Log in

View Full Version : Is it possible make the design of the first post different than the replies?


BJv1985
10-18-2006, 12:18 PM
Is there a way to do this I couldn't find anything with the search option.

Maybe there's a way to do it with an "if" variable in the postbit template so if it's the first post it posts a different code than the code for the replies?

:ermm:

BJv1985
10-20-2006, 01:28 PM
anyone?

LinksDragon
10-20-2006, 03:57 PM
This is something that I would be interested in as well.

Kirk Y
10-21-2006, 01:09 AM
You could try this
<if condition="$postcount == '1'">First Post Code<else />Rest of the Post's Code</if>

[email protected] vbmenu_register("postmenu_1107274", true);
10-30-2006, 03:55 AM
You could try this
<if condition="$postcount == '1'">First Post Code<else />Rest of the Post's Code</if>

I understand the above.. but what if I want "First Post Code" to be something like $newvariable where $newvariable is the output of a new function I've created. Where can I define $newvariable so that this works in the postbit_legacy template ?

Kirk Y
10-30-2006, 04:50 PM
Use a hook at location 'postbit_'.

kansast
10-30-2006, 04:55 PM
Use a hook at location 'postbit_'.

Not sure if it's the same thing, but I ended up creating a 'plugin' and believe I used some postbit 'hook' before I got it to show up right.

Is there some other way to use a "hook" ?

Kansast

Kirk Y
10-30-2006, 08:19 PM
Hook and Plugin are basically synonymous. A hook refers to the location in the coded file where at Plugins will be executed. The Plugin is the code to be executed at said hook.

In any event, just do what you did before - that was right.

BJv1985
11-04-2006, 05:27 PM
I just noticed the replies :) Thanks it works great.