Log in

View Full Version : Add-On Releases - Make adsense look like a post


question?
10-18-2006, 10:00 PM
Hey,

This will let you show your add after x posts, put a referal box as a false avatar, and show a 336x280 banner.

Please note this has been made for my skin (legacy). You will have to alter this i think.


Add this at the end of your postbit template:
<!-- START ADSENSE REVENUE -->
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'AND ($post[postid] == $GLOBALS['qrlastpostid']) AND (!in_array($forum[forumid], array(2,3,32)))">

$spacer_open

<table id="post$post[postid]" class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr valign="top">
<td class="alt2" width="175">

<div id="postmenu_$post[postid]">
<if condition="$show['profile']">
<a class="bigusername" href="#">Focused.ORG</a>
<else />
Focused.ORG
</if>
<br><br><script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "YOUR ADSENSE ID HERE!";
google_ad_width = 125;
google_ad_height = 125;
google_ad_format = "125x125_as_rimg";
google_cpa_choice = "CAAQ8OCIlAIaCP1TkEVpn_IYKITHrYMB";
google_ad_channel = "";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
</div>

</td>
<if condition="$show['moderated']">
<td class="alt2" id="">
<else />
<td class="alt1" id="">
</if>

<if condition="$show['messageicon'] OR $post['title']">
<div class="smallfont">
<if condition="$post['title']"><strong>Sponsored links</strong></if>
</div>
<hr size="1" style="color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]" />
</if>

<!-- message -->
<div id="post_message_$post[postid]">
<if condition="$show['spacer']">
</if>
<div align="left">
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "YOUR ADSENSE ID GOES HERE!";
google_ad_width = 336;
google_ad_height = 280;
google_ad_format = "336x280_as";
google_ad_type = "text_image";
google_ad_channel ="";
google_color_border = "D0DFE4";
google_color_bg = "E2ECEF";
google_color_link = "85868F";
google_color_text = "85868F";
google_color_url = "85868F";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>

</div>

<if condition="$show['spacer']">

</if>

</div>
<!-- / message -->

</td>
</tr>
</table><br>
<!-- / post $post[postid] popup menu -->

<if condition="$show['spacer']">
</div>
$spacer_close
</if></if>
Let me explain how to use it:
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'AND ($post[postid] == $GLOBALS['qrlastpostid']) AND (!in_array($forum[forumid], array(2,3,32)))">

In the array() you put the forums where you don't want to show the ads.

Here (($post[postid] == $GLOBALS['qrlastpostid'])) you choose where to show it. Use $GLOBALS['qrlastpostid'] to show it at the end of all the posts, $GLOBALS['qrfirstpostid'] to show it after the first post, or you can use a number.

For the picture blocks use <img src="random.php"> to where ever random.php is. Please remember to update the settings for random.php.

I reccomend you use a table to put your ads in.

If you want to show the ads only where there is more than 1 post use:
AND ($post['postcount'] > 1)
Like this:
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'AND ($post[postid] == $GLOBALS['qrlastpostid']) AND (!in_array($forum[forumid], array(2,3,32))) AND ($post['postcount'] > 1)">

If you want it to show to guests only use:
AND (!$show[member])

So it will be like:
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'AND ($post[postid] == $GLOBALS['qrlastpostid']) AND (!in_array($forum[forumid], array(2,3,32))) AND ($post['postcount'] > 1) AND (!$show[member])">

question?
10-19-2006, 06:31 AM
<a href="https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=51007" target="_blank">Screenshot</a>

org knopper
10-19-2006, 07:11 AM
Any Screen Shot ???

Ronak
10-19-2006, 09:04 AM
screenshot ?? please

AMG021
10-19-2006, 12:10 PM
Demo's? Please :)

Algren_San
10-19-2006, 01:58 PM
its like a Sponsor User (faked) and it looks like if the Sponsor user make a post just like the others post looks like (it wont ad any postcount or something) and it will display the ads in there :P

and this i think this is a violation of the google's tos (ads)

ChavMagnet
10-19-2006, 04:49 PM
AWESOME although i already coded this for myself i didnt share :) lol

ecansel
10-19-2006, 05:48 PM
what about screen shot or demo????

MusicMan
10-19-2006, 07:25 PM
Can you pinpoint something in the Google ToS or Webmaster Guidelines that allows such a hack on any and all forums? Or a letter from Google expressing given permission for not only your boards, but for everyone's forums to use something like this? I was under the impression that something like this is still a violation of their ToS.

ChavMagnet
10-19-2006, 07:48 PM
Can you pinpoint something in the Google ToS or Webmaster Guidelines that allows such a hack on any and all forums? Or a letter from Google expressing given permission for not only your boards, but for everyone's forums to use something like this? I was under the impression that something like this is still a violation of their ToS.

:| your displaying one google ad per page and its just intergrated into your page whats the problem with that ?

