PDA

View Full Version : Announcements new Table


Mr Pink
03-13-2007, 10:00 PM
This is a simple code change for announcements.


Preview:

http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/8785/announcementsfl5.jpg

Modification:

Go into the FORUMDISPLAY template.
(AdminCp -> Styles & Templates -> Edit Templates -> FORUMDISPLAY)

Find:


$announcebits
Delete it.

Find:


$header
$navbar
Below add:



<!-- Announcements -->
<if condition="$announcebits">
<table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" class="tborder" width="50%">
<tr>
<td class="tcat"><a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('icons_panel')">
<img id="collapseimg_icons_panel" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_tcat$vbcollapse[collapseimg_icons_panel].gif" alt="" border="0" />
</a><b><center>Announcements</center></b></td>
<tbody id="collapseobj_icons_panel" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_icons_panel]">
<tr>
<td bgcolor="#F5F5FF"><div><span style="color: black;">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
$announcebits
</table>
</a></span></div>
</a></span></div>
</td>
</tr>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<br />
</if>
<!-- /Announcements -->
<br />
------------------------------------------
I have used some deprecated tags, in this modification. When I will have free time I will release it with the correct code.
------------------------------------------
Code Updated & Optimized
Thanks goes to Sidewindr (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/member.php?u=23148) [View Post (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=1203716&postcount=4)]

bashy
03-14-2007, 06:11 PM
Cheers m8 looks a lot nicer and more noticeable, well done!!

Tanabe
03-14-2007, 09:09 PM
Awsome :) Thanks ^^

Sidewindr
03-14-2007, 11:50 PM
I made the following changes to the code so the Announcements table would not show up if there were no announcements. Also fixed up some missing table data and row end tags.


<!-- Announcements -->
<if condition="$announcebits">
<table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" class="tborder" width="50%">
<tr>
<td class="tcat"><a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('icons_panel')">
<img id="collapseimg_icons_panel" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_tcat$vbcollapse[collapseimg_icons_panel].gif" alt="" border="0" />
</a><b><center>Announcements</center></b></td>
<tbody id="collapseobj_icons_panel" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_icons_panel]">
<tr>
<td bgcolor="#F5F5FF"><div><span style="color: black;">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center" id="threadslist">
$announcebits
</table>
</a></span></div>
</a></span></div>
</td>
</tr>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<br />
</if>
<!-- /Announcements -->

dbirosel
03-15-2007, 02:37 AM
Nice, i will add this soon to my boards. It does make it more noticeable.

Mr Pink
03-15-2007, 08:31 AM
Thanks, Sidewindr. :)
Code updated, but still not complete.

Mr Pink
03-15-2007, 11:04 AM
Code optimized. :)

bashy
03-15-2007, 04:10 PM
do you know of a way to show more than 1 announcement in the box?
Also is there a way to have the announcements to show in the forumhome?

Mr Pink
03-15-2007, 06:58 PM
do you know of a way to show more than 1 announcement in the box?

What you mean exactly with this? Here, https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=61837&d=1173895817, for example, it show two announcements.
Maybe you mean that you have this: AdminCp -> vBOptions -> Forum Display Options (forumdisplay) -> Group Announcements.. set to 'Yes'. If so, set it to 'No'. :)


Also is there a way to have the announcements to show in the forumhome?

For now I'm not able to do that, sorry.

Dark_Sirius
03-16-2007, 07:23 PM
Very nice. Installed. :D

Naxon
03-18-2007, 12:30 PM
Let me correct you...
Not the FORUMHOME template It's the FORUMDISPLAY tamplate...

Installed :)

Mr Pink
03-18-2007, 04:28 PM
Let me correct you...
Not the FORUMHOME template It's the FORUMDISPLAY tamplate...

Installed :)


Ops, sorry! :p
Thanks!

GruntHalo
03-18-2007, 07:38 PM
Installed, thank you!

jketron
03-19-2007, 03:03 AM
How do you get the announcements to be displayed on the first page before entering the forums, it is there once you click on a forum link

Mr Pink
03-19-2007, 09:17 AM
Also is there a way to have the announcements to show in the forumhome?

For now I'm not able to do that, sorry.



How do you get the announcements to be displayed on the first page before entering the forums, it is there once you click on a forum link

Zorry!

odie3
03-27-2007, 12:53 AM
Will these should up on the Forum Index to?

Triky
03-27-2007, 07:30 AM
Will these should up on the Forum Index to?

No.

Dark_Sirius
04-06-2007, 12:51 AM
I found a small bug, at least on my forum, that causes this modification to interfere with the feature that allows you to edit thread titles from the forum display page (double clicking the thread title).

I found that in the line below the highlighted code was the problem. Removing that id tag fixed this issue and the table still functioned correctly.


<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center" id="threadslist">

Triky
04-06-2007, 06:37 AM
Oh, thank you, Dark-Sirius. I will update the first post. :)

MP1
05-10-2007, 10:00 PM
I deleted that from the template:

$announcebits

And I want to put it back, but I have no idea where to, can someone tell me where I can put it back?

Triky
05-11-2007, 09:38 AM
MP1, search for this (in FORUMDISPLAY):

<if condition="$show['search_engine']">
<if condition="$show['threadicons']">

Above it. :)

JadedSouls
07-21-2007, 06:14 PM
-installed-

Defkalion
07-25-2007, 03:40 PM
Nice hack, installed. Thanks :)

BigDog56
07-26-2007, 01:35 AM
Very nice! Thank you very much!