Log in

View Full Version : Want to add multiple drop-down menus in your Navbar?


JenniferK
09-14-2006, 10:00 PM
I needed this for my new forum but was unable to find a hack that currently does that. So I figured out how to do it myself. I'm sharing it in case anyone else is interested, but please know I am in no way, shape or form a coder, so any help I can give will be extremely limited.

I figured it out by looking at the navbar template and pulling out the chunk of code that makes the "quick links" drop down. I copied it, modified it then added it to the template but it still didn't work (because I didn't realize there were two things that needed to be edited). Ultimately, I went to the online manual at VBulletin.com and searched for popup menu (yes I actually read the manual directions, lol) and used that to help me further. The second drop-down I even added conditionals to make it so only staff sees it is there, and only admins can see some of the links. Here is the code I used with the conditionals (if you want everyone to see it, just edit those out). I have this dropdown after the Quick Links dropdown and this is where I placed the code.

Find:
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&amp;logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onclick="return log_out()">$vbphrase[log_out]</a></td>
</if>

Place this above (after editing it for your site):
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)">
<td id="stafflinks" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#stafflinks">Staff Links</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("stafflinks"); </script></td>
</if>


Find:
<if condition="$show['member']">
<!-- user cp tools menu -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="usercptools_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">

<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[quick_links]</td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.huntleyneighbors.com/forum/faq.php">FAQ</a></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.huntleyneighbors.com/forum/view.php?pg=useragreement">User Agreement</a></tr>

<if condition="$vboptions['enablesearches']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.huntleyneighbors.com/forum/memberlist.php">Members List</a></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,me nubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,w idth=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_buddy_list]</a></td></tr>

<tr><td class="thead"><a href="usercp.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[user_control_panel]</a></td></tr>
<if condition="$show['siglink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editsignature">$vbphrase[edit_signature]</a></td></tr></if>
<!--<if condition="$show['avatarlink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editavatar">$vbphrase[edit_avatar]</a></td></tr></if>-->
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editprofile">$vbphrase[edit_profile]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editoptions">$vbphrase[edit_options]</a></td></tr>

<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[miscellaneous]</td></tr>
<if condition="$show['pmstats']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="private.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[private_messages]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="subscription.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[subscribed_threads]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$bbuserinfo[userid]">$vbphrase[my_profile]</a></td></tr>
<if condition="$show['wollink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="online.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[whos_online]</a></td></tr></if>

</table>
</div>
<!-- / user cp tools menu -->
</if>

Place this below (after editing it for your site):
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)">
<!-- staff links menu-->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="stafflinks_menu" style="display:none"> <table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr><td class="thead">Staff Links</td></tr>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/view.php?pg=staffguidelines">Staff Guidelines</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,6)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum//misc.php?do=moderator_stats">Mod Stats</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,6)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/spiders.php?">Spiders</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/modcp/index.php">Mod CP</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,6)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/admincp/index.php">Admin CP</a></td></tr></if>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / staff links menu -->
</if>


Hope this helps someone!

TroyF2000
09-15-2006, 03:28 AM
COOL! I can get some use out of this! I like the idea of making me and my administrator the only ones who can see the "hidden" RPG link. heheh. Thanks for the script, JK!

PS: Say, you don't know how to embed a new font to your forum, do you? I'm sure it's some easy thing already included as an option somewhere in the panel, but I'm an idiot and can't find it.

JenniferK
09-15-2006, 04:28 AM
I'm glad you can use it :)

As for the font, off the top of my head I don't remember exactly, but I know in Admin CP you want to go into Styles and Templates and then Style Manager :)

Princeton
09-17-2006, 08:17 PM
great article ... thanks for sharing with the community :up:

HPIA
10-14-2006, 08:26 PM
Aww, it didn't work. I got an error that said an </if> tag was mising on line 151. How do I find line 151 and add an </if> tag? Should I post my code up?

What is the 5,6,7 thing for? :p

[/noob]

JenniferK
10-20-2006, 06:16 PM
I'm thinking when you copied and pasted the code, you didn't grab the whole thing, leaving one of the </if> tags off of the end.

The 5,6,7 is for the conditional of who you want the menu to display to. You would need to edit that for your own board - for example, include 5, 6 and 7 if those are the usergroup id numbers for the usergroups you want the menu to display for.

gamesmastervide
10-24-2006, 11:19 AM
anyway to get this working in postbit?

Sergio68
10-24-2006, 05:04 PM
I'm thinking when you copied and pasted the code, you didn't grab the whole thing, leaving one of the </if> tags off of the end.

The 5,6,7 is for the conditional of who you want the menu to display to. You would need to edit that for your own board - for example, include 5, 6 and 7 if those are the usergroup id numbers for the usergroups you want the menu to display for.
Sorry JenniferK but you did this probably :D

Instead of this :

<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)">
<!-- staff links menu-->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="stafflinks_menu" style="display:none"> <table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr><td class="thead">Staff Links</td></tr>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/view.php?pg=staffguidelines">Staff Guidelines</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,6)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum//misc.php?do=moderator_stats">Mod Stats</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,6)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/spiders.php?">Spiders</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/modcp/index.php">Mod CP</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,6)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/admincp/index.php">Admin CP</a></td></tr></if>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / staff links menu -->

Use this :

<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)">
<!-- staff links menu-->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="stafflinks_menu" style="display:none"> <table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr><td class="thead">Staff Links</td></tr>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/view.php?pg=staffguidelines">Staff Guidelines</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,6)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum//misc.php?do=moderator_stats">Mod Stats</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,6)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/spiders.php?">Spiders</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/modcp/index.php">Mod CP</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,6)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/admincp/index.php">Admin CP</a></td></tr></if>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / staff links menu -->
</if>

And everything works fine ;)

Luggruff
10-26-2006, 12:58 PM
could you change the is_member_of to select userID instead?

