PDA

View Full Version : Attempting to Add Default Font Size Mod to Postbit Template


The Librarian
01-18-2007, 02:55 PM
Hello, (If I've posted this in the wrong place, please move it. Thanks!)


I've installed this mod:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=97544
and the color addon found here:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=791952&postcount=23

Both work beautifully, but I find the fonts people choose difficult to read sometimes. Some fonts just need to be bigger. I wanted to add the font size choice, so I decided to try to make my own mod by using the same basic pattern in the first two mods.

I added the additional Field for the Default Font Size. It's a drop down box with three choices of font size - 2, 3, 4.

Then I needed the code so I followed the pattern of the first two mods. Here's what I came up with:

ORIGINAL POSTBIT LEGACY TEMPLATE CODE (with font and color added):

<div id="post_message_$post[postid]"><if condition="$post[field13]"><font face="$post[field13]"<if condition="$post[field14]"> color="$post[field14]"</if>>$post[message]</font><else />$post[message]</if></div>


NEW POSTBIT LEGACY TEMPLATE CODE (with size field added):

<div id="post_message_$post[postid]"><if condition="$post[field13]"><font face="$post[field13]"<if condition="$post[field14]"> color="$post[field14]"<if condition="$post[field17]"> font size="$post[field17]"</if>>$post[message]</font><else />$post[message]</if></div>


*But* everytime I try to save it, I get the following error message:

The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

The conditional on line 78 appears to be missing its end tag (</if>). The template will not function properly unless this is fixed.

This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It is highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.

I've checked it and I can't find my error... but I'm not a programmer. This is all Greek to me. Can somebody tell me what I need to change to make this work? Or will it not work for some other reason? BTW, I'm running vB 3.6.4.

Thanks!

The Librarian
01-20-2007, 07:46 PM
bump... anybody?

The Librarian
01-24-2007, 04:46 PM
Please?

Neo_Angelo
01-25-2007, 06:57 PM
i'll help you out. if your using my mod then i can probably offer you the right guidance.

ok find your colour and font template modifications and remove them.

ok in your custom fields you shoul have three options.

Colour
Font

and my Size field

ok note down the field numbers of them and then in your postbit_legacy find:

<!-- message -->

and highligh everything from that till you reach

<!-- / message -->

now then delete the selected lot of code and replace it using this code:

<!-- message -->
<div id="post_message_$post[postid]"><if condition="$post['field10'] != '' OR $post['field11'] != '' OR $post['field12'] != ''">

<font style="font-family:$post[field11]; color:$post[field10]; font-size:
$post[field12]px;">$post[message]</font>



<else />

$post[message]

</if></div>
<!-- / message -->

replace 10,11,12 with the numbers of your fields

on mine 10 = color
11= text
12 = size.

and hopefully that should work. if you encounter any problems feel free to contact me for extra support.

The Librarian
01-30-2007, 02:23 AM
i'll help you out. if your using my mod then i can probably offer you the right guidance.

<cut for brevity>

and hopefully that should work. if you encounter any problems feel free to contact me for extra support.


Thanks Neo! That did the trick. The first time I tried it I messed it up... and then I had to change it in the "postbit" and not just in the legacy, but it worked.

Thanks so much! It feels great to get this working!!!

Neo_Angelo
01-30-2007, 02:54 PM
not a problem my friend. yeah i didn't know whether you used Legacy or just postbit but i shoulda stated to do it in both ^_^. glad i could help ^_^.

The Librarian
01-30-2007, 08:45 PM
Here's a note to the next guy (or gal like me) who wants to try this:

#1 - The font and the color are drop down lists (as in the original mods I referenced).... but the size is a text field. It's intended to be a two digit number like 10,,12,14,16,18 NOT the vBulletin sizes of 2,3,4,5,6,7. This is important because if you try the drop down list and then use Neo's template changes you'll end up with very tiny fonts :D

#2 - Double check your field numbers.... they matter! ;)