View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Multiple Navbars
optrex
09-24-2006, 10:00 PM
There is always a demand for increased navigation from your vB Board. This modification has been tested on 3.6.x, 3.7.x and 3.8.x
Hardcoding a menu is the best way to add the increased functionaility, without adding server load and queries. This template modificiation explains how to add additional simple navbars to your website. By utilising exisitng vB code from within the Navbar template, the menu will appear on all pages, including in add-ons such as vBa and Photoplog and Photopost.
A working expample can be found at Midlands Weather Forum (http://www.midlandsweather.org.uk/)
The basis of the navigation bar (refered to as the 'Main Code') is as follows:
<!-- nav2 buttons bar by Optrex-->
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px">
<tr align="center">
<!--compile your links within this space, using the section types below -->
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / nav2 buttons bar by Optrex-->
To create a link visible to all usergroups add this code to replace the green section of the main code (above):
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://www.yoururlhere.com" >Title of your link</a></td>
To create a link visible only to members add this code to replace the green section of the main code (above):
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://www.yoururlhere.com" >Title of your link</a></td>
</if>
Placement is recommended above your existing navbar, due to the "drop down" lists.
Find the following line in your navbar template and place your compiled code above it.
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div align="center">
optrex
09-25-2006, 12:39 PM
Links to useful hints and tips within this thread:
Adding an admin only link: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=1092868&postcount=15
Border around navbar: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=1083429&postcount=7
Make link open in new window: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=1098039&postcount=22
Colour links: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=1098057&postcount=23
Kaleem
09-25-2006, 01:44 PM
Great come in handy :)
beduino
09-25-2006, 02:46 PM
hi,
i will test and install - really useful!:D
tks
beduino
Reece^B
09-25-2006, 03:17 PM
Great Hack Optrex.
Heres a screen shot to show my version. :)
bashy
09-25-2006, 08:20 PM
Hi m8, i have put mine above the navbar and its missing the line above the top of the botton cell? www.bashys-place.com/forums top bar you'll see
Any ideas as to the code to add it please?
optrex
09-25-2006, 08:27 PM
Hi Bashy, There are 2 ways round that the first is to remove the following coloured text
<!-- nav2 buttons bar by Optrex-->
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px" >
or you can change the same coloured text to read 1px instead of 0px
bashy
09-25-2006, 08:48 PM
Cheers m8, I added the 1 instead of removing it :)
All sorted now, thanks again!!
Hornstar
09-27-2006, 08:36 AM
thanks for the tute. This is really helpful, I guess I could also add the navbar at the footer if I wanted right?
Could I also duplicate the current navbar so it shows in the footer? if so where should I add it?
Thanks
optrex
09-27-2006, 12:27 PM
Yes the idea is you can create as many menu nars as you want. Because it's coded directly into the template there are no additional server loads or queries.
If you were putting it in the footer, I would choose to place it above
<!-- /content area table -->
Again be careful of the placement of drop downs if you are going to move/copy your original.
MJMoore
10-02-2006, 09:35 AM
Just what I was looking for.. many thanks!
morrow
10-03-2006, 02:17 AM
Thanks for the tip; it came in pretty handy!
smoknz28
10-03-2006, 06:58 PM
Installed and definitely has saved me from my users getting frustrated of having to scroll to the right and back to the left. ;)
Thank you for sharing this with the rest of us. :D
dupont24
10-05-2006, 10:38 PM
Thanks......:)
morrow
10-09-2006, 06:15 AM
Something I'll add to this which I think is pretty useful... <at least it's been useful for me. :)>
The following will ad an 'ADMIN" link to your Navbar. Only admins will be able to see it.
under:
<!--compile your links within this space, using the section types below -->
add:
<if condition="$GLOBALS[show][admincplink]">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forumdir/admincp/index.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[admin]</a></td></if>
Hope you'll find it as useful as I do.
Thanks Optrex, very usefull :)
optrex
10-09-2006, 07:41 AM
Something I'll add to this which I think is pretty useful... <at least it's been useful for me. :)>
Thanks morrow, I'll add it to the hints and tips.
Of course its easy to see how this can be changed to "moderator" only too.
KevNJ
10-12-2006, 12:54 AM
*uninstalls marky's multi menu due to not working with some mods/hacks*
*installs optrex mutple menu's*
works great thanks !
Reece^B
10-13-2006, 11:24 AM
*uninstalls marky's multi menu due to not working with some mods/hacks*
*installs optrex mutple menu's*
works great thanks !
Same ;)
newbe_haselina
10-15-2006, 05:37 AM
*uninstalls marky's multi menu due to not working with some mods/hacks*
*installs optrex mutple menu's*
works great thanks !
and "SAME" again :)
Just installed this hack on my test enviroment, because I'm perparing an upgrade to 3.6.2 and it works teriffic. thanks a lot for this hack.
because I'm no hero with this stuff, how can I change the color of the link? and is it possible to chose even the link opens in a new window or staying in the parent window? that's the point I would need some help :o
UncoderMom
10-15-2006, 10:33 PM
*installed*
GREAT! Took only minutes!
