PDA

View Full Version : How difficult must this be!?


Wunderbar
10-12-2006, 03:32 AM
I'm tearing my hair out here.

I run http://www.btg-online.com. The navbar at the top I'm trying to edit. I'm trying to put in a "home" button and a "forums" button. The forum button I've done flawlessly, and it was working great, but the "home" button wasn't, so I took it out.

Here's my header template (since the author of the template states he copied the exact code from the navbar template and just put it in the header template).

<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" class="fullheight">
<tr>
<td height="105" style="background: url($vboptions[bburl]/images/blaze/header_background.gif)"><img src="images/blaze/logo.gif" width="300" height="105" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td height="31" style="background: url($vboptions[bburl]/images/blaze/navbar_background.gif)" align="center">
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">

<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="usercp.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[user_cp]</a></td>
</if>
<if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="register.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[register]</a></td>
</if>
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="faq.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="5">$vbphrase[faq]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="memberlist.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[members_list]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="calendar.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[calendar]</a></td>
<if condition="$show['popups']">
<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
<else />
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
</if>
<td id="navbar_search" class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[search]</a> <if condition="$show['quicksearch']"><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navbar_search"); </script></if></td>
</if>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td id="usercptools" class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#usercptools">$vbphrase[quick_links]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("usercptools"); </script></td>
</if>
<else />
<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4">$vbphrase[search]</a></td>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
<else />
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
</if>
</if>
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,me nubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,w idth=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_buddy_list]</a></td>
</if>
</if>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&amp;logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onclick="return log_out()">$vbphrase[log_out]</a></td>
</if>
</tr>
</table>

<!-- / nav buttons bar -->
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td height="2" style="background: url(images/blaze/under_navbar_background.gif)"><img src="images/blaze/under_navbar_background.gif" width="5" height="2" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td valign="top" class="fullheight">
<!-- /logo -->

<!-- content table -->
$spacer_open

$_phpinclude_output

so of course naturally I see:

<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="usercp.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[user_cp]</a></td>

and I decide to just edit the stuff, putting forums.php in and 'Forums' in the brackets. It works great, even still. However when I try changing it to 'index.php' and 'Home'.. it just goes blank, literally not on the site at all.

I can change the usercp.php to index.php just fine, so basically the navbar still says user CP but it points to index.php. Can I just not use 'Home' on the navbar? I'm at such a loss I'm going insane.

If anyone can please help me, I'd be extremely appreciative.

-Wunderbar

any help please? :(

SCRIPT3R
10-12-2006, 05:06 PM
i'm getting a DB error when i try to bring up your page. in any case, try this...

Guest210212002
10-12-2006, 05:06 PM
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="http://yoururl/home.php">Home</a></td>


Just slap that in wherever you want the button to be, editing the URL to (naturally) wherever you'd like Home to take you.

Edit: Just after:


table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">

Would put it on the far left.

Wunderbar
10-12-2006, 05:44 PM
edit: nevermind I figured it out.. it was just the location of the code. Thanks again! You just saved me so much frustration. :)

How exactly did that work though? Why couldn't I just copy and edit the code from previous entries?

adwade
12-29-2006, 01:09 AM
<td class="vbmenu_control_alt"><a href="http://yoururl/home.php">Home</a></td>


Just slap that in wherever you want the button to be, editing the URL to (naturally) wherever you'd like Home to take you.

Edit: Just after:


table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">

Would put it on the far left.

Not being a CODER, I worked on this for hours trying to figure it out.(i.e. Add a Home Button) Finally gave up and searched and found your post here.

I'm using vbStyles ARIA Skins and only had to remove the '_alt' (out of vbmenu_control_alt) to get this to work perfectly with the proper colors/fonts.

Again, Many Thanxx for taking the time to post the info!