View Full Version : Add an advert into your redirect page
Move-Along
09-03-2006, 10:00 PM
Time taken: 2 Minutes
Difficulty: Easy as pie
What it does: This will basicly just add an advert in the redirect screen. There is a screenshot attatched to show you what i mean.
You can also use this for Vb 3.5.x too :)
Thanks to Icheb - You shouldn't use AdSense here, because redirection pages wouldn't really count as content pages.
Go to:
Style manager --> [Style you want to edit] --> Edit templates --> STANDARD_REDIRECT
Now find:
<noscript>
<meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="2; URL=$url" />
</noscript>
And replace it with this:
<noscript>
<meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="10; URL=$url" />
</noscript>
This will make it so the redirect takes longer so you can see the advertisement. If you would like to change the amount of time it takes just edit the number in this bit of the code:
content="10
After find this code:
<p class="smallfont"><a href="$url">$vbphrase[click_if_browser_does_not_redirect]</a>
After add:
<br>
<br>
<a href="http://www.adminpath.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.adminpath.com/delisiosso/misc/banner_right.gif"></a>
Obviously change the url's to your desired url's.
Copyright ? to www.adminpath.com 2006
fuzionpoker
09-04-2006, 12:34 PM
great mod!
Thanks... installed!
JoRd
Icheb
09-04-2006, 12:43 PM
You should probably mention that you shouldn't use AdSense there, because redirection pages wouldn't really count as content pages.
Move-Along
09-04-2006, 01:06 PM
Ok thanks Icheb i will add that now :)
King Kovifor
09-04-2006, 02:51 PM
Nice first mod. :)
mIRCnet
09-04-2006, 05:37 PM
nice mod , it would be better to make it with more otions
* Group ID
* No. Of Posts More/Less of number of posts
* Enable / Desable the Ads in the redirect page
Brandon Sheley
09-04-2006, 05:52 PM
good idea :)
I'll install this later
Move-Along
09-05-2006, 06:34 AM
nice mod , it would be better to make it with more otions
* Group ID
* No. Of Posts More/Less of number of posts
* Enable / Desable the Ads in the redirect page
I will try and implement this in the future :)
BamaStangGuy
09-05-2006, 06:42 AM
Damn good idea
Hornstar
09-05-2006, 09:02 AM
Thanks heaps, ive been looking for this for a while as i saw it on some site once b4.
Move-Along
09-05-2006, 10:28 AM
No problemo guys :). Any ideas on my next random one? :p lol
karlm
09-05-2006, 03:26 PM
Looks good, I'd been wondering how to ad content to the redirect pages.
I'm not a coder, but am I right in understanding that if i were to add:
<if condition"$bbuserinfo['groupid'] != xx"> to your hack, i could then have it so paying members get a 2 second redirection whereas nonepaying/guests have a 5 second ad-infested redirection?
Move-Along
09-06-2006, 06:44 AM
Lol "ad-infested" :p And yes i am pretty sure that would work :)
karlm
09-07-2006, 02:25 AM
cool potatoes! I might look into this further....
/me dons his thinking cap
King Kovifor
09-08-2006, 12:28 AM
Anything too advanced I might be able to help.
Move-Along
09-09-2006, 07:04 AM
Sure Jeremy :) Any help is always appreciated :)
King Kovifor
09-09-2006, 01:59 PM
Just talk to me online.
kether1
09-09-2006, 11:34 PM
Hey this is cool, but the timer info is a bit different than what you list.
This can stay as it is:
<noscript>
<meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="2; URL=$url" />
</noscript>
but this:
var myvar = "";
var timeout = 20;
exec_refresh();
//-->
</script>
can be changed to extend the amout of time. For example, when testing this, I changed var timeout = 20; to var timeout = 40; and my redirect lasted twice as long.
I hope this helps!
Kether
R1lover
09-17-2006, 10:30 PM
I have it working, but the redirect takes you to the image and not the URL I have put in there. ??
Any Help?
R1lover
09-17-2006, 10:50 PM
I got it .......... :)
Move-Along
09-18-2006, 12:14 PM
Did you just forget to change the url link to the url instead of the image url :p lol
heroia
09-19-2006, 07:58 AM
"You should probably mention that you shouldn't use AdSense there, because redirection pages wouldn't really count as content pages."
So, basically AdSense doesn't accept clicks/page views for this kind of pages ?
GrendelKhan{TSU
10-01-2006, 05:27 PM
"You should probably mention that you shouldn't use AdSense there, because redirection pages wouldn't really count as content pages."
So, basically AdSense doesn't accept clicks/page views for this kind of pages ?
I believe its agains their TOS. so you if you got "caught" you'd get your adsense banned from google. :confused:
heroia
10-01-2006, 06:53 PM
Ok, so can annyone suggest me some ad systems to be used instead of AdSense (accepting redirects), good for forums also...
Icheb
10-01-2006, 10:34 PM
You want to use a different ad network just because you can't use AdSense on non-content pages?
heroia
10-02-2006, 06:55 AM
Not sure if completly a new network.
There are in fact two questions here:
1. An add network which support pages with redirect
2. If anyone has some good results (income) for forums with other ad network than AdSense
mrkhm
01-20-2007, 04:46 PM
hi, is there any way to have random ads load in this redirect?
mrkhm
01-26-2007, 10:28 AM
vb 3.6.4 works a treat! *installed
midirtrider
01-28-2007, 07:35 PM
Any idea on how to get the advert to apear randomly from a list of banners?
that would be awsome..
nnjj.net
09-27-2007, 03:14 PM
does this work on 3.6.8?
masterweb
09-27-2007, 04:53 PM
Nice, changes were easy and faster than i tought... thanks mate
powerful_rogue
11-11-2007, 07:41 PM
Any idea on how to get the advert to apear randomly from a list of banners?
that would be awsome..
I agree, this would be really great if anyones able to assist :D
any one can do this as product where we can put random abnners?
jasonyetter
08-11-2011, 05:48 PM
I have changed the number from 2
to 4
and now to 10.
The redirect time is still the same.
Is the number in millisecs or what?
How could I add:
Press "any key" to continue..................
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.