View Full Version : Post Edit History (PEH) Alternate Postbit Layout
MThornback
01-15-2007, 10:00 PM
This is simply an alternative to Survivors layout for adding the PEH display within the postbit template....anyone whos seen my few additions here knows I don't do much fancy :p mostly just what I find useful and think others might too....
What this does:
If no edit exists for the post, it will hide the link, and when an edit is made the link will show up...simple yes?
Instructions(from PEH):
In postbit Find:
$post[posts]
or
In postbit_legacy find:
<if condition="$show['postcount']">#<a href="showpost.php?$session[sessionurl]p=$post[postid]&postcount=$post[postcount]" target="new" rel="nofollow" id="postcount$post[postid]" name="$post[postcount]"><strong>$post[postcount]</strong></a></if>
Add Underneath:
<if condition="$post[editcount]==0">
<else />
<if condition="$show['edithistorylink'] AND $post[editcount] > '0'">
<a href="edithistory.php?do=viewedithistory&postid=$post[postid]"><phrase 1=$post[editcount]>$vbphrase[saved_edits]</phrase></a>
</if>
</if>
If you use it please click install...it shouldn't need much support...but I'll answer questions as they pop up.....screenshots shouldn't be necessary if its working you'll see the link only on edited posts :)
Distance
01-16-2007, 05:36 PM
Nice, thanks
Surviver
01-16-2007, 07:14 PM
Thanks :) Can you attach a Screenshot ? :)
Distance
01-16-2007, 07:45 PM
Did you read it?
screenshots shouldn't be necessary if its working you'll see the link only on edited posts
All it does is remove the link if the message hasnt been edited... so you want to show a screenshot of a non existant link :p
Nathan2006
01-25-2007, 10:21 PM
Thank you MThornback
Install ;)
BadgerDog
05-20-2007, 04:30 PM
Installed on v3.6.7 PL1 then un-installed as it didn't work.
Edit function never appeared anywhere....
Ensured it was turned ON and all files were in correct places, but no go...
Regards,
Badger
MThornback
05-21-2007, 06:45 AM
I'm running 3.6.7 PL1 aswell and I have no issues...did you upgrade from 3.6.5 to the latest release and revert your templates? since the patch has no template edits (along with 3.6.7) I can only assume you should double check the template code for missing information.
Please let me know if it works...if not...I'm willing to fix it for you if you send me the details I need to do so.
BadgerDog
05-21-2007, 09:46 AM
Upgraded from 3.64 direct to 3.67PL1 without problems....
Installed (uploaded) files as specified and imported XML file, then ensured mod was turned ON under AdminCP "Messages" area.
Did template mods. When the "Edit" button never appeared, I re-checked everything, including trying modding each template "Postbit" and "postbit_legacy" indvidually (mutually exclusive), then both at the same time. Still nothing appears.
Thanks for your offer to help, but I don't know what else I can give you? :up:
I could send you a copy of the edited template (which one?) for you check? Other than that, it's just putting his files into the directories he specified. There's noting else is there?
Regards,
Badger
MThornback
05-21-2007, 07:59 PM
If you send me a copy of your postbit that'd be all I need as long as the mod is enabled and the settings are all done right and what not....
Forgive the dumb question...but you did edit a post right? Cause this mod only shows you the edited versions link if there IS an edit.....
BadgerDog
05-21-2007, 08:36 PM
If you send me a copy of your postbit that'd be all I need as long as the mod is enabled and the settings are all done right and what not....
Forgive the dumb question...but you did edit a post right? Cause this mod only shows you the edited versions link if there IS an edit.....
Yup ... :D
I even created several test posts, edited them etc, as I thought it just might need to be created first..
I'll send you off a copy of "postbit"....
Did you want me to put the edits back in ( I emoved them when I uninstalled), or just send you "postbit" before I edited for this mod?
Thanks for your help... :up:
Regards,
Badger
MThornback
05-21-2007, 11:39 PM
Send me your postbit as it looks now....without the edits....its probably easier for both of us
MThornback
05-22-2007, 12:01 PM
Yup ... :D
I even created several test posts, edited them etc, as I thought it just might need to be created first..
I'll send you off a copy of "postbit"....
Did you want me to put the edits back in ( I emoved them when I uninstalled), or just send you "postbit" before I edited for this mod?
Thanks for your help... :up:
Regards,
Badger
Got it, and you have it back again and it should work fine :)
BadgerDog
05-25-2007, 10:30 PM
Got it, and you have it back again and it should work fine :)
Ok, got it working.... :up:
I had to remove the hack from postbit and put it ONLY in postbit_legacy...
For whatever reason, that kick started it and it's now working. I like the elegance of the way you've approached it. No edit.. no show save history link... nice.. ;)
Thanks for your help...
Regards,
Badger
MThornback
05-26-2007, 02:12 AM
Glad I could help...I guess knowing which postbit style you used might have been the question for me to ask eh? :p
David Lama
06-14-2007, 03:55 AM
does this also work for 3.6.5?
Its not working for me. so i guess no :(
dutchbb
06-14-2007, 01:01 PM
Hello David, yes it does. But you first have to install this: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=132708
MThornback
06-15-2007, 01:51 AM
It will only show up once an edit to a post is made david, otherwise it keeps it from cluttering your postbit :)
Can anyone view the history of the post or just admin/mods?
MThornback
06-28-2007, 01:40 AM
Can anyone view the history of the post or just admin/mods?
This if statement:
<if condition="$show['edithistorylink'] AND $post[editcount] > '0'">
uses the information you enter in the usergroup settings....if you only allow the admin usergroup...only they'll be able to use it....if thats not how you have it setup...
add:
AND $post['usergroupid'] == 6
after
==0
If that isn't clear...let me know :)
BadgerDog
07-15-2007, 03:25 PM
Hi Mike .... :)
Edithistory v1.2.5 has been released....
Can I install it as surviver describes, but simply leave your template edits in-place? I hate to tinker with anything unless I have to. :)
He says that he now doesn't show link unless there's an edit, so should I out his template edits over yours, or would the result be academic as both do the same thing anyway?
Regards,
Badger
MThornback
07-19-2007, 12:33 AM
It looks like his mod now controls the conditional from the CP, I would imagine that its academic, however since I haven't installed the update yet, it may be safer for you to use his template edit as I don't know what else his if statement encompasses
MThornback
07-23-2007, 12:29 PM
It doesn't seem to be an issue which way you go with this....my mod still supports all the changes hes made to his code :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.