Now what do I do to make some of these (but not all) open in a new window?
optrex
10-16-2006, 07:21 AM
To open link in new window, add bold text:
<a href="http://www.yoururlhere.com" target="_blank" >Title of your link</a>
optrex
10-16-2006, 07:58 AM
To make the link a different colour add the bold text, where cccccc is the html colour you want to use.
<a href="http://www.yoururlhere.com"> <font color="cccccc"> Title of your link</a> </font>
UncoderMom
10-16-2006, 12:09 PM
Thank you very much!
Its looks nice and clean in my template too! I spot it right away! That will make for easy edit!
UncoderMom
10-16-2006, 12:14 PM
To open link in new window, add bold text:
<a href="http://www.yoururlhere.com" target="_blank" >Title of your link</a>
Worked like a charm!
So much control this way! :)
newbe_haselina
10-17-2006, 03:47 AM
Thanks optrex ... that's really awsome :P ... Thanks you very much for your help
Hull Driver
10-18-2006, 06:09 AM
after spending many years with phpBB I am adjusting to this board that was a quick easy lesson on how things work on VB
excellent thank you:)
Al-Fateh
10-25-2006, 05:53 PM
ok what template do all this coding go under?
optrex
10-25-2006, 06:23 PM
ok what template do all this coding go under?
the answer to that question is in bold in the instructions
Al-Fateh
10-25-2006, 06:48 PM
thanks working great
Al-Fateh
10-25-2006, 07:37 PM
this is one of the best mods
midirtrider
10-27-2006, 06:46 AM
Thanks for the info.. this is a great mod!
And something I deffiantly am glad I learned!
AllenMead
10-29-2006, 03:22 PM
A silly question, but how do I get the new links I've added to the additional nav bar to line up to the left and not centred as I haven't got that many extra links can be seen here here (http://www.astra-mk2.com)
Excellent mod!
optrex
10-29-2006, 07:09 PM
AllenMead, in the 4th line of code change <tr align="center"> to <tr align="left">
alawee.blawee
11-03-2006, 04:43 PM
it doesn't work with the DJ Fluid style
hehe
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1110105&posted=1#post1110105
optrex
11-03-2006, 07:26 PM
It would be very easy for me to say its a bug in that hack, especially as its not been updated since RC, but as I don't have it installed, if you want to pm me some template information, I'll take a look.
I am assuming the skin uses the parent navbar, rather than relying on its own - ie when you look at the templates in style DJ, the navbar template is yellow not red?
optrex
11-03-2006, 07:49 PM
it doesn't work with the DJ Fluid style
hehe
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1110105&posted=1#post1110105
It does work, having just installed that skin in the fluid mode, it works fine. Like I say, you just need to modify the correct template for that style.
http://img299.imageshack.us/img299/7792/menuej7.th.jpg (http://img299.imageshack.us/my.php?image=menuej7.jpg)
alawee.blawee
11-04-2006, 06:51 AM
Sir If you look at the pic you put you are gonna see that some options came twice
like by example User Cp
can we make anything different and pass this problem?
optrex
11-04-2006, 07:16 AM
That is because the designer of the skin has placed his navigation in the header. Just remove that part of code from the header template, or refer back to the person who made the skin for more advice.
alawee.blawee
11-04-2006, 07:40 AM
ok thanx
let's wait for the Designer he might help us i hope
regards
optrex
11-21-2006, 08:25 AM
this mod has now been tested with 3.6.3
alawee.blawee
11-21-2006, 07:24 PM
this mod has now been tested with 3.6.3
and its working so nice
i've tested it and added it with a style has an integrated navbar
look at the demo (http://www.mriraq.com/vb)
thanx opterx
optrex
12-10-2006, 01:52 PM
tested with 3.6.4 and working fine ;)
highlan-cruise
12-11-2006, 09:12 PM
is there a way of aligning both of the bars so that the links are aligned instead of staggered?
Hi, firstly great mod, id been looking for something like this for a while now.
The only problem ive noticed, is that i use mkportal, and the extra navbar, whils it works flawlessy in my forum pages, it doesnt appear on the mkportal home page.
How can i make it so that it does?
Thanks
optrex
12-12-2006, 09:33 AM
is there a way of aligning both of the bars so that the links are aligned instead of staggered?
Cruise, the links are centered, so if you have the same number of links in both bars, they should not be "staggered". You could try creating blank links to help with the spacing.
The only problem ive noticed, is that i use mkportal, and the extra navbar, whils it works flawlessy in my forum pages, it doesnt appear on the mkportal home page.
How can i make it so that it does?
Magz, It sounds like mkportal doesn't use the navbar template. So you could try moving the nav bar code to the header. Or mkportal may use its own template system (like mkportal_navbar or mkportal_header for example). In which case you would need to drop the code into the relevant mkportal templates.