Currently I'm using this:

<if condition="in_array($bbuserinfo['usergroupid'], array(5,6,7,50))">
</if>

though that only checks for primary usergroup..

And I'm using this for useriD.. though it will get confusing having two different types of code to sort out userID's and usergroupID's

<if condition="in_array($bbuserinfo['userid'], array(5,6,7,50))">
</if>

JenniferK
10-28-2006, 06:28 PM
hmmm, honestly I don't know enough to answer your question, maybe someone else can help?

Chicago_VLNU_4s
10-29-2006, 08:36 PM
thanks... needed this

ngaiox
10-31-2006, 04:27 PM
Is there any way someone could do this for me?

If you can here are the details:

I want the super moderators and the administrators to be able to see the link.

I want the dropdown menu name to be Administration. Inside of it, I want there to be two links. Admin CP and Mod CP. Admin CP is the link only members of the usergroup Administrators can see. And Mod CP is the link only members of the usergroup Super Moderators can see. Is that going to be a problem doing this for me? I will appriciate it if you do. :)

PS: I need to learn the scripting of the templates better, lol.

Alfa1
11-19-2006, 10:10 PM
Ok here ya go:
Go into your adminCP ->Styles and templates -> style manager -> default style -> select edit templates -> scroll down to 'navigation/breadcrump templates'and double click that -> navbar

Like Jennifer K says

Find:
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&amp;logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onclick="return log_out()">$vbphrase[log_out]</a></td>
</if>

Place this above (after editing it for your site):
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)">
<td id="stafflinks" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#stafflinks">Staff Links</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("stafflinks"); </script></td>
</if>

Now where it says 5,6,7 means super mods(5), admins(6) and mods(7)
If you dont want your super mods to see this then delete 5, The same goes for the code below.

Then find:
<if condition="$show['member']">
<!-- user cp tools menu -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="usercptools_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">

<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[quick_links]</td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.huntleyneighbors.com/forum/faq.php">FAQ</a></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.huntleyneighbors.com/forum/view.php?pg=useragreement">User Agreement</a></tr>

<if condition="$vboptions['enablesearches']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.huntleyneighbors.com/forum/memberlist.php">Members List</a></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,me nubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,w idth=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_buddy_list]</a></td></tr>

<tr><td class="thead"><a href="usercp.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[user_control_panel]</a></td></tr>
<if condition="$show['siglink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editsignature">$vbphrase[edit_signature]</a></td></tr></if>
<!--<if condition="$show['avatarlink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editavatar">$vbphrase[edit_avatar]</a></td></tr></if>-->
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editprofile">$vbphrase[edit_profile]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editoptions">$vbphrase[edit_options]</a></td></tr>

<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[miscellaneous]</td></tr>
<if condition="$show['pmstats']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="private.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[private_messages]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="subscription.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[subscribed_threads]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$bbuserinfo[userid]">$vbphrase[my_profile]</a></td></tr>
<if condition="$show['wollink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="online.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[whos_online]</a></td></tr></if>

</table>
</div>
<!-- / user cp tools menu -->
</if>

Place this below (after replacing "yoursite.com" with your website address):
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)">
<!-- Mod links menu-->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="stafflinks_menu" style="display:none"> <table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr><td class="thead">Mod Links</td></tr>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,6)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/admincp/index.php">Admin CP</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,5,6,7)"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/modcp/index.php">Mod CP</a></td></tr></if>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / staff links menu -->
</if>

With this mods can only see the modCP, not the adminCP. I have put the Mod rules in mine, but left it out for you. Have fun.

Edit: do not mind the colors above. The automerge function of this site is causing this.

So, here is my new post:

I'd like to add a link to the staff links menu which shows moderators unread posts in their forums. How can I do that?

Targowski
11-26-2006, 06:47 PM
Thanks a lot, was just going to look for this on Google - haha.

ngaiox
01-07-2007, 05:42 PM
Thanks! :D Many thanks!

J0iN
07-03-2007, 07:58 PM
Really needed a drop down to show more links so it would fit on the page many thanks

Alfa1
07-22-2007, 05:18 PM
In the 'User CP' drop down on the navbar here at vb.org, the top link is 'user control panel'. It is both dark blue, has bold white font and it is linked. What is the 'td class' value for this?
i.e. I currently have <td class="vbmenu_option"> which makes it a grey drop down link with normal blue font, instead of a dark blue linked one.

tunistunis
12-12-2007, 11:42 AM
thx

katilkuzu
02-09-2008, 12:53 PM
grat job dude. thanks alot

Criminal-Minds
04-25-2009, 06:54 PM
If i wanted to add multiple different Drop down boxes (i.e 2 separate boxs) How would I go about this?