MusicMan
10-20-2006, 03:43 AM
:| your displaying one google ad per page and its just intergrated into your page whats the problem with that ?
Well, forgive me if I don't value your opinion, .....and who assumes Google only allows one ad per page (They allow up to 3, plus up to 2 search units and 1 link unit on each page.)[/i]

more than Google's ToS. I think I'll be safe and go with Google on this one. ;)

StarBuG
10-20-2006, 06:25 PM
Implementing google ads like you did here into your forum IS a violation of the ToS.
It is tricking the user to click.
Even if you name the user Google does not change this.

This was debated over and over in different webmaster forums and google was asked and said NO.

If you are using this hack contact google and ask them if they are ok with this.
If they are you are lucky if they are not change it and keep your account ;)

ChavMagnet
10-20-2006, 08:34 PM
.and who assumes Google only allows one ad per page

When did i assume this? i said your only displaying one ad which isnt against googles TOS i never said you cant display anymore than one did i?

Paul M
10-20-2006, 09:17 PM
Chavmagnet & Musicman, I have edited you posts slightly, please take your personal differences elsewhere.

Mecho
10-21-2006, 05:49 PM
any demo or screenshot will be great .. tnx

question?
10-22-2006, 08:15 PM
<a href="https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=51007" target="_blank">https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attac...chmentid=51007</a>

Andromeda2875
10-23-2006, 05:50 PM
Can this be used with adbrite as well?

patsalko
10-24-2006, 12:42 PM
I wouldnt use this hack. It violates the TOS.

You may get banned from adsense. period.

question?
11-01-2006, 03:24 PM
I wouldnt use this hack. It violates the TOS.

You may get banned from adsense. period.
It will not get you banned from Adsense. Period.

Sites like digitalpoint.com use similar things.

MusicMan
11-02-2006, 12:09 PM
It will not get you banned from Adsense. Period.

Sites like digitalpoint.com use similar things.

You couldn't be more wrong. Just because one site uses it doesn't mean everyone else can. Maybe sitepoint got specific permission to use something at their site, but Google retains and often practices the right to deny other sites the same privileges. Or perhaps they might be in violation and Google hasn't seen it and dished out any penalties yet. I'm not saying this is the case, but you never know. I for one am sick and tired of so many people claiming to have some authoritative knowledge of Adsense, SEO, and Google's guidelines. The average forum owner sees your post and thinks you must be right since you're so adamant about it, but anyone with an ounce of experience can see your logic is very flawed. So until people stop misleading others, you can bet I'll be here to provide a more realistic and cautious view.

question?
11-03-2006, 07:15 AM
You couldn't be more wrong. Just because one site uses it doesn't mean everyone else can. Maybe sitepoint got specific permission to use something at their site, but Google retains and often practices the right to deny other sites the same privileges. Or perhaps they might be in violation and Google hasn't seen it and dished out any penalties yet. I'm not saying this is the case, but you never know. I for one am sick and tired of so many people claiming to have some authoritative knowledge of Adsense, SEO, and Google's guidelines. The average forum owner sees your post and thinks you must be right since you're so adamant about it, but anyone with an ounce of experience can see your logic is very flawed. So until people stop misleading others, you can bet I'll be here to provide a more realistic and cautious view.
I've taken over $1000 with this method, and google have accepted it.

MusicMan
11-03-2006, 09:01 AM
Evidently you're either not reading the posts you're quoting or you just don't understand what I'm saying. Either way, your advice is horrible.

Mecho
11-03-2006, 04:14 PM
Google Adsense :

Regarding the ad placement , we ask that you not implement Google ads in a manner that disguises them to look like forum threads. We appreciate your understanding and cooperation.

Sincerely,

Scott
The Google AdSense Team

tenetwork
11-04-2006, 02:14 PM
You would not get banned from adsense.
There are many forums and others sites that are doing this of my forums has over 22,000 members and its been using this sort of thing for 3 years.

Its fine.
Google dont mind its content.

Just as long as you are not telling members to click the ads its fine.

Great add on ;-)

question?
11-05-2006, 02:12 PM
Google Adsense :
They don't look like threads. I've seen many people do this, time in and time out.
Put it on your site, then ask Google. I personally got approved for it.

VBUsers
11-05-2006, 10:19 PM
it doesnt show on the first post. it shows on every last post made. whats wrong?

ForumDog
11-06-2006, 09:29 AM
AWESOME although i already coded this for myself i didnt share :) lol

Excuse me? I believe what you meant to say there is "ForumDog did this for me and I never paid him anything." Your thread is even still in the Paid Requests forum where I responded when you asked for it to be done.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=129065

Feel free to rectify this any time, really. I'd chalk it up to forgetfulness if you weren't taking credit for it yourself as well. Forgive me I don't want to derail the thread, but it's important other people know about this obviously. Don't want anyone else defrauded. :)

As for the Google Ads debate, I believe the way it goes is that if your website has a certain amount of custom then in return Google will allow you a certain amount of leeway in how your advertisements are placed and styled. Certainly it is my understanding that you must gain permission first, you should not assume automatic permission for anything or you might find yourself in hot water! I don't use them myself but I'm 99% sure that's how it goes.

