PDA

View Full Version : How to remove threads and posts column on forumhome?


John Diver
01-10-2007, 11:18 AM
Hey,

I would like to remove both colums on the forumhome, can anyone tell me where I can do it please?

I know its in forumhome category but I don't know where to edit.

I was able to remove the two columns that show posts and threads but it leaves a blank space in the design and the two columns showing the actual number of each are still there.

Thanks

John Diver
01-30-2007, 10:16 AM
Can anyone help with this please?

Thanks
John

Eq4bits
01-31-2008, 05:27 PM
I'm trying to do the same thing =S
at vBulletin.com this thread (http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=156777) supposedly has the instructions for setting the column widths. However after doing them, 'threads' & 'posts' columns are still there.
I used the following in FORUMHOME and in FORUMDISPLAY templates:
I did the template edits in both ForumHome and ForumDisplay to where that snippet of code is:
<tr align="center">
<td class="thead" width="0%">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="75%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="25%">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead" width="0%">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead" width="0%">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="thead" width="0%">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
</if>
</tr>As you can see 75% +25% adds up to 100% but still the 'Threads' & 'Posts' columns with the 'counts' in them are showing. I only want the forum(s) and last posts showing. What else can I try?

snakes1100
01-31-2008, 08:40 PM
This might have to be tweaked to work for your version of vb, credit to original coder who ever it was, this is from like 3 or 4 years ago lol, you will have to compare it and use/modify what you need.


Step 1. In forumhome remove this:
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>

Step 2: Find in forumhome_forumbit_level1_post

<div>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><strong>$forum[title]</strong></a>
<if condition="$show['browsers']"><span class="smallfont">(<phrase 1="$forum[browsers]">$vbphrase[x_viewing]</phrase>)</span></if>
</div>

Replace with

<table width="100%">
<tr>
<td>
<div>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><strong>$forum[title]</strong></a> (<b>Threads</b> $forum[threadcount] | <b>Replies</b> $forum[replycount] )
</div></td><td align="right"><div align="right'><span class="smallfont">(<phrase 1="$forum[browsers]">$vbphrase[x_viewing]</phrase>)</span></div></td>
</tr>
</table>

Save template

Step 3: Find in forumhome_forumbit_level2_post

<div>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><strong>$forum[title]</strong></a>
<if condition="$show['browsers']"><span class="smallfont">(<phrase 1="$forum[browsers]">$vbphrase[x_viewing]</phrase>)</span></if>
</div>

Replace with this:

<table width="100%">
<tr>
<td>
<div>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><strong>$forum[title]</strong></a> ( <b>$forum[replycount]</b> Posts | <b>$forum[threadcount]</b> Topics )
</div></td><td align="right"><div align="right'><span class="smallfont">(<phrase 1="$forum[browsers]">$vbphrase[x_viewing]</phrase>)</span></div></td>
</tr>
</table>

Step 4: In forumdisplay remove:

<td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>



Step 5: remove from forumhome_forumbit_level2_post

<td class="alt1">$forum[threadcount]</td>
<td class="alt2">$forum[replycount]</td>