PDA

View Full Version : Translate Your Forum Pages


Kru
11-08-2006, 10:00 PM
Description:

Instantly translate all vb pages that include a footer.

To Install:

Just upload the xml file as a plugin from within AdminCP> PluginSystem>ManageProducts> Download / Upload Plugins

After it open your footer template and find:

$vboptions[copyrighttext]
Add this below:
(replace http://www.yoursite.com (http://www.yoursite.com/) with your sites main url example http://www.cabalonline.com)
<div align="center">
<a href="javascript:window.location='http://www.yoursite.com (http://www.yoursite.com/)'" onmouseover="window.status='http://www.yoursite.com (http://www.yoursite.com/)'; return true"
onmouseout="window.status=' '; return true" target="_top">Default language</a>
<br />
<form action="http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/urltrurl?url=http://www.yoursite.com (http://www.yoursite.com/)$translationurl" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="u" value="http://www.yoursite.com (http://www.yoursite.com/)$translationurl" />
<select name="lp" onchange="this.form.submit();">
<option value="">Select from and to languages</option>
<option value="zh_en">Chinese-simp to English</option>
<option value="zt_en">Chinese-trad to English</option>
<option value="en_zh">English to Chinese-simp</option>
<option value="en_zt">English to Chinese-trad</option>
<option value="en_nl">English to Dutch</option>
<option value="en_fr">English to French</option>

<option value="en_de">English to German</option>
<option value="en_el">English to Greek</option>
<option value="en_it">English to Italian</option>
<option value="en_ja">English to Japanese</option>
<option value="en_ko">English to Korean</option>
<option value="en_pt">English to Portuguese</option>

<option value="en_ru">English to Russian</option>
<option value="en_es">English to Spanish</option>
<option value="nl_en">Dutch to English</option>
<option value="nl_fr">Dutch to French</option>
<option value="fr_en">French to English</option>
<option value="fr_de">French to German</option>

<option value="fr_el">French to Greek</option>
<option value="fr_it">French to Italian</option>
<option value="fr_pt">French to Portuguese</option>
<option value="fr_nl">French to Dutch</option>
<option value="fr_es">French to Spanish</option>
<option value="de_en">German to English</option>

<option value="de_fr">German to French</option>
<option value="el_en">Greek to English</option>
<option value="el_fr">Greek to French</option>
<option value="it_en">Italian to English</option>
<option value="it_fr">Italian to French</option>
<option value="ja_en">Japanese to English</option>

<option value="ko_en">Korean to English</option>
<option value="pt_en">Portuguese to English</option>
<option value="pt_fr">Portuguese to French</option>
<option value="ru_en">Russian to English</option>
<option value="es_en">Spanish to English</option>
<option value="es_fr">Spanish to French</option>

</select>


</form>

</div>

If your asian translation shows strange characters go to AdminCP -> Languages & Phrases -> Language Manager -> Edit Settings -> HTML Character Set and change it to UTF-8


If you use this mod please click Install (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=131145) - cheers!

rareclownfish
11-09-2006, 02:43 PM
This looks interesting, does this work on any other VB's?

Mecho
11-09-2006, 02:49 PM
Thanks . Great hack . exactly what i was looking for .

but i think it would be great if we could do it by having the Countries Flags . so that user just click on Flag and .......... .
i was wondering if i make some flags what link shall i call for it ?

Thanks a lot

Kru
11-09-2006, 02:58 PM
This looks interesting, does this work on any other VB's?

It works on VB 3.5.X, too.

bashy
11-09-2006, 04:13 PM
This does not work for me, If on the index page it just refreshes, if on any other page it just goes to the index page, any ideas please?

Mecho
11-09-2006, 04:33 PM
This does not work for me, If on the index page it just refreshes, if on any other page it just goes to the index page, any ideas please?

same here !

phovanxua
11-09-2006, 08:09 PM
Doesn't work on my site here http://www.hatnang.com

rwilkins108
11-09-2006, 10:37 PM
For those people having a problem with this just refreshing, I think it is because you are putting it in between a <form action=...> </form> section. This uses it's own form action...