Never hurts to check!

yessir
11-06-2006, 04:55 PM
OT, everyone should Google Premium Adsense. Those are the sites with special rules.

AFAIK, this totally violates the TOS.

The great thing about Google is that once you are tossed out, it is almost impossible to get back in. Caveat Emptor.

Unexplained.tv
11-07-2006, 01:38 AM
The Answer is pretty clear, as long as you don't make it appear to be an actual forum thread it is perfectly legal and allowed. They did not state anything about a post in the thread.

Google Adsense :

Quote:
Regarding the ad placement , we ask that you not implement Google ads in a manner that disguises them to look like forum threads. We appreciate your understanding and cooperation.

Sincerely,

Scott
The Google AdSense Team

keyness
11-07-2006, 09:45 AM
I think he put avatar at the left of table because it looks nicer in this way. I don't think it's a way of cheat. But as you know, we don't know what Google thinks and does mostly.

Dream
11-08-2006, 02:21 AM
ARGH I HATE SPACERS

cant make the ad post to show in the right place

I ditched the spacers ($spacer_open $spacer_close) and used <br />s and all is fine.

Thanks :)

bosal
11-08-2006, 06:56 PM
How to make that it doesn't show for admins, mods, supa mods ?

Dream
11-09-2006, 04:12 AM
to make it show after the second post the right code is

$post[postcount] == 2

bosal
11-09-2006, 12:08 PM
to make it show after the second post the right code is

$post[postcount] == 2


can you show the exact code ?

beansbaxter
11-09-2006, 12:32 PM
The problem I have is whenever I start adding Google Adsense to the postbit template, then the Multi-Quote and Quick Reply buttons cease working.

Is there a hack/module to do this that does not require editing the postbit template??

Dream
11-09-2006, 02:34 PM
Here's a revision of the code.

<!-- Google AdSense in Posts -->
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread' AND $post[postid] == $GLOBALS['qrlastpostid']">

<if condition="$show['spacer']">
</div>
$spacer_close
</if>

<if condition="$show['spacer']">
$spacer_open
<div id="edit$post[postid]" style="padding:0px 0px $stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px">
<if condition="!$post['islastshown']"><!-- this is not the last post shown on the page --></if>
</if>

<table id="post$post[postid]" class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr valign="top">
<td class="alt2" width="175">

<div id="postmenu_$post[postid]">
<if condition="$show['profile']">
<span class="bigusername">Propaganda</span>
<else />
Propaganda
</if>
<br><br><script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "YOUR ADSENSE ID HERE!";
google_ad_width = 125;
google_ad_height = 125;
google_ad_format = "125x125_as_rimg";
google_cpa_choice = "CAAQtIHDmwIaCDbdURNUSIZ3KJDquosB";
google_ad_channel = "";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
</div>

</td>
<if condition="$show['moderated']">
<td class="alt2" id="">
<else />
<td class="alt1" id="">
</if>

<if condition="$show['messageicon'] OR $post['title']">
<div class="smallfont">
<if condition="$post['title']"><strong>Sponsored links</strong></if>
</div>
<hr size="1" style="color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]" />
</if>

<!-- message -->
<div id="post_message_$post[postid]">
<div align="left">
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "YOUR ADSENSE ID HERE!";
google_ad_width = 300;
google_ad_height = 250;
google_ad_format = "300x250_as";
google_ad_type = "text_image";
google_ad_channel = "6284652722";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
</div>

</div>
<!-- / message -->

</td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- / post $post[postid] popup menu -->
</if>
<!-- / Google AdSense in Posts -->

If you wanna show it after the second post, instead

$post[postid] == $GLOBALS['qrlastpostid']

use

$post[postcount] == 2

Change the number for other posts.

ninjashoes
12-04-2006, 02:20 AM
if you just want to make a couple big adsense squares halfway down the page do this

<center>
<!-- START ADSENSE REVENUE -->
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'AND $post[postcount] == 10 AND (!in_array($forum[forumid], array())) AND (!$show[member])">
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "your pub id";
google_ad_width = 336;
google_ad_height = 280;
google_ad_format = "336x280_as";
google_ad_type = "text_image";
google_ad_channel = "";
google_color_border = "333333";
google_color_bg = "333333";
google_color_link = "FFFFFF";
google_color_text = "FFFFFF";
google_color_url = "FFFFFF";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "your pub id";
google_ad_width = 336;
google_ad_height = 280;
google_ad_format = "336x280_as";
google_ad_type = "text_image";
google_ad_channel = "";
google_color_border = "333333";
google_color_bg = "333333";
google_color_link = "FFFFFF";
google_color_text = "FFFFFF";
google_color_url = "FFFFFF";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
</if>
</center>

NameClan.com
01-17-2007, 08:47 AM
is it really good? :)

i mean to increase the revenue

pgowder
01-30-2007, 02:12 PM
I've tried this in 3.6.4 and it doesn't show up??

iahead
02-01-2007, 07:32 AM
can i add it inside the first post .

sunnylikbeckham
07-13-2008, 11:21 PM
not working
can you tell me code to show every group and in every section