would look a bit prettier IMHO, and also be good for encouraging users to post more threads, by putting their thread count in their postbit.

Pure Dope
12-17-2007, 02:23 AM
very server intensive? id assume yes.

Allan
10-28-2009, 12:30 PM
Thank you :)

how to limit the number of characters ?

sd2310
10-28-2009, 04:39 PM
Thank you :)

how to limit the number of characters ?Two possibilities:
1. By modifying the SQL.
In the file, find:SELECT threadid, titleand replace by:SELECT threadid, LEFT(title,20) AS title
2. By adding PHP:
Find:eval('$mythreadsbits .= "' . fetch_template('postbit_mythreadsbit') . '";');and add before:
$mythread['title'] = substr($mythread['title'],0,20);
Change 20 by the maximum size desired