Let me know how you get on
The dman
12-12-2006, 11:11 AM
optrex
Thanks for this just what the doctor ordered
How can I get the seam between the 2 navbars like your pic
Mine looks like this
optrex
12-12-2006, 01:53 PM
Try this dman
style="border-top-width:0px" or style="border-bottom-width:0px"
depending on which border you wan to change - the number of px is the border width.
Placement can be seen as here.
Border around navbar: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=1083429&postcount=7
gatorenvy
12-13-2006, 01:16 AM
I am a complete newb to vbulletin. I just installed it today and would like to add this
my forum is www. gatorenvy .com
I just don't know where to find the navbar file to paste the code you provided. I'm just using the default style for now. I don't know where any of the style files are or the header or the navbar. Please help!
optrex
12-13-2006, 07:58 AM
Hi Gatro,
Please click install on this thread to show you've installed the product, and to keep up to date with changes.
From your AdminCP
Styles and templates
Style Manager
In default style select "edit templates"
Scroll down to navigation /breadcrumb templates
Double click navbar.
This will get you to your navbar template. Copy and paste the code to a .txt file on your PC so that you can restore it easily if you mess it up.
Sarcoth
12-18-2006, 03:23 PM
I noticed you can put <if condition="$show['member']"> if you want the link to be only viewable by registered users and <if condition="$GLOBALS[show][admincplink]"> for admins. I was wondering how I could go about making a link only viewable to certain membergroup, i.e. membergroup id 23 for instance.
My guess would be finding the code where the $show['member'] is original defined and add something similiar to that but for membergroup 23 only. Or is there a way to just set up a reference in the navbar template?
Thank you!
optrex
12-18-2006, 08:55 PM
Sarcoth,
try this and let me know how you get on
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '23'">
</if>
Sarcoth
12-19-2006, 05:23 PM
Sarcoth,
try this and let me know how you get on
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '23'">
</if>
Thanks for the reply optrex. I found something yesterday that actually worked.
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 23)"></if>
Found a few things that go along with it as well in this link (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=98009); good stuff.
almqdad
01-14-2007, 01:25 PM
hi every body
WHAT IF I WANT TO SHOW THE LINK TO MORE THAN ONE GROUP
LET SAY GROUP 5,6,7
WHAT WILL BE THE CODE
YOUR HELP WILL BE HIGHLY APPRECAITED
thincom2000
01-14-2007, 02:01 PM
WHAT IF I WANT TO SHOW THE LINK TO MORE THAN ONE GROUP
LET SAY GROUP 5,6,7
You can use OR
For example:
<if condition="($bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '5') OR ($bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '6') OR ($bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '7')">
</if>
I think that's the simplest code you can do without making a file edit first.
Zowners
01-21-2007, 12:20 AM
Awsome Mod
I Love It!
afmarko99
01-21-2007, 11:08 PM
optrex,
Thanks for the great post. I do have one question though. I have Blak-Ice skin installed and don't see:
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div align="center">
in the navbar template. I am trying to install my additional navbar directly underneath the buttons. Currently it is attached to the welcome module. I put all my coding in the top of the navbar template but that doesn't work. See here:
www.thepublicenemy.net
What template do I need to modify for this to work?
optrex
01-22-2007, 05:35 AM
Depending on the skin, you may have to modify your header
nureeves
08-08-2007, 03:33 PM
Hii
would you please help me .. :D
I am newbie at coding and editing template.
Well first thing .. which template should I edit and which new script should i add?
optrex
08-08-2007, 03:38 PM
edit your navbar template.
You dont need to add scripts as such, just add the code portions above to get what you need.
nureeves
08-12-2007, 03:57 PM
This is what i've got. Did I miss something?
nureeves
08-12-2007, 06:00 PM
and how to make multiple nav like shown below:
puregraf
08-14-2007, 03:32 AM
opps wrong post
optrex
08-14-2007, 12:28 PM
This is what i've got. Did I miss something?
yes, by the looks of things you have.
optrex
08-14-2007, 12:29 PM
and how to make multiple nav like shown below:
copy the code multiple times. :)
nureeves
08-14-2007, 04:23 PM
copy the code multiple times. :)
Hehe,
I mean, one of navigation above login form .. how to put on it?
optrex
08-14-2007, 04:34 PM
in your navbar find
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
and place your completed code ABOVE
z0diac
06-19-2008, 01:10 PM
This doesn't seem to work in 3.7.1 -- all I want to do is add a link in my navbar to post #1 (my rules thread) and name the link RULES in the navbar.
optrex
06-26-2008, 09:25 PM
works fine in 3.7.1, and 3.7.2
check your code to make sure you have no errors.
usmansabir
07-01-2008, 03:11 PM
optrex .. thankx for such a great code.... no need to install any addons :D thankx
mattcaswell
12-19-2008, 09:02 PM
Installed this today.. Works great.. can't get the font color to work as outlined in the additional code.. but I'm code stupid so I'm sure it's my fault.
optrex
02-05-2009, 12:10 AM
Just to confirm this also works in 3.8 and 3.8.1
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.