PDA

View Full Version : Standalone pagenav?


Grunt
04-12-2007, 04:45 AM
I'm attempting to code a 'modified' pagenav by taking bits from the pagenav template (want to leave it intact) and placing those bits within a table.

Having a bit of trouble getting it to work and looking for a lending hand if someone would be so kind.

The output I'm trying to achieve for each of the 3 'variations' of pagenav is:

http://www.thegreiner2.net/pagenav.gif

The code (copied from the pagenav template) that I'm placing in a table in an attempt to accomplish the above is as follows:

<td class="pagenav_working"><phrase 1="$pagenumber" 2="$totalpages">$vbphrase[page_x_of_y]</phrase>
<if condition="$show['prev']">
<a href="$address<if condition="$prevpage != 1">&amp;page=$prevpage</if>$address2" title="$vbphrase[prev_page] - <phrase 1="$prevnumbers[first]" 2="$prevnumbers[last]" 3="$total">$vbphrase[results_x_to_y_of_z]</phrase>">&lt;</a>
</if>
<if condition="$show['next']">
<a href="$address&amp;page=$nextpage$address2" title="$vbphrase[next_page] - <phrase 1="$nextnumbers[first]" 2="$nextnumbers[last]" 3="$total">$vbphrase[results_x_to_y_of_z]</phrase>">&gt;</a>
</if>
</td>



With that code I am getting the following output:

http://www.thegreiner2.net/pagenav2.gif

Problems are:

- As you can see, the y 'variable' isn't working. Getting the current page fine, just not the 'of' page.

- When hovering over the &gt or &lt, it is displaying the text (Next page - results to of ) associated with the phrase, but not the x, y, or z 'variables'.

- The link associated with the &gt or &lt is not correct. The link that they are referencing is "forumhome.com/&page=", not the "forumhome.com/forumdisplay?f=..." as it should be.


Hoping it can be done and it's just my inteptitude with coding that's preventing it from working.

Any help is as always much appreciated :rolleyes:

CyberAlien
04-12-2007, 05:19 AM
Instead of trying to duplicate pagenav template contents, move or copy $pagenav variable within template you are trying to modify.

Grunt
04-12-2007, 05:27 AM
Thought about modifying the pagenav template, but I would only like to display the 'custom' pagenav in one location - all other calls to it I would like to display the default template.

CyberAlien
04-12-2007, 09:52 AM
You can try to use css to hide items that you don't need. Something like this:<div class="pagenav-inline">$pagenav</div>and in css.pagenav-inline .alt1 { display: none; }