Greek76
11-10-2006, 08:43 AM
My page just refreshes and does not pick the chosen language. If your on an actual forum and choose one of the option I go to an error page....

ThomasR
11-10-2006, 09:16 AM
I use the Google translation system, updated from the An-net hack:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1108089#post1108089

No problems under 3.6.1, just read the steps on the link above.

For your information, I use google, because it have less problems with the forum with specific caracters (like french accents)

bashy
11-10-2006, 02:52 PM
I have now moved mine from the specified place in the template and it works 100%, thanks :)

oberheimhaven
11-11-2006, 08:44 PM
My page just refreshes and does not pick the chosen language. If your on an actual forum and choose one of the option I go to an error page....
same here I also installed the google and will not work??

oberheimhaven
11-11-2006, 08:54 PM
I have now moved mine from the specified place in the template and it works 100%, thanks :)
well tell us mate so we can get working?? what did u do mine is not working at all!!

oberheimhaven
11-11-2006, 08:55 PM
I use the Google translation system, updated from the An-net hack:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1108089#post1108089

No problems under 3.6.1, just read the steps on the link above.

For your information, I use google, because it have less problems with the forum with specific caracters (like french accents)
Mine dont work from google??? and I loaded both to the tea is there a error in the code somewhere?

oberheimhaven
11-11-2006, 09:29 PM
I use the Google translation system, updated from the An-net hack:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1108089#post1108089

No problems under 3.6.1, just read the steps on the link above.

For your information, I use google, because it have less problems with the forum with specific caracters (like french accents)
Got it thank you! Works perfectly!!!

ChuanSE
12-16-2006, 01:47 AM
is vBSEO mod_rewrite an issue, i can't get this to work either :/

EDIT: placing this under the form tag works, so vBSEO is NOT an issue


$vboptions[copyrighttext]
</div>

</form>



anyway, what i don't understand is what this piece of code is for


<a href="javascript:window.location='http://www.ddance.fm/forums'" onmouseover="window.status='http://www.ddance.fm/forums'; return true"
onmouseout="window.status=' '; return true" target="_top">Default language</a>


what is it supposed to do?, it just brings you to the url defined in the script....

fishhub
12-29-2006, 05:48 PM
can this work on registered users to translate pages while logged on?

ChuanSE
12-30-2006, 05:33 AM
it does, but the translating instance does not uses cookies, that is why the ppl get logged out. This means that every NON PUBLIC page can NOT be translated with this system... (imo)

Funky Diver
12-30-2006, 06:11 PM
hmmm... I was going to install til I read that..

If it will work for all users (including logged in) then I would install, but without that it's pretty pointless really :cross-eyed:

BoTGoD
02-28-2007, 05:17 AM
For all English forums:

<div align="center">
Translate this page:<br />
<form action="http://translate.google.com/translate">
<input type="hidden"name="u" value="http://rf-xtreme.com$translationurl">
<select name="langpair">
<option value="en|ar">English to Arabic</option>
<option value="en|zh-CN">English to Chinese (Simp)</option>
<option value="en|zh-TW">English to Chinese (Trad)</option>
<option value="en|fr">English to French</option>
<option value="en|de">English to German</option>
<option value="en|it">English to Italian</option>
<option value="en|ja">English to Japanese</option>
<option value="en|ko">English to Korean</option>
<option value="en|pt">English to Portuguese</option>
<option value="en|ru">English to Russian</option>
<option value="en|es">English to Spanish</option>
</select>
<input type=hidden name=hl value="en">
<input type=hidden name=ie value="UTF-8">
<input type=hidden name=oe value="UTF-8">
<input type=hidden name=safe value=active>
<input type=hidden name=prev value="/language_tools">
<input type=submit value="Translate">
</form>
</div>

Tom_S
02-28-2007, 12:22 PM
Egads and ACK! One issue after another on this one. I will keep a watch because this is a hopeful for our site.

koolfire
05-18-2008, 11:53 PM
Can you make this for HINDI [Launguage used in India] for 3.6.